• Non-Jamaican Recording Artists!

Favourite Foreign Recording Artists

This morning I woke up thinking about some of the great music that have been recorded over the past several decades, and that are still been recorded today. It’s difficult making a list of MY favourite foreign recording artists within a short time, so I omitted the “me” from my subject line. I also listed the artists below alphabetically under each genre.

It would be interesting if fellow forum membes (the “Massive”) shared their favourite non-Jamaican recording artists.

I hold the artists below in very high esteem. My incomplete list includes:

Jazz and Jazz Fusion
    George Benson
    Stanley Clarke
    Miles Davis
    George Duke
    Fourplay
    Al Jarreau
    Bela Fleck & the Flecktones
    Eric Gale
    Count Basie Orchestra
    Duke Ellington Orchestra
    Mahavishnu Orchestra (first version)
    Manhattan Transfer
    Return to Forever
    Weather Report
    Stuff
    Stanley Turrentine
    Grover Washington, Jr.
    Nancy Wilson.

Rock and Rock Fusion
    The Beatles
    Genesis
    Jimi Hendrix
    Elton John
    Frank Zappa & the Mothers of Invention
    The Police
    Santana
    Toto
    U2
    Wham!
    Led Zeppelin

R&B/Soul/Funk
    India.Arie
    Anita Baker
    James Brown
    Chi-Lites
    Ronnie Dyson
    Earth, Wind & Fire
    Marvin Gaye
    Whitney Houston
    Michael Jackson
    Gerald Levert
    The Manhattans
    The O’Jays
    Jeffrey Osbourne
    Jill Scott
    Sly & the Family Stones
    The Stylistics
    Luther Vandross
    Dionne Warwick
    Stevie Wonder

Gospel
    Yolanda Adams
    Shirley Caesar
    Rev James Cleveland
    Commissioned
    Andrae Crouch
    Kirk Franklin
    Fred Hammond
    John P. Kee
    Donny McClurkin

Country
    The Dixie Chicks
    Charlie Daniels

What bout Shalamar, Babyface, Donnell Jones, Prince?

When mi si di man all have a Country section...

Rispeck bredrin !

Vanilla Ice ?

What bout Shalamar, Babyface, Donnell Jones, Prince?
          Lazie and Maudib: This is a hurriedly made list, boss! Also, Maudib, I have more Country favourites than the two I posted below, but I was trying to make a quick list and so couldn't remember everything.

There are many people left off, as a truly complete list would take a day or two to make. But what about your favorites? (I already know from his postings here a couple of years ago that Lazie's all-time favourite male singer is Luther Vandross.)

Make a list of your favourites and post it.

What about Miriam Makeba?

Her Pata Pata riddim is a classic!

Then I also fail to see Paul Simon and his lyrix being mentioned. Is that the "sound of silence" I hear? LoL Mind yuh haffi find your own Bridge over troubled waters to sing an American Tune.

BeeGees, Neil Diamond, Johnny Cash, Kenny Rodgers, Eagels (Hotel California), Yes (Owner of a Lonely heart), Juan Luis Guerra, Gypsy Kings (Baila me), Ceseria Evora, Mighty Sparrow, Donna Summer, The Staples (Gospel -Oh Happy Day), Blue Magic (Soul Music), The Nevilles, The Righteous Bros, Marty Robbins (Down in the West Texas Town of El Paso), the Judds (Country). The you have Chic, Grandmaster Flash and the furious 5, the Jackson 5, The Osmonds and Sister Sledge as great family groups.

For Jazz, I would have to put Satchmo (if you dont know who he is, I cant help you...lol), Sarah Vaughn, Marion Anderson, Ella Fitzgerald, Billy Eckstein, Tito Puente, Tehlonius Monk, Wynton Marsalis and Oscar Peterson.

Can we squeeze Tina Turner in this?

Mi nuh fallah non-jamaican artists.. mi is a Patriot !

