• Trouble In Paradise

British woman Catherine Mullany shot dead on honeymoon in Antigua

Catherine and Benjamin Mullany at their wedding, which took place just weeks ago

Image :1 of 2

Nico Hines

div#related-article-links p a, div#related-article-links p a:visited {color:#06c;}A British woman has been shot dead and her husband critically injured on honeymoon in the Caribbean.
    Early reports suggest that the newlyweds, both 31, were asleep in their luxury cottage in the Cocos Hotel resort on Antigua when they were attacked during the night.
    Catherine Mullany, a doctor, died from her injuries after the shooting on the last night of the couple's honeymoon. Reports in the Antigua Sun newspaper suggest that Mrs Mullany was shot in the head while her husband received a single gunshot wound to his neck.
    Mr Mullany, a physiotherapist, was rushed to the Holberton Hospital, where he remains critically injured.
    Related Links

The couple arrived in Antigua on July 14 for a two-week stay and were due to end their trip today.
    The local police said they were working on the theory that the attack was a robbery “gone bad” with the assailants entering the cottage where the couple were staying at around 5am. The individual cottages in the resort are on a hill overlooking two white sand beaches.
    The married couple, known as Cath and Ben to their friends, held a white wedding on July 12 in the village of Pontardawe near Swansea.
    A friend who was at the celebration, said: “We are all just devastated. When we waved them off they were the happiest couple in the world.
    “They were a very devoted couple and had everything to look forward to in life. We can’t believe that Cath is gone. We are just praying that Ben will pull through.”
    Catherine, a Welsh speaker, worked in a local hospital after training to be a doctor at the University of London. Her husband trained in physiotherapy at the University of the West of England.
    A former colleague said: “They were both very dedicated and loved their jobs. It is such a tragic loss.”
    Dozens of pictures of the Mullanys’ wedding day are posted on one social networking site.
    One comment read: “Congratulations! Wishing you and your husband the happiest of lives together xxx.”
    Mrs Mullany listed her interests as sewing, cooking, reading and gardening. She added: “Worryingly similar to retired people now that I think about it.”
    A Foreign Office spokeswoman said today: “We can confirm a British couple were shot in Antigua yesterday. We can confirm that one of the British nationals died and the other is in a critical condition.
    “Families of both have been informed and we are providing consular assistance. The Antiguan police have launched an investigation. They were husband and wife.”
    Harold Lovell, the Minister of Tourism and Civil Aviation in Antigua, said the incident happened at around 4.40am local time on Sunday morning.
    "Our thoughts and deepest sympathies are with the families of the victims of this incident at this very difficult time,” he said.
    "I have full confidence in the Royal Police Force of Antigua and Barbuda, who are conducting an extensive investigation.
    "This isolated incident has deeply shocked our community and we wish to reassure visitors that Antigua and Barbuda is a safe destination."
    Local media has reported an increase in shootings on the idyllic island, famed for its 365 beaches, with at least two other people attacked by masked gunmen over the weekend.

"Antigua and Barbuda is a safe destination."
    What about the airline stewardess recently raped and left for dead in the Caribbean .
    The crime scene contaminated and was told there was no chance of catching the perpetrators she was flown home amid complete silence . Protecting the tourism no doubt.

Nick Dixon, Sutton Coldfield, England

This is soo tragic.
    I've been to the caribean, now I live in Asia.
    Generally much safer and nicer.

Fred Bloggs, Malaysia, Malaysia

Very Sad, but Ed i find your comment just stupid - i find England far more dangerous than most of this 'evil states' like Iran, Pakistan, .... have never been robbed in those countries but twice in England (btw. once in Manchester). Cash and Creditcards are not to be left anyway in a hotelroom-safe

Chris, Austria, Bogota, Colombia

Soon wi gwine need Visa fi guh Antigua....

Should you have said we should require such from Antiguans who wish to visit us.

Well.. if that makes you feel better... I prefer to live in reality...

Re: Visa From Antiguans

St Maarten cries for visa restrictions on Jamaicans

In the wake of the recent arrest of several Jamaicans in connection with a surge of armed robberies being committed on the island of St Maarten, residents have been flooding talk shows on that island with calls demanding, among other things, that visa restrictions be imposed on Jamaica.

Leader of Government Sarah Wescott-Williams has also expressed concern at the crime surge on the island, saying that the issue has been discussed by the executive council that governs the Dutch colony in the eastern Caribbean.

