Bruce Golding proposals

• Bruce Golding proposals

I heard his security propoasals last night. Seems very sensible to me.
    One thing for sure is he floated a lot of controversal ideals and let people had their go. He then engaged them and came up with what he thought was best so everybody think they won.

Yep, and this is certainly a very commendable move by Bruce Golding after years of half-hearted efforts by his predecessors.

But did it have to take so many years and so many thousands and thousands of maimed and murdered children, women and men to get a Jamaican government to act at last? Look at these proposals? It’s not as if we are re-inventing the wheel. Why weren’t these basic, straightforward, commonsense ideas and accompanying legislative proposals brought to the talk shop…. Sorry, parliament before now?

NEW ANTI-CRIME MEASURES INCLUDE:
    . Minimum 10 years for gun crimes.
    . Criminal suspects can be detained for 72 hours.
    . Denial of bail for serious crimes for up to 60 days.
    . Majority of nine jurors of 12 can decide on non-capital murder.
    . Police to get access to restricted information.
    . Use of DNA evidence.
    . Testimony from secure and remote locations.

Why don't I feel any safer?

What is being done to remove the guns from the streets and prevent more from coming in?

Are we going to dismantle the garrisons?

I am not feeling the "safe" right about now. You?

It may not be a cure all but most of it are common sense issues which could have been addressed long ago.

I also hear where there will be more police and soldier on the streets. My only problem is everytime they come up with more police and soldier, I wonder where they are getting them from and why they weren't out there before.

and whether they are corrupt.

Sass, your public relations spiel is not helping.

How do you go about dismantling a garrison?
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

When you elect me (I don't have dual citizenship) I'll let you know.

It's a serious question I'm asking. I've always heard that term being bantered around by politicians. I've always wondered how would someone go about dismantling say Tivoli or Jungle. My ideas of dealing with crime is much more draconian than Bruce's.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

One way is to condemn some of their "dwellings" and provide decent housing elsewhere. (You provide the housing first, of course!) People, like it or not, we are going to have to do that, sooner or later.

And wi not talking bout di Edward Seaga/Tony Spaulding-type bulldozing tactics to cleanse the place of non-supporters.

Is what with you? You said the man fi come up with good proposals. Now he did.

Many on the board here was complaining about these laws or the lack of them. Now they have changed somewhat there is not a peep about it.

Way to go Bruce and I hope it work out for yours and Jamaica sake.

Dismantling a garrison seems like a very difficult thing to do. First you going to have to forcibly remove them from where they currently are, and then you going to have to forcibly insist that they don't reform the garrison in the new location they are moved to.

To give an example of how this can easily occur, consider what happened when Katrina hit New Orleans and the residents of the public housing projects were relocated to Houston. In quite a number of cases the gang members moved into apt complexes in Texas together, reformed the gangs and continued killing each other and battling for turf.

Moving them like that can only be done in a communist country. No politican in the US, Britain, Jamaica or in any of these democracy have that balls as they will be seen as very insensitive.

The only chance we have is to provide low income housing within driving distance of Kingston and make sure it is planned community set up with police substation, Neighbourhood watch and even cameras. Thin out the ghetto neigbourhood, let people know their is a different life, different mentality then the authorities can go in and take control as some of the people move out.

Portmore is a prime example it can be done if done well.

And how is what you are saying any different from what I am saying? Did I describe the "move"?

I-man, most people will move from the utter hell-holes they occupy right now. I have seen it happen.

No govt. should be forced to deal with people just setting up house any which way and any which place. They might not want to move into the houses the govt. provides, but dem cyaan stay whey dem deh.