Worthless Jamaican Men

• Worthless Jamaican Men

'Jamaican men are poppy shows' - UWI lecturer says males are pursuing wrong priorities
    published: Thursday | July 24, 2008

Athaliah Reynolds, Staff Reporter

Declaring that Jamaican men are in trouble, Father's Inc chairman and university lecturer, Dr Herbert Gayle, says the country needs to readjust how males and females are socialised if it is to be saved from its downward drift.

Gayle, who is a lecturer in the Department of Sociology, Psychology and Social Work at the University of the West Indies (UWI), Mona, yesterday said Jamaican men were destroying themselves.

He argued that this was being done through crime and violence and men's selfish pursuits of women and sex at the expense of their own economic and social development.

Gayle was speaking to an audience of mostly men during the launch of Brothers United, a non-profit Christian organisation geared towards the mentoring and training of males in the inner city.

"Jamaica is the only country in the world where women own 41 per cent of the economy," he said. "If you look at any other country in the world, the average is 30 per cent. In Jamaica, women control the entire belly of the economy; men are at the extreme base and at the extreme top."

Critical

He said this was based, in some part, on the fact that women are socialised to manipulate their space in order to get what they want, while men are not socialised in this way.

The UWI lecturer said it was therefore critical that men be reprogrammed to learn that it is important to focus on investing in themselves and their own upliftment.

A study conducted by Gayle in 1999 to determine why some 120 individuals who were given offers to attend UWI did not accept the proposal, showed that males did not have the money to attend university.

Financial difficulties

He said the data, however, showed that women had four times the money than men had to finance their tertiary education.

Gayle revealed the study further showed that 17 young men had girlfriends attending the UWI, whom they were evidently supporting. These young men were among 34 who could not take up the offer to attend the university because of financial difficulties.

"So clear is the evidence that Jamaican men are a bunch of poppy shows," he said. "We have a situation here where, in fact, our young men are in trouble."

He added: "They are in trouble because we have brought them up badly. We have created a 'commodification' of sex in such a way that treats these young men as spenders."

athaliah.reynolds@gleanerjm.com

Mi see a come from lang time ago.

Him never have fi study nothing, a di fact.

We money spend inna boxes of beers, sex, and showing off.

When you look pon all the sisters them who a graduate college both in Ja and the US is a crying shame.

Let me ask who the man dem a go blame? The ghetto? the politicians? the police? who?

When you talk to some a them, them simple say "a cah you nuh know yah dads". Pity them nuh know a nuff a we been there and done that and continue to strugge today but we nah hold down we head, Keep it high.

Many of us are irresponsible. Mi nuh fraid fi talk it.

Anybody watched the "Black in America" series on CNN ? They focused on the black women last night, tonight they will highlight the black male.

It is produced for mainstream America so not much new information for most of us, but seems to be worth watching.

Haven't our parents failed us?

some of them but we continue to fail the youths.

Many of us get quality education and know better.

Let me ask if we going to continue the cycle and wonder why the crime rate so high?

saw a little piece, not much.

i'm trying to understand what he is saying ..... young men who cannot afford to go to uwi because they are supporting a girlfriend who is and this makes them poppyshows? i send you to college den you send me to college because we cannot both go at the same time? or is he saying that some uwi women "whore" themselves out to get money to go to college....

him need to do better than that. he does raise some salient, relevant and apropos points that are not totally different from cosby and obama but he needs to either refine his studies or his conclusions.

not a very impressive study based on what has been reported.

less impressive delivery....

so wha bout the man who a send two and three girls go a UWI?

Some of them, 17 I believe, chose to support their girlfriends in college instead of go themselves.

Meanwhile, "He said the data, however, showed that women had four times the money than men had to finance their tertiary education."

well one woman have 4 man supporting her....DUH!!!?

Did a man do the study? Ergo!

LOL!!!