Are Rastas Unpatriotic?

• Are Rastas Unpatriotic?

Our good friend, Historian, has accused Rastas of being unpatriotic. He said they don’t respect the Jamaican flag when they are always displaying the red, green and gold and not the black, green and gold. He chastises them for preaching their “Back to Africa” philosophy and not a “Forward Jamaica” one. He is proud that he is not afraid to criticise them, as many of us are.

I think Historian’s view is shallow and so typical of the very people that have made and continue to make the lives of Rastas a living hell in Jamaica.

Historian has obviously forgotten that Rastas are not the only people/religion that do not pay homage to national symbols. Jehovah Witnesses do not stand for the national anthem. There must be hundreds of religions whose followers do not consider themselves of this world, and as such look to the afterlife or some other nirvana. If that makes them unpatriotic, then fine, but why single out Rastas?

Does Historian know the History of Rasta? Whose history is the name Historian acknowledging? Rastas have been spat upon from its inception, and even after 70 odd years of existence, they continue to be ridiculed and marginalized by Jamaica and Jamaicans. And you want them to be patriotic? They should look out for Jamaica while Jamaica treats them like dirt??! I don’t get it.

And how is the Rasta’s use of the red, green and gold flag any different from that of Jamaicans hanging the Jamaican flag or colours from the rearview mirrors in the cars? Are they unpatriotic towards the USA? Did you know that Leonard P. Howell, the founder of Rastafari, was a dapperly dressed individual who would adorn his suit with the colours of the Jamaican flag? Yes, black, green and gold! This was as far back as 1934. Still trying to find the significance of this but it is ironic that those colours became our “national colours” 28 years later.

Historian, time to give the Rastas some respect. If there is any group that has made Jamaicans know themselves, find themselves, it is Rasta. If you don’t have pride in yourself then it’s pretty difficult to have pride in your country. Rastas may be more patriotic than we think!

Yuh leave Rasta Party fi PNP.. yuh nuh have nuh talk !

be advised, any attempt to hijack this thread will be swiftly addressed!

For someone to refer to Rastas as unpatriotic is tragic. Historian is delusional, and he should go pick up a copy of "A Rastafari View of Marcus Garvey" by I. Jabulani Tafari, and that neo-colonial perspective needs to go!

I have to disagree with historian on this one ...... is barack obama less of a patriot for not having worn the american flag lapel pin?

the overreaching message of rasta is that it caused black people in the caribbean diaspora (initially) to see God in themselves. the chinese, indians, native americans see themselves as an embodiment of their gods while we as black people in the caribbean were taught to see god/jesus in the image of the whiteman....how much further can one to from god/jesus? add into the mix the "chosen race" dogma and little black children will forever see the white doll as being inherently better...

Babylon system wikid !

Bald Head tink him have power but dat will fade away....

Did he knopw that Rasta took down the Union Jack & hoisted the RED , GOLD & GREEN to declare Jamaica symbolicly independent ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

it coulda wuss.. wi coulda end up wid di Muslim dem... end of Toursim right deh suh !!

yuh smoking? mind wi ban yuh fi life!

Yuh si mee ?... doan si mee....

"one who loves his or her country and supports its authority and interests"

How can Rasta be patriotic to Jamaica (Bablyon) ?

Rasta is clearly unpatriotic to Jamaica.. by definition...

I have to disagree with historian on this one ...... is barack obama less of a patriot for not having worn the american flag lapel pin?

the overreaching message of rasta is that it caused black people in the caribbean diaspora (initially) to see God in themselves. the chinese, indians, native americans see themselves as an embodiment of their gods while we as black people in the caribbean were taught to see god/jesus in the image of the whiteman....how much further can one to from god/jesus? add into the mix the "chosen race" dogma and little black children will forever see the white doll as being inherently better...
                        completely agree with that as the primary value of Rasta philosophy!

Good topic. Would love Historian fi come defend himself.

don't know if Rastafarism is in itself unpatriotic but there is a who heap of unpatriotic rasta out deh who are misguided.

and there are a whole heap of unpatriotic bald heads out there too! as for those dual citizens who love jamaica only because they can afford helpers and can throw their weight around here, but as soon as likkle chubble reach dem, dem trek off to the USA. i wonder if Historian considers them patriotic?

me too!

and how important is that?