Bruce Golding proposals

I think the first step is to define what a garrison is.

ok, we seem to be on the same page regarding the solution.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

When we see it we know it.

But if you need a definition in the Jamaican context:

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/pages...ics/index.html

Garrison communities are created by:

(i) the development of large-scale housing schemes by the State and the location of the houses therein to supporters of the party in power;

(ii) homogenisation by the dominant party activists pushing out the minority from within and guarding against invasion from outside; and

(iii) the expelled setting up a squatter community.

The hard core garrison communities exhibit an element of autonomy, in that they are states within a state. The Jamaican State has no authority or power except in as far as it forces are able to invade in the form of police and military raids. In the core garrison disputes have been settled, matters tried, offenders sentenced and punished, all without reference to the institutions of the Jamaican State.

last time I spoke about this was the inner city project and you tell me it wouldn't work.

but pretty much we are saying the same thing now.

you believe in god?

One of the first things that need to be done to break down the garrisons is to allow the security forces to patrol every last one of them when they feel the need.

That would be a very expensive venture though, unless they are done in small groups. I don't think the govt is in a stong enough position politically to do anythign as risky as that either.

Maybe after Porta/Peter Round 2 the PNP will be bloodied enough so that Bruce will have some breathing space for some of those tough decisions.

expensive to patrol areas?

Expensive to defend yourself while patrolling areas. Unless you just plan to drive through and do nothing.

One way is to condemn some of their "dwellings" and provide decent housing elsewhere. (You provide the housing first, of course!) People, like it or not, we are going to have to do that, sooner or later.

And wi not talking bout di Edward Seaga/Tony Spaulding-type bulldozing tactics to cleanse the place of non-supporters.
                        Who and how gonna pay for the housing? Sounds expensive.

It is. But consider the alternatives.

And that is not meant to be stand-alone thing either. We need jobs, jobs and more jobs, but that was what was promised so, expect it!

OK,

This is more like it. Ghettos have high unemployment. No jobs, then how people gonna pay for houses, even subsidized ones. Chicken and egg.

The point really is the politicians must make it clear to their gar...their constituencies that they are no longer going to prevent the state from doing their job. Of course, the state needs to more than just patrol. They need to pick up garbage and everything else. But that protection at all costs by the politician must stop.

Bruce touched on code of conduct of politicians last night again. How can we take him serious when Babsy is in parliament?!?