1. Bob
              2. Toots
              3. Beres
              4. Capleton (of di late 90's)

Snow! LoL

Bungo Red! I like #4!

you ever hear Willi one blood?

wha ever happen to Dominic, the British self title "bad bwoy a foriegn"?

Who seh Dominic, who seh Dominic, fraid a Boy George?

Re: Country Music

When mi si di man all have a Country section...

Rispeck bredrin !
                        Thank you, boss!

People who ignore country music are missing out on a great deal of really, really good stuff! I realized this yet again just last night after watching that Oscar winning Martin Scorcese classic movie, "The Departed" on television channel "Showtime." Immediately after the action climaxes and the credits begin to roll, one of the sweetest recordings I've ever heard in all my life comes on. It's guitar great the late Roy Buchanan's version of the Patsy Cline classic, "Sweet Dreams."

That "Sweet Dreams" by Roy Buchanan should be highly recommended listening for all genuine music lovers! (Thankfully, it's on YouTube. Listen to the original on the movie soundtrack for "The Departed.")

Incidentally, Roy Buchanan, an alcoholic who is said (by police) to have hung himslf in jail back in the late 1980s (not many people accept the police version) is among the greatest guitarists who ever lived. Unfortunately, he never achieved big-time fame.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                          Lazie and Maudib: This is a hurriedly made list, boss! Also, Maudib, I have more Country favourites than the two I posted below, but I was trying to make a quick list and so couldn't remember everything.

There are many people left off, as a truly complete list would take a day or two to make. But what about your favorites? (I already know from his postings here a couple of years ago that Lazie's all-time favourite male singer is Luther Vandross.)

Make a list of your favourites and post it.
                          Most of them are already on your list. The only difference is The G.O.A.T. would be first on the list. But its all good. Add Patti Label, James Ingram, R. Kelly (that perv) , Boyz II Men to the R&B list. MAtter of fact, that girl Heather Headley and Alicia Keys.

I'm a lover of Disco / House music so I'd have
                          1. Robin S
                          2. Crystal Walters
                          3. Gap Band
                          4. Kool and the Gang
                          5. Emotions
                          6. Janet Jackson
                          SOCA (HELL YEAH)
                          1. Krosfyah
                          2. Rupee
                          3. The Mighty Sparrow (Who nuh like saltfish)
                          4. Machel Mantano
                          5. Allison Hinds

What about Miriam Makeba?

Her Pata Pata riddim is a classic!

Then I also fail to see Paul Simon and his lyrix being mentioned. Is that the "sound of silence" I hear? LoL Mind yuh haffi find your own Bridge over troubled waters to sing an American Tune.

BeeGees, Neil Diamond, Johnny Cash, Kenny Rodgers, Eagels (Hotel California), Yes (Owner of a Lonely heart), Juan Luis Guerra, Gypsy Kings (Baila me), Ceseria Evora, Mighty Sparrow, Donna Summer, The Staples (Gospel -Oh Happy Day), Blue Magic (Soul Music), The Nevilles, The Righteous Bros, Marty Robbins (Down in the West Texas Town of El Paso), the Judds (Country). The you have Chic, Grandmaster Flash and the furious 5, the Jackson 5, The Osmonds and Sister Sledge as great family groups.

For Jazz, I would have to put Satchmo (if you dont know who he is, I cant help you...lol), Sarah Vaughn, Marion Anderson, Ella Fitzgerald, Billy Eckstein, Tito Puente, Tehlonius Monk, Wynton Marsalis and Oscar Peterson.

Can we squeeze Tina Turner in this?
                            Willi, all you've done here is made me realize just how very incomplete my list is!! I love your selection above! In fact, there is not a single name on your list that I don't enjoy! I certainly love the south Africans Miriam Makeba, Hugh Masekela and Lucky Dube! And speaking of South Africa, Paul Simon's recording of "Graceland" (which utilized South African musicians and singers) is an all-time classic!

Satchmo (Louise Armstrong; LOL) certainly should be on everyone's jazz list!

weeeelllllll and come again