PM caved to pressure and announced weak crime plan -

Provide legislative frame work that meet the situation but not trample on innocent people's right.

I thought that was what you believe in.

Unlike any other leader before he welcomed all the people who opposed his view, work with them and provide a frame work. That is doing their job if you ask me.

for you.

Tell OBG to get cracking and then see what irks the HROs. In the meantime, stop being a mouthpiece for the JLP.

I am no mouthpiece for the JLP. Because I support some of the policies Bruce Golding I am a JLP?

I am certain you are no mouthpiece for the PNP. If the PNP wasn't as corrupted as they have been they would have had my support.

I would be ashamed if I supported any Jamaican political party the way you have abenged the JLP cause, thick and thin. They are both not worth it.

Can you point to that Mo?

You are trying to make up things as you go along.

I have publicly supported PNP stance on this forum. I will say what I feel and how I feel based on the little knowledge I have and I have NOTHING to be ashamed about.

We are just suppose to criticise everything and take your stance. You seem to oppose everything Bruce Golding does. I never supported Derrick Smith as Minister of Security and that was public, I supported when he was axed, I support Mcmillan from his days in the PNP as commish and I am happy he is back, and I wish him all the best.

The JLP have been late addressing crime and I wish them all the best. I think this legislation is good, not great but nuff of this is just commonsense and should have been there already(long time ago) Back this up with good operation and get the corrupted cops and we can reduce crime rate. No plan alone can't reduce crime rate, How man plans did Peter Phillips have again?

At least Golding act.

Government of Jamaica to implement new strategies for fight against crime
              published: Friday | June 2, 2006

Edmond Campbell, Senior News Coordinator

Phillips: We consider these (National Security Strategy initiatives) to be vital steps in preparing Jamaica to meet the current and future threats. - FILE
              WITH A 21 per cent decline in murder and significant reductions in other major crimes since the start of the year, the Government has moved to implement immediately, five specific initiatives aimed at boosting the country's capacity to further stem the wave of crime affecting the country.
              The initiatives contained in the National Security Strategy (NSS) were outlined in the opening presentation of the Sectoral Debate in Gordon House, on Tuesday, by National Security Minister, Dr. Peter Phillips.
              As part of the plan, Government intends to strengthen the country's national intelligence system, by spending $350 million to enhance the technical capabilities of its intelligence services with some of the most sophisticated and current technologies.
              PROPOSALS FOR TASK FORCE
              Strategic reviews of national security bodies are to be carried out in addition to the establishment of a national task force to strengthen Jamaica's criminal justice system.
              Initiatives to promote com-munity safety and security and the promotion of a national strategic communications programme to enhance public information and awareness will also be introduced.
              Meanwhile, several recommendations in the NSS converge with a number of proposals submitted by the McMillan Task Force. The task force, chaired by former Commissioner of Police, Colonel Trevor MacMillan, was commissioned by the Opposition Leader to come up with ideas to address the crime problem in Jamaica.
              Dr. Phillips said that several of the recommendations in the McMillan Report dubbed, "A Roadmap to a Safe and Secure Jamaica", have either been implemented or are scheduled for implementation.
              CALL FOR REVIEW
              MacMillan recommended, among other things, that the Government should review the Jamaica Constabulary Force, a proposal contained in the NSS. In addition to the JCF, the NSS also calls for a review of the Jamaica Defence Force.
              The National Security Minister told his colleagues that the Government intended to expand the JDF, particularly with respect to the Coast Guard and the Air Wing and to put in place an additional combat support battalion. "We consider these, among other measures, to be vital steps in preparing Jamaica to meet the current and future threats," he said.

Can you say I didn't support that?

What has that plan achieved? That is plan number how many for the good Dr?

What was the crime rate in 2006? I can say this that if the this year crime rate beat 2006 then Bruce better do something more cause my support will not be there.

I have long believed that Jamaica should give serious thought to legalizing guns in Jamaica. I think the rules should be relaxed for any hard working and law abidding Jamaican to be allowed the option of having a weapon in his or her home if one choses. Gunmen hold the country hostage because they know they that the odds of coming in contact with another gun from an average Jamaican is minimal.

