Don1...here's some yesterday's news

That's exactly what Maudib does, but yuh not smart enuff to recognize it, even though you left our shores so long ago.
    This is the strategy of certain of the pro JLP set to excuse/explain non-performance... blame the prior regime.

Question is... when will they stop thinking in "opposition" terms and take ownership of these issues in realization that they now have power?

The Danish!
      top of the wind power pile the Danes Even the British are very respectable I understand.

funny dem wa'an wi look to dem an' dem a look to willi.....

The prior regime should be blamed as appropriate.. ignoring their destructive efforts STILL in effect (termites) is..well.. stupid.

Unless one understands the problem it is hard to measure performance..

The prior regime should be blamed as appropriate.. ignoring their destructive efforts STILL in effect (termites) is..well.. stupid.

Unless one understands the problem it is hard to measure performance..
            Incessantly playing the blame game (as you do) is a cowards way out of accepting the responsibility of power.

Leadership demands responsibility and the assumption of ownership of problems and their solutions.

Seems to be too much to expect from some.

LOL !!

And where to you see the JLP incessantly playing the blame game ?

I see many action being undertaken.. some even resulting in death..

Once again you are making up scenarios as you go along..

LOL !!

And where to you see the JLP incessantly playing the blame game ?

I see many action being undertaken.. some even resulting in death..

Once again you are making up scenarios as you go along..
                Well I do see the blame game perpetrated by "serious" JLP officials... but I was really referring to you... even though I know you are not a serious functionary.

PNP is playing the blame game more...thru columnists and call in agents.

They are trying to blame the new GOJ for the failures they took 18 years to perfect.

We have to be mature and truthful and call a spade a spade.

While I agree that this GOJ may not be stellar, they are a far cry above the mess we have seen over the last 2 decades!

PNP is playing the blame game more...thru columnists and call in agents.

They are trying to blame the new GOJ for the failures they took 18 years to perfect.

We have to be mature and truthful and call a spade a spade.

While I agree that this GOJ may not be stellar, they are a far cry above the mess we have seen over the last 2 decades!
                    I'm not too interested in PNP tit for tat... especially when done by third party agents or sycophants.... the PNP doesn't hold power or have the responsibility of governing at the moment.

The JLP regime needs to get past that urge for recriminations in a hurry..

The country requires a government focused on solutions and focused as well on bringing all sectors together in a national effort to improve social and economic conditions... that will require not alienating PNP supporters.

A critical majority of the population have to buy into the regime's policies for them to be effective... one can't get a critical majority of Jamaicans without significant PNP support.

It's far too early to say that this regime is better or worse than the previous one... but if one looks at the important indicators... crime rising, inflation rising etc.. it's definitely not promising at this point.

So far they have been better. Again youcan't blame the rising inflation on them. Inflation is a worldwide thing right now and we know what happen to oil price and corn. Yes crime is