• PM caved to pressure and announced weak crime plan -

PM caved to pressure and announced weak crime plan - commentators
    Wednesday, 23 July 2008
    The Bruce Golding administration has received a slap in the face with its latest crime plan coming under increased criticism from some quarters.
    The new measures, which are likely to remain in effect for at least a year, are being described as weak and ineffective and likely to have little impact on Jamaica's worsening crime problem.
    Some public commentators are also criticising the administration for failing to present the draconian measures which were promised by the Prime Minister.

Political Commentator and President of the Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce Lloyd B. Smith said the measures will not stem Jamaica's soaring homicide rate.
    He added that the proposed legislative changes will have only a temporary effect.

"If you look at those crimes very carefully, a lot of them are reprisals, domestic matters and so forth and I don't know if all these measures that are being announced in essence address those particular types of crime. We will be able to cauterize the thing for a while but at some times, the same way that one puts a band aid on a sore foot, (crime) is going to break out again," said Mr. Smith.

More drastic measures expected
    His feelings were shard by Chairman of the Clarendon Crime Prevention Committee Bill Shagourie who said harsher measures are needed.
    "Some of these (measures) should deter some of the (crime) but I think there needs to be harsher measures to really put a stop to it. When a person looks at a gun and thinks about using it when he thinks that if he is caught (he will spend) 40 or 50 years, I think he's going to think twice about taking up that gun," said Mr. Shagourie while speaking on RJR's daily discussion programme Beyond the Headlines on Tuesday.

Draconian measures missing
    Roman Catholic Deacon Peter Espeut theorises that the Golding administration bowed to pressure from human rights groups and unveiled a watered down crime plan.

"With all the hype about draconian measures coming, I didn't hear anything draconian or maybe the voluble protest by the human rights lobby caused the Prime Minister to pull some punches," he said.
    During Tuesday's Parliamentary sitting, Prime Minister Bruce Golding announced longer detention for suspects involved in major crimes.
    He also declared that conditions for granting bail for these suspects would be much more stringent.

Have to agree with these commentators. In attempting to find consensus the gov't came across as being weak.

What plan unnu expect?
      Lazie it is not caving in but listening to people, and working with them.
      10 years the least for any gun crime is weak.

No bail for a certain time for certain crime is weak?
      DNA database is weak?
      These are realistic plan.

Bruce said he is working on the national ID which is a better plan than drivers license plan.

I hope they pay you good!

THE PLAN IS WEAK, ASSASIN. STOP THE FOOLISHNESS! HOW DOES ANY OF THAT EVEN BEGIN TO PREVENT GUNMEN FROM TERRORISING A NEIGHBOURHOOD TONIGHT? JUST POINT TO ONE THING HE SAID THAT WOULD DETER THAT?

Can you explain how it could be stronger without mass human right violation?

Just tell me a few things that could be done legislatively.

Balford Henry's take.