Brush look how many legal abiding citizen get disarmed and killed. As a matter of fact I think the opposite might be true..

Government of Jamaica to implement new strategies for fight against crime
                      published: Friday | June 2, 2006

Edmond Campbell, Senior News Coordinator

Phillips: We consider these (National Security Strategy initiatives) to be vital steps in preparing Jamaica to meet the current and future threats. - FILE
                      WITH A 21 per cent decline in murder and significant reductions in other major crimes since the start of the year, the Government has moved to implement immediately, five specific initiatives aimed at boosting the country's capacity to further stem the wave of crime affecting the country.
                      The initiatives contained in the National Security Strategy (NSS) were outlined in the opening presentation of the Sectoral Debate in Gordon House, on Tuesday, by National Security Minister, Dr. Peter Phillips.
                      As part of the plan, Government intends to strengthen the country's national intelligence system, by spending $350 million to enhance the technical capabilities of its intelligence services with some of the most sophisticated and current technologies.
                      PROPOSALS FOR TASK FORCE
                      Strategic reviews of national security bodies are to be carried out in addition to the establishment of a national task force to strengthen Jamaica's criminal justice system.
                      Initiatives to promote com-munity safety and security and the promotion of a national strategic communications programme to enhance public information and awareness will also be introduced.
                      Meanwhile, several recommendations in the NSS converge with a number of proposals submitted by the McMillan Task Force. The task force, chaired by former Commissioner of Police, Colonel Trevor MacMillan, was commissioned by the Opposition Leader to come up with ideas to address the crime problem in Jamaica.
                      Dr. Phillips said that several of the recommendations in the McMillan Report dubbed, "A Roadmap to a Safe and Secure Jamaica", have either been implemented or are scheduled for implementation.
                      CALL FOR REVIEW
                      MacMillan recommended, among other things, that the Government should review the Jamaica Constabulary Force, a proposal contained in the NSS. In addition to the JCF, the NSS also calls for a review of the Jamaica Defence Force.
                      The National Security Minister told his colleagues that the Government intended to expand the JDF, particularly with respect to the Coast Guard and the Air Wing and to put in place an additional combat support battalion. "We consider these, among other measures, to be vital steps in preparing Jamaica to meet the current and future threats," he said.

suh wait .. exactly what yuh trying to prove wid this article? If yuh waan fi know the annual murder rates under Phillips' watch ... ask somebody.

Accountant killed at home
                        Wednesday, 23 July 2008
                        Forty-one year-old Patrick Wayne Clarke, an accountant of Braeton in St. Catherine was shot dead by a gunman at his home on Tuesday.

The St. Catherine South Police report that about 2:20pm, Mr. Clarke was at his house when a man posing as a perfume vendor entered his yard.

After a brief conversation the man pulled a gun and shot him before escaping.

Mr. Clarke was taken hospital where he died while being treated.

What about cameras...Any plans to put cameras in major cities...I know it was discussed and decided that people will tear them down..but don't we think we should explore this some...especially because we have problems with witness coming forward

I have no doubt that cameras will work. Well, if we are serious about this thing.

And Finally, and this should have been the trade off for tougher measures....
                            Mandaotory 5/10 year sentences for Government officials especially police convicted of Fraud such as falsifying/tampering with evidence, abusing their power in office.

Tough stance should be taken on Corruption

There is no (reasonable) legislative, administrative or police/military solution to Jamaica's crime problem.
                              All such anti-crime measures conducted in a vacuum are bound to fail... after an initial dampening... crime will be resuscitated.

This anti-crime plan... as all previous one were- is PR a effort to placate frightened Jamaicans.. especially the business class.

The only solution is massive investment in poor people and poor communities.... allied with the the requsite police and legislative measures.

We need fi check with Sao Paulo how them do it without reducing poverty.

How the poorest parishes in Ja have the least crime?

We need fi study what them doing in Maroon town.