PM caved to pressure and announced weak crime plan -
If people haven't been paying attention they would miss certain information. The PM had said time and again that operational stuff was up to the commish. Based on what people are asking for .... they should be looking to the commish. It was announced that the JCF had rolled out some crime plan last week. Is it a good thing that we don't know what those tactics are? Maybe.
During his presentation yesterday the PM said after a high of 202 in April, that was a reduction in June and up to the 20th of this month there were 60+ murders.
The reality though is due to the cries from the HROs the gov't seems weak."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Well its a start, I dont think its as far reaching as it should be but its better than where we were yesterday. I would love to see what the critrics thinks should be law. The reality is you cant have your cake and eat it too.. Some will say its Draconian and others weak. I think its somewhere in between and more could be done.
Originally posted by Plush View PostI agree that the plan is weak. Most of it seems to be long term plan rather than anything to address the issues today. DNAdatabase new bail legislation, 10 years for gun crime...these won't be implemented for the next 6 months or so.
I was expecting those which I think are reasonable but also:
1) Border control - How do we stop the inflow of guns
2) How do we get guns out of the hands of criminals
3) How do we plan to best utilize the JDF
4) What's happening with Witness protection...getting support from foreign territories
5) Deal with violent protest - Detention center
6) Garrisons and other target areas....round the clock deployment of soldiers
7) Increasing conviction rate by promoing better investigation with incentives
I really expected more than what he presented
Originally posted by OJ View PostWell its a start, I dont think its as far reaching as it should be but its better than where we were yesterday. I would love to see what the critrics thinks should be law. The reality is you cant have your cake and eat it too.. Some will say its Draconian and others weak. I think its somewhere in between and more could be done.
I hear bawling but no ideas.
Couple days ago the same people were bawling about rights and corrupt police.
One characteristic of good leadership is being resolute.
Yes there may be collateral fall-outs with the prime ministers plan...but that's a part of the 'opportunity cost'.
I can see the big grin on the faces of the gun men and criminalsThe only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
how do you legislate getting guns out the hands of criminals in Ja?
It is already stated that there will be more police and soldier working as a team more of this area and they are setting up a special branch for that. I don't think any legislation is needed for that.
If you detain people for violent protest the human rights groups will be all over you and it is not politically sound for any party. You member when them teargas McKenzie?
I read where there is going to be much more patrol in those areas, I too hope for more but how can that be legislated?
Number seven is the way to go but is can that also be legislated or is that something for the minister and the commish to do?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
well it will deter some.
There is some that only shooting them down will cure their problems, but we talking about a percentage here. Improve the rate.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
there are laws already. It is corruption that is enabling this. No matter what law you make it will not change this.
What you need is to root out corruption at the ports. Hopefully Walker gun is as big as his talk which will help.
The only way we can protect our border on the sea is to get the US and Cuba to help but if that happen you hear how we a we own nation.
We have to decide what we want we can't have it both ways.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
So can the government be strong with people like Dr. Gomes, Sobers and Mosiah on the streets for every operation they are doing?
they have to work with some of those people within a framework and even show them up sometimes. Mek we see if a pure chat them have or a two side a di mouth them a talk outa.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
They are also lumping things that can't be legislated into the bill.
Put more police and soldier on the street, how do you legislate that? Isn't that down to operation?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.