Patriotism:

• Patriotism:

Patriotism denotes positive and supportive attitudes to a 'fatherland' (Latin patria < Greek patris, πατρίς), by individuals and groups.

The 'fatherland' (or 'motherland') can be a region or a city, but patriotism usually applies to a nation and/or a nation-state. Patriotism covers such attitudes as: pride in its achievements and culture, the desire to preserve its character and the basis of the culture, and identification with other members of the nation. Patriotism is closely associated with nationalism, and the terms are often used synonymously.

Strictly speaking, nationalism is an ideology - but it often promotes patriotic attitudes as desirable and appropriate. (Both nationalist political movements, and patriotic expression, may, yet need not, be negative towards other people's 'fatherland').

Patriotism has ethical connotations: it implies that the 'fatherland' (however defined) is a moral standard or moral value in itself. The expression my country right or wrong—perhaps a misquotation of the American naval officer Stephen Decatur, but also attributed to Carl Schurz—is the extreme form of this belief. Patriotism also implies that the individual should place the interests of the nation above their personal and group interests.

In wartime, the sacrifice may extend to their own life. Death in battle for the fatherland is the archetype of extreme patriotism.

Good!

Where do you fall on the spectrum?

why bother?

I guess thank you is in order, tan deh, you learn fi be a true patriot by following the definition strictly?

Blessed

SIDEBAR:

Rocky..evah notice how some folks expect more of others than they expect from themselves.....?

Yes,akin to some folks encouraging others to think outside the box when there is no evidence they themselves do(the man's definition).
            Please continue with the side bar thingy.

Blessed

i wonda what drinks dem serving at that side bar?

I don't expect anything of/from you, btw.

H.L stop run and answer mi !

I see you dont have stomach for Jamaicas dominace in the T&F events , I havent see you made a post in the T&F sphere ! Is it that they are all home grown produced WC talent , WC beaters , WC champions ? Does it surprise you ? can I ask why ? Will you be watching the olympics ? specifically the mens & womens 100, 200 , 4 &100 ?

Correct me if I am wrong .WC = world class ,

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

He will be watching all those races, hoping and praying that an American wins.

Sad but I really believe you , You see how the site light up with the T&F and this bredda silence is deafning.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

how long yuh know him now?

Too long.

Know??!!

Know
                            Ac*quaint"\, v. t. [imp. & p. p. Acquainted; p. pr. & vb. n. Acquainting.] [OE. aqueinten, acointen, OF. acointier, LL. adcognitare, fr. L. ad + cognitus, p. p. of cognoscere to know; con- + noscere to know. See Quaint, Know.]

1. To furnish or give experimental knowledge of; to make (one) to know; to make familiar; -- followed by with.

Before a man can speak on any subject, it is necessary to be acquainted with it. --Locke.

A man of sorrows and acquainted with grief. --Isa. liii. 3.

2. To communicate notice to; to inform; to make cognizant; -- followed by with (formerly, also, by of), or by that, introducing the intelligence; as, to acquaint a friend with the particulars of an act.

Acquaint her here of my son Paris' love. --Shak.

I must acquaint you that I have received New dated letters from Northumberland. --Shak.

3. To familiarize; to accustom. [Obs.] --Evelyn.

To be acquainted with, to be possessed of personal knowledge of; to be cognizant of; to be more or less familiar with; to be on terms of social intercourse with.

I merely posted the definition to help you and others understand what you are discussing and debating...

Prior to Historian's concern to the 'hijacking' of his post--I mentioned this trend a few years ago. I described it as "a primary breakdown in the Thread" .

It is such a waste of time to post topics that requires some thought on this site. It serves as fodder for the attack minded individuals. There should be no views different from their own.

Rocky will tell you that these are "box thinkers".