• Winner loses airplay status?

Winner loses airplay status?

People might chant Konshens' 'dis year mi haffi be a winner' at parties, but they will not be lucky enough to hear it on the radio because the Broadcasting Commission has reportedly advised stations not to play the song because it incites violence.
    Violence
    ZJ Ice of ZIP FM said he was told not to play the song called Winner two weeks ago before he started the 'Red Stripe Positive Vibrations Hour', which is part of his four-hour evening programme.
    "Dem seh something bout seh the second verse a incite violence. Mi still like di tune but mi ago lef it out when mi deh pon di radio. Mi still ago play it when mi deh a dance cause da tune deh shot," he told THE STAR.
    He added, "Broadcasting Commission a do dem job so dem mus know weh dem a look fa but mi nuh tink it a violence. A bad artiste (Konshens) so him will find more song and di song done big already."
    The second verse of the song says, "Coulda be the pounds, the keys or the straps/ groom some sexy girls and put dem to work on the blocks/ I don't care if it's legal or illegal/ If I don't get this paper now it's gonna be lethal/ To get this money a coulda some ...mi a smuggle or a some clothes and some shoes mi a juggle/ mi have mi .... and mi just might use it and I don't really wanna but/ If you keep flossing all yuh jewellery you just might lose it."
    Broadcasting Commission
    But, when contacted yesterday, Cordel Green, executive director of the Broadcasting Commission, said he could not comment on the matter as he was unable to access files that would possibly speak to the situation. He promised to provide an update later today.
    While Ice has been aware of this for weeks, Konshens, whose real name is Garfield Spence, said he only found out about the move last Thursday when someone from a radio station told him.
    Negative light
    "I was surprised. Mi neva tink anybody would get the message in a negative light. Mi neva tink nobody would comb through the song dem way deh and find it negative. A whole heap a people tink it is a positive song and dem have it as dem theme song weh dem play every morning," said Konshens, who several industry players have touted to create waves this summer
    He added, "Mi upset bout it but at the end of the day Broadcasting Commission a do dem job. If dem seh it nuh fit fi airplay, who am I to dispute that?"
    Meanwhile, Green added that the commission was not a censorship body, but any material reported as contravening the Children's Code for Programming would be investigated by the commission. He said if the investigation proves that the material, music or otherwise, does represent a breach (promoting criminality or disregard for laws) and the media entity that aired the material would be advised it is unfit for airplay.
    Microscope
    Konshens has been receiving high praises in the dancehall industry for his breakout single Winner. He said this might be negative for him as he does not like to be under the microscope but the move may also be positive as more people will talk about the song. "Most people disagree wid with it and think it's foolishness and nuff people a voice dem opinion bout it. Mi jus' a continue mi path cause a nuh one song mek up mi career," said Konshens who has other popular singles like Rasta Imposter and Don't Waste The Talents.

Listened to tune at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dsRmuh37Fj8 and I can understand why the BC took that decision.

Good decision!

Lyrics should truly be overt before the song is banned. These lyrics do not go far enough to warrant a banning.

groom some sexy girls and put dem to work on the blocks/ I don't care if it's legal or illegal
        If you keep flossing all yuh jewellery you just might lose it.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          Lyrics should truly be overt before the song is banned. These lyrics do not go far enough to warrant a banning.
          You need fi come again.

"mi have mi .... and mi just might use it
          and I don't really wanna but
          If you keep flossing all yuh jewellery you just might lose it."

Wha dat sound like to yuh? what yuh think him have pon him? Certainly not his chapstick.

Granted, this tune should not get airplay in the middle of the afternoon, but airplay after 10pm would seem ok. Don't know if Ja have dem kind of rules like the FCC.

hypocritical!!

Originally posted by 1of1 View Post
                hypocritical!!
                Can you clarify that 1of1?

If them ban this you have many foreign and local tunes them might as well ban, probably more than half, just pick out a line whey them nuh like

Originally posted by 1of1 View Post
                    If them ban this you have many foreign and local tunes them might as well ban, probably more than half, just pick out a line whey them nuh like
                    Well, lets hope they're starting to get stern again.

True. Nuff farin and nuff more local songs should be banned. Hopefully, this is a start.

Winner not banned

The Broadcasting Commis-sion is denying issuing any directive to media houses to stop playing popular dancehall single, Winner, by Konshens, on the airwaves.
                        The statement from the commission comes in light of an article in yesterday's STAR titled, 'Winner loses airplay status?', which spoke of an alleged directive for the song not to be played on air.
                        In the article, ZJ Ice of ZIP FM said that he was told not to play the song two weeks ago, while Konshens said he heard about the move from someone at a radio station. However, Cordel Green, executive director of the commission, told THE STAR yesterday that the commission has never even reviewed the song. "There is absolutely no ruling on that song," he told THE STAR.
                        Posting
                        "It has not been brought before the broadcasting commission at all," he added.
                        Green continued to say that, from what he has found out, a posting was made online earlier this month by someone, who believed that the song was unfit for airplay. In the posting it was argued that despite sections being censored for radio, people could still tell what was being said because the words were already well known.
                        The posting, Green continued, called for the song to be banned from the airwaves altogether. He said this is where arguments that the commission has banned the song seem to be stemming from but reiterated that the commission issued no such directives to any media entity. Much of the recent debate about the song circulate around the second verse, where the singer states questionable ways as to how money might be attained: Coulda be the pounds, the keys or straps/ groom some sexy girls and put dem to work on the blocks/ I don't care if it's legal or illegal/ If I don't get this paper now it's gonna be lethal/ To get this money a coulda some ... mi a smuggle or a some clothes and some shoes mi a juggle/ mi have mi ... and mi just might use it and I don't really wanna but/ If you keep flossing all yuh jewellery you just might lose it.

sigh

I wonder what happened behind the scenes. Remember, is Jamaica wi dealing wid!