Jamaican Men Not Alone!

• Jamaican Men Not Alone!

Aside from crime statistics, nothing shows more glaringly the perceived social and educational failures of Jamaican men than the female/male ration in the UWI, Mona's registration statistics for the academic year 2007-2008. (This, from what I can recall from memory, was either a female/male ratio of 82% - 18%, or else 83% - 17%.)

What I'm doing by making this post is simply showing that the impressive academic performance and achievements by women is almost universal in the Western Hemisphere (maybe in the East as well, except that the liberation of women has progressed extremely slowly in much of the Eastern Hemisphere).

Posted 10/19/2005 11:41 PM
    College gender gap widens: 57% are women

By Mary Beth Marklein, USA TODAY
    In May, the Minnesota Office of Higher Education posted the inevitable culmination of a trend: Last year for the first time, women earned more than half the degrees granted statewide in every category, be it associate, bachelor, master, doctoral or professional.
    Women currently make up 57% of all college students.

By Alison Redlich, The Burlington Free Press

Cause for celebration — or for concern?

Before you answer, consider the perspective of Jim McCorkell, founder of Admission Possible, a St. Paul program to help low-income high school kids prepare for college. Last year, 30% of the students were boys. This fall, that has inched up to 34%, but only because "we actually did a little affirmative action," McCorkell says. "If we had a tie (between a male and a female applicant), we gave it to a boy."

As women march forward, more boys seem to be falling by the wayside, McCorkell says. Not only do national statistics forecast a continued decline in the percentage of males on college campuses, but the drops are seen in all races, income groups and fields of study, says policy analyst Thomas Mortenson, publisher of the influential Postsecondary Education Opportunity newsletter in Oskaloosa, Iowa. Since 1995, he has been tracking — and sounding the alarm about — the dwindling presence of men in colleges.

Source of second story below: The LA Times

A Growing Gender Gap Tests College Admissions

By Peter Y. Hong
    November 21, 2004

When admissions officers for Santa Clara University recruit new freshmen, they do their best to reach the kind of students they’d like to see more of on the Silicon Valley campus: boys.

“We make a special pitch to them to talk about the benefits of Santa Clara, as we do for other underrepresented groups,” Charles Nolan, Santa Clara’s vice provost for admissions, said of the school’s efforts to boost male applicants.

It’s a startling development to anyone who remembers that Santa Clara was all male until 1960. But the Jesuit-run school reflects an important transformation of American college life.

Among the 4,550 undergraduates at Santa Clara, 57% are female. That matches the percentage of U.S. bachelor’s degrees now awarded to women, a demographic shift that has accelerated since women across the country began to attend college at a higher rate than men about a decade ago.

Today, many colleges, particularly selective residential schools, face a dilemma unthinkable a generation ago.

To place well in influential college rankings, those schools must enroll as many top high school students as they can – and most of those students are female. Administrators are watching closely for the “tipping point” at which schools become unappealing to both men and women. They fear that lopsided male-female ratios will hurt the social life and diverse classrooms they use as selling points.

Despite employing the same tactics used for years to lure ethnic minority students, few colleges say they give admissions preferences to boys. But high school counselors and admissions experts say they believe it is happening.

Good article, Historian!

Nice of you to point out that this "wutliss man" syndrome is not confined to Jamaica. Not sure how much comfort that give me because other countries' wutliss men don't resort to guns and crime as ours.

Could/would/should HL have done that?

this particular statistic has been trending this way for about 10 - 15 years now...one year at NMLS in mona in a class of about 80 graduates only about 7 or 9 were men....this was late 90's or early 00's.

you wan't go a mi sister party them UWI grads a fly in like crazy. you wonder if nuh man nuh graduate too.

No surprise. Entered high school in '58! I can still remember 9 boys to nuff-nuff girls! I thought it great!

Then in teachers college it was a sobering topic...the implications...on all fronts (ahem!)... appear frightening ...and as the trend continues it shall become more and more disturbing...frightening...

Incidentally I watched a small piece of Soledad O'Brien's piece on Black in America (or whatever the topic)...and the specter of the "single female"...and the "left behind...lost...underachieving male"...finding too many females as...what was the word used?...It was not challenging or overbearing??? ...it was...(Can't remember the word used. Living in Shady Pines and having those other 'types' around you do that to you! )

...but the impact this 'outnumbering' has on the society is and shall be tremendous if it continues.

Question: Is it really necessary to turn "it" around (i.e. implement that so-called 'afirmitive action for men')...or is it just a matter of improvement in levels of achievements of both men and women where both move towards that illusive 100% full potential?

The problem may not of itself be that women are outdistancing/performing better than men...but that men need to step up...move towards realising their full potential? The need to discover/find out what makes men 'tick' and stimulate that which appears to be in many men 'dormant tick spot'?
          Last edited by Karl; July 24, 2008, 11:43 AM.