$682m allocated for social intervention programmes

I personally am not looking for miracle from Golding, I supported when Peter Phillips took over rom KD knight and supported him until after 2-3 years I saw no sensible reduction.

That plan that Golding came out with will do nothing much by itself. The first thing have to happen is Jamaicans have to change. Too much spousal abuse, too much people fail to settle argument and too much self proclaim badmen.

What I am saying is it can be done if Jamaica is really serious. As the article pointed out in Venuzula even though the economy has improved and many lives have been helped crime has risen so it could be also possible that they pump money into these areas and the problem remain the same.

In some case is not like money has not been pumped in these community but the money go in the wrong hand and guiness bottle and the people never feel the effect. It is always nice to think both party can come togather and have a good social contract but as far as I see it, it will never happen, NEVER.
    Glad to see you engaging the real issues (real at least fom my standpoint)... you even acknowledge that Golding's plan will do nothing much by itself..... remarkable!... so why support it? why not call for something that may work... improbable as it may be to get done?

As I said it by itself will not work. However it is better than what was there before and coupled with other legislations to make the courts system, the police force better and stuff like putting people like Walker in charge of customs is not a bad idea. I have said I give Bruce and Mcmillan one year to see improvement and then if not they loose my support.

They legislations maybe simple and not what people want but they are commonsense and should have been there long ago. You said it needed the support of the parties and that he went out and seek the support of the PNP and all the Human rights group and when he did that it is called "watered down".

Our problem is not information about strategies; it seems it's more about implementation. Truly, which ones of those have been really tried? implemented?

I think first and foremost we need a professional police service to make headway. That appears to me to be a huge challenge.

Can you explain crime in Trinidad?

Based on what I am hearing the economy is growing leaps and bound but so to is crime.

Let me know what you think.

As I said it by itself will not work. However it is better than what was there before and coupled with other legislations to make the courts system, the police force better and stuff like putting people like Walker in charge of customs is not a bad idea. I have said I give Bruce and Mcmillan one year to see improvement and then if not they loose my support.

They legislations maybe simple and not what people want but they are commonsense and should have been there long ago. You said it needed the support of the parties and that he went out and seek the support of the PNP and all the Human rights group and when he did that it is called "watered down".
            So it will not work by itself but it is better than what was there before... and you hold out hope that the allied legislative and administrative revisions will have a significant (lasting) impact... including I suppose the JA$683m "poverty alleviation" charade.

That construct is not something I can take as a fundamental attempt to address the problem.. however let's agree to disagree on that.

You want to know what I think will reduce crime?

be my guest.

I will just say that I don't think of crime reduction in a vacuum. I'm not too interested in short term crime plans (although they may be necessary from time to time).

Since I believe crime and our generally poor/destructive social relationships are the reasons for our underachievement.. I think of the problem from a systemic perspective i.e allied with measures for social and economic progress.

Well the first thing we have to do is teach economics. Jamaican have so much ability and we can do much better and generate some of our own capital. You have so many ghetto business people making money and have no idea ho how to hold on to it? Buying boxes of guiness and Red Stripe and keeping 4 women and having as much pickney as they can will not result in Jamaica been better.

Jamaica like Mexico have to put law in place to make sure all the people who leave their kids behind and leave them on the government and grandkids suppor their kids. This can be done as Mexico currently do it.

People hve to take more pride in their community and keep place clean and safe and learn how to sell the product. There are many places along the highway which tourists would stop if it was properly maintained. There are many of these places that sell food with no toilets and basic infrastructure that don't even need government to put it.

Communties have to be able to build and influence government to do things. There are a few communities and projects which have gotten support from organizations such as the USAID, UN, and other mutlilateral organizations. Others may have gotten private support but not enough. Proper grant writing etc. is needed, information and data keeping.

People have to learn to solve problem amd care for their neighbour. Set up courts to deal with small issues before they get bigger and settle those that you can. This involves community court wher we could better make use of people like JPs. Domestic voilence(in my opinon)is one of the major factor in our crime rate and so things have to solved and people punished. We can run from it but too many people feel we have a right fi lick somebody else.

Economics is needed but so too is basic values that many of us were thought and choose to not use them and it nuh matter how rich we get we still have the same dirty habits. We as Jamaicans and friends have to make a better effort to influence they young kids and let them know there is a different way. We as Jamaicans have to look within and build upon the capital we have.

We can't think Big foriegn investment or pure government solution is the
                  Yes people need good housing but to think it is a political gift or freeness won't solve a thing. It possible we dump 10 billion US in Jamaica and it don't solve a thing. We have no ownership in these corporation and neither do most Jamaicans in Sandals and Super Clubs. Until we realise how important it is to own, and build our own then dwag nam we supper.

by the way the word productivity have to mean something and that involves getting rid of the mobster unions.

Well the first thing we have to do is teach economics. Jamaican have so much ability and we can do much better and generate some of our own capital. You have so many ghetto business people making money and have no idea ho how to hold on to it? Buying boxes of guiness and Red Stripe and keeping 4 women and having as much pickney as they can will not result in Jamaica been better.

Jamaica like Mexico have to put law in place to make sure all the people who leave their kids behind and leave them on the government and grandkids suppor their kids. This can be done as Mexico currently do it.

People hve to take more pride in their community and keep place clean and safe and learn how to sell the product. There are many places along the highway which tourists would stop if it was properly maintained. There are many of these places that sell food with no toilets and basic infrastructure that don't even need government to put it.

Communties have to be able to build and influence government to do things. There are a few communities and projects which have gotten support from organizations such as the USAID, UN, and other mutlilateral organizations. Others may have gotten private support but not enough. Proper grant writing etc. is needed, information and data keeping.

People have to learn to solve problem amd care for their neighbour. Set up courts to deal with small issues before they get bigger and settle those that you can. This involves community court wher we could better make use of people like JPs. Domestic voilence(in my opinon)is one of the major factor in our crime rate and so things have to solved and people punished. We can run from it but too many people feel we have a right fi lick somebody else.

Economics is needed but so too is basic values that many of us were thought and choose to not use them and it nuh matter how rich we get we still have the same dirty habits. We as Jamaicans and friends have to make a better effort to influence they young kids and let them know there is a different way. We as Jamaicans have to look within and build upon the capital we have.

We can't think Big foriegn investment or pure government solution is the
                      Yes people need good housing but to think it is a political gift or freeness won't solve a thing. It possible we dump 10 billion US in Jamaica and it don't solve a thing. We have no ownership in these corporation and neither do most Jamaicans in Sandals and Super Clubs. Until we realise how important it is to own, and build our own then dwag nam we supper.
                      great ideas!! I agree.

I'm no way suggesting pumping funds willy nilly into the poor.. we have to achieve a social contract on the way forward first... develop proper plans and oversight with all the social partners participating then spend money in a systemic, coordinated and effective way... led by education and training spending at all levels.. pre-primary, primary, secondary,tertiary and adult remedial.
                      Physical improvements to communities are vital... but secondary to upgrading social capital and improving social relationships as you have demonstrated in your suggestions.. this social relationship aspect is our primary downfall!!.. and it stems from family breakdown, lack of proper education and political stupidity.

I like your prescriptions as part of the solution.