22-year-old suspect

The latest Jamaican arrest occurred at about 3 p.m. last Tuesday on Soualiga Road in the capital Phillipsburg. The 22-year-old suspect, W.G.J, police, said was apprehended by the Zero-Tolerance team without incident.

Police said they were acting on information that he was one of the main suspects in several robberies committed recently.

They said the suspect has been cooperating well and has so far admitted to being involved in at least seven robberies.

Also, information unearthed during their investigations led police to a home in a community called Union Farm where they seized a shotgun, an alarm pistol, a flair pistol, binoculars, black gloves, several 12-gauge shotgun cartridges, a black hooded jacket and a black backpack.

Seizure of the weapons

Unconfirmed reports said that the information that led to the seizure of the weapons and other paraphernalia was supplied by the Jamaican suspect held on Tuesday.

Reports coming out of St Maarten, that has a population of just over 80,000, said that at least 11 Jamaicans have been arrested over the last few weeks, six in the last two weeks, in connection with armed robberies or who are members of gangs operating in the 36-square mile island.

A Special Robbery Unit on the island, tasked with stemming the surge of these robberies, has reportedly made significant breakthroughs in their investigations and are working to break the back of the criminal element that seems to be heavily populated by Jamaican thugs.

Meanwhile, the crime surge has St. Maarteners including members of the Executive Council on edge. This past Wednesday, a day after the Jamaican was arrested, Wescott-Williams responding to questions from journalists said crime has become a major issue. "The surge in the rate of crime is a major concern for the government," she said adding that meetings will be held with the police on how to proceed in the face of the rising tide of crime.
          She said also that requests made several years ago of the Central Government in Curacao for stricter immigration controls to be imposed on Jamaicans have been denied. Sources close to Government have suggested, however, that those immigration controls could be imposed once St. Maarten adopts country status this coming December.

it's definitely coming now then...this was raised a couple years in st maarten....problem is that from the eastern caribbean ... it is a transition point to jamaica....as is antigua. the other is through florida....so what now?

shengen overseas territory visa for jakans take twice as long to be issued....

Maybe Jamaica needs to screen the people that leave its shores?

maybe?!

or maybe we are trying to let the criminals leave our shores. the trouble is they making it bad for everyone else.

i can bet they are rastas!

they might have dreadlocks.....those give rasta a BAD name.

Source of Article

Source of Article on St Maarten:
                      The Jamaica Star, Monday, July 21, 2008

Re: "I bet they are Rastas!"

or maybe we are trying to let the criminals leave our shores. the trouble is they making it bad for everyone else.

i can bet they are rastas!
                        Now, Mosiah, you see why I often don't bother with lengthy discussions, even when by doing so I would be defending myself?

In fact, you might be surprised to know that MOST Jamaicans who commit crimes in the North America and in the Caribbean are NOT Rastas, and neither are they dreadlocked!!

Your "I bet they are rastas" is clearly a cynical poke at me. Why you chose to do so, however, is puzzling. You see, I have never verbally or otherwise described Rastas as criminals, because I know that the majority of Rastafarians are not criminals!!

My view that Rastafarians are "unpatriotic" has absolutely nothing to do with illegal activities. And in the other thread, you implied that I knew nothing about Rastas. The fact is -- and this might surprise you -- that I was a student of Professor Rupert Lewis during my undergraduate years at the UWI, Mona. Professor Lewis, in case you don't know to whom I'm referring, is the Caribbean's foremost expert on Garveyism. The point I'm making is that I am very, very familiar with the history of Garvey and also the (unrelated) history of the Rastafarian movement.

By the way, speak to someone like Rita Marley on the issue of unpatriotic!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                          Your "I bet they are rastas" is clearly a cynical poke at me. Why you chose to do so, however, is puzzling.
                          Because that is what we do on the Forum! Better learn to lighten up (and I don't mean bleach!).

Likkle humour, Historian.

Would have loved a more thorough response re Rastas and patriotism, but if that's it, it will have to do!

Thanks!

Historian, a word of advise, and take it from one that has been waging battles in here for going on 8 years now !..

Know your forumites and arm yourself appropriately....

Very few are capable of Critical Thought and even less are appreciative of it when presented.. you have to know when you are casting pearls to waste and be prepared to cast something with a less pleasant odor..

Regardless of the angst now and then.. I guarantee you will at minimum be entertained by the menagerie of characters in here....