PM caved to pressure and announced weak crime plan -

There is no (reasonable) legislative, administrative or police/military solution to Jamaica's crime problem.
    All such anti-crime measures conducted in a vacuum are bound to fail... after an initial dampening... crime will be resuscitated.

The only solution is massive investment in poor people and poor communities.... allied with the the requsite police and legislative measures.
    Sounds all well and good Don1, but with our limited resources the "massive investment" isn't realistic.

During today's post Cabinet PC the PM indicated that programs are in place, but because the youths making thousands from extortion they're not interested.

Last time I check hotelier bought some fi install pon Hip Strip and after months the hotelier them tell the police if them nah install it fi give them back. Machine come a wharf fi detect certain things and it take a year to be operational. How do you legislate these things when you have some people inside who don't want it?

We need fi check with Sao Paulo how them do it without reducing poverty.

How the poorest parishes in Ja have the least crime?

We need fi study what them doing in Maroon town.
        urban poor are completely different from rural poor... the answers are not in Maroon Town.

Sounds all well and good Don1, but with our limited resources the "massive investment" isn't realistic.

During today's post Cabinet PC the PM indicated that programs are in place, but because the youths making thousands from extortion they're not interested.
          If Air Jamaica, financial sector bailout etc can attract billions of US dollars of taxpayer funds... why not poor people? There will be an economic return on that investment in the poor.
          Various studies suggest that significantly reducing crime will impact GDP growth by +5% on its own.

That argument by Golding is a cop out and is nonsensical... if indeed he did make such a statement....I don't accept it. I don't care what Golding has to say... he's wrong.... as are most corrupt Jamaican politicians and our self serving and corrupt private sector.

These feel-good crime plans are worth nothing and are a waste of time.

The GOJ can find the resources if political will is there... eg they are sitting on hundreds of millions of US$ in Petro Caribe funds as I had pointed out before. Venezuela can be approached to support using these funds to underwrite expanded education, housing, job training and squatter upgrading etc for the poor.

Why is it that everything Golding says is gospel to you? Surely you can think for yourself.

I knd of agree, but instead of massive investment in the poor, i go with Mo's Jobs, jobs and more jobs.

Teach the people to fish! Let them lift themselves up by the sweat of their brows.

Yuh can't ignore the massive investment, Willi. It will have to be done too!

If Air Jamaica, financial sector bailout etc can attract billions of US dollars of taxpayer funds... why not poor people? There will be an economic return on that investment in the poor.
                Various studies suggest that significantly reducing crime will impact GDP growth by +5% on its own.

That argument by Golding is a cop out and is nonsensical... if indeed he did make such a statement....I don't accept it. I don't care what Golding has to say... he's wrong.... as are most corrupt Jamaican politicians and our self serving and corrupt private sector.

These feel-good crime plans are worth nothing and are a waste of time.

The GOJ can find the resources if political will is there... eg they are sitting on hundreds of millions of US$ in Petro Caribe funds as I had pointed out before. Venezuela can be approached to support using these funds to underwrite expanded education, housing, job training and squatter upgrading etc for the poor.

Why is it that everything Golding says is gospel to you? Surely you can think for yourself.
                There you go being petty again Don1. Maybe it would be ideal if you call yuhself Donette.

Who said what the PM said is gospel? There was a discussion about the PM's pc last evening and none of the analysts disputed what the PM said. I guess because you're Mr. Know it ALL you know more than these people and you can say its a cop out.

Have to agree with these commentators. In attempting to find consensus the gov't came across as being weak.
                  Over the years the PNP & JLP have done there very best to stem crime in Jamaica, however it is time they turn over the protection of Jamaicans to the Human Rights Group, now the Police can concentrate on shaking down motorist, and turning in at 9PM for a good nights sleep.

I knd of agree, but instead of massive investment in the poor, i go with Mo's Jobs, jobs and more jobs.

Teach the people to fish! Let them lift themselves up by the sweat of their brows.
                    I see vastly improved education, job training and subsidization (through an aggressive & progressive tax policy) of jobs created in enterprise zones (in inner cities)... as an integral part (perhaps the largest part) of any such investment.

I'm not just referring to improved infrastructure.

Successive govts. have ignored large sections of our population for decades. The very least we are now going to have to do is to right those wrongs with massive investments in those people.

As long as the main thrust is teaching people to fish, I will agree.

I am not in agreement with a "fish-head" largesse. We know that too well!

There you go being petty again Don1. Maybe it would be ideal if you call yuhself Donette.

Who said what the PM said is gospel? There was a discussion about the PM's pc last evening and none of the analysts disputed what the PM said. I guess because you're Mr. Know it ALL you know more than these people and you can say its a cop out.
                          Am I not entitled to my opinion?
                          If I don't think these various iterations of crime plans over the past 2 generations (this is just the latest one) have zero chance of significantly and sustainably reducing crime... should I just jump on the bandwagon? ..no.. that's not my style.

I don't need so called media analysts to lead my thinking. There is enough info available for any thinking person to draw their own conclusions on national issues.

I don't need to quote politicans or parrot media types.. they have their views... and I have mine.... I am not in competition with them to establish who knows more.... I just form an opinion and express it... and justify it when so moved.

Am I not entitled to my opinion?
                            If I don't think these various iterations of crime plans over the past 2 generations (this is just the latest one) have zero chance of significantly and sustainably reducing crime... should I just jump on the bandwagon? ..no.. that's not my style.

I don't need so called media analysts to lead my thinking. There is enough info available for any thinking person to draw their own conclusions on national issues.

I don't need to quote politicans or parrot media types.. they have their views... and I have mine.... I am not in competition with them to establish who knows more.... I just form an opinion and express it... and justify it when so moved.
                            There are Sociologists who have been working and studying the situation. You arrived at your opinion based on what? Because you just don't want to agree with it?

Is the PM spinning? Possibly! I haven't seen or heard anything to dispute what he said. Then again, those who have common sense can duh di math. Minimun wage in Jamaica is what? Now compare that to monies obtain from drugs, extortion and robbery.

As a 6th grader once told a teacher when she asked him how is he going to buy the fancy clothes and cars he is always talking about, "All I need is a key!"

There are Sociologists who have been working and studying the situation. You arrived at your opinion based on what? Because you just don't want to agree with it?

Is the PM spinning? Possibly! I haven't seen or heard anything to dispute what he said. Then again, those who have common sense can duh di math. Minimun wage in Jamaica is what? Now compare that to monies obtain from drugs, extortion and robbery.

As a 6th grader once told a teacher when she asked him how is he going to buy the fancy clothes and cars he is always talking about, "All I need is a key!"
                              I arrive at my opinion on crime plans by 30 years observing ALL of them fail.... as this one ultimately will... guaranteed.

I arrive at my opinion on the correct way to address crime by my understanding of Jamaican social and economic conditions.

I am not terribly concerned with or influenced by anything Golding or any other politician has to say on the matter.

The PM can "put it out there" and hope but it has to be examined by the "legal minds".
                                One would assume his attorney general sees no problem with it, or the PM wouldn't even suggest it.

Blessed