TOUGH!
            Gov't announces harsh penalties in new assault on crimeBALFORD HENRY, Observer writer balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
            Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Prime Minister Bruce Golding outlining the new crime-fighting measures in the House of Representatives yesterday. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)PRIME Minister Bruce Golding yesterday promised tough new legislative measures to reduce crime, including a minimum 10-year sentence for gun crimes.
            "It is proposed to introduce legislation to specify that, on conviction for serious gun crimes, a person shall not be eligible for parole before 10 years," Golding told the House of Representatives, in a statement outlining the measures agreed to by the Government and the Opposition in previous bipartisan discussions.
            "The legislature has the right to signal to the court the firmness of its intention that serious crimes must attract serious punishment," Golding told the House.
            Other initiatives announced by the prime minister in the administration's anti-crime fight included extended detention of criminal suspects for up to 72 hours, under certain conditions; denial of bail for persons charged with serious crimes for up to 60 days; and provisions for a majority of nine jurors out of 12 to decide on non-capital murders.
            In addition, the police will be given access to restricted information from state agencies, in specified circumstances; and there will also be the use of DNA for evidences; and provisions allowing testimony from secure and remote locations.
            Prime Minister Golding said that police officers up to the rank of assistant commissioner would be allowed to authorise detentions of up to 72 hours, prior to an appearance before a resident magistrate, instead of the current 24 hours, in cordoned or curfewed areas and in cases where the suspect is believed to be involved in criminal activity within the locality.
            The restrictions on bail would allow for the denial of bail to persons charged with murder, treason, serious firearm offences, arson or extortion, as well as those with previous convictions for drug trafficking, kidnapping, sexual offences and intimidation of witnesses. He said that provision would also be made for the prosecution to have the right to appeal the granting of bail, or seek a stay of execution, pending an appeal hearing.
            "Up to the middle of July, there were 316 persons on bail who had been charged with gun offences. Of this number 186 had previous convictions for gun offences. Since 2003, there were 1,384 persons with previous gun offences who had been granted bail," Golding said, in justifying the bail proposals.
            In terms of non-capital murder convictions, he said that it is proposed to amend those provisions to allow for a majority verdict of not less than nine jurors out of 12. A unanimous verdict is currently required in murder cases.
            On the proposal to allow the police access to restricted information from other state agencies, Golding said it is proposed to allow the commissioner of police, the chief of staff of the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF), or an officer designated by either of them, to apply to a judge in chambers for authorisation to obtain information from these agencies in criminal investigations.
            In addition, he said that it has been proposed to allow for the taking of non-invasive DNA samples and to establish a DNA database for access to and use of the samples, while the person will be able to obtain a copy of the DNA profile.
            In terms of the provisions for witness testimony, he said the proposal is to amend the Evidence Act to provide for the giving of evidence and cross- examination of vulnerable witnesses from secure and remote locations; the use of videotaped witness statements; and video-linked testimony for accused persons from remand centres.
            NEW ANTI-CRIME MEASURES INCLUDE:
            . Minimum 10 years for gun crimes.
            . Criminal suspects can be detained for 72 hours.
            . Denial of bail for serious crimes for up to 60 days.
            . Majority of nine jurors of 12 can decide on non-capital murder.
            . Police to get access to restricted information.
            . Use of DNA evidence.
            . Testimony from secure and remote locations.

Before we get to that, you won't get off lightly this time.

Tell me ONE (1), just one thing that will deter the murder of one person tonight in Jamaica.

Thanks.

Can you explain how it could be stronger without mass human right violation?
                Him a di first one woulda jump outta him chair ranting and raving bout Human Rights. Mosiah of all people should steer clear of this topic

I agree that the plan is weak. Most of it seems to be long term plan rather than anything to address the issues today. DNAdatabase new bail legislation, 10 years for gun crime...these won't be implemented for the next 6 months or so.
                  I was expecting those which I think are reasonable but also:
                  1) Border control - How do we stop the inflow of guns
                  2) How do we get guns out of the hands of criminals
                  3) How do we plan to best utilize the JDF
                  4) What's happening with Witness protection...getting support from foreign territories
                  5) Deal with violent protest - Detention center
                  6) Garrisons and other target areas....round the clock deployment of soldiers
                  7) Increasing conviction rate by promoing better investigation with incentives

I really expected more than what he presented

Right now, we need house to house search in some communities, we need more spot checks, we need to aggressively hunt gunmen...and I don't care what JFJ or anyone of them has to say...Buce was a very weak leader yesterday..no balls

Total and utter crap. A total failure of leadership. The murder capital of the world and this is what they come with?. Dismantle garrison? don'y hold your breath. First and foremost man must have a guaranteed access to parliament all other crime plans come secondary. It is comical to see the usual defenders of the indefensible bob and weave on this one. Lazie have to respect you here(archive this) and no I didnt know who wrong jungle was.
                      I told all and sundry rthat the PM would be compromised by his choice of where to represent.

10 years for a gun crime will make a few people think about keeping one.

Unnu try talk to Assasin, because not even JIS could big up a govt. like him right now.

really?!

I tell you this..I don't live in JA but this I know....any bad man can guh a embassy guh get a visa fi guh kool out. Dem nuh need no job, no assets nutten. And dem even walk through di airport even when police a look fi dem..even wid dem ID..This is why we needed to hear something about Border proetction cuz a WANTED man can travel on all his documents or get new birth certificate, passport, fingerprints, visa, and whatever him need to go in and out of the country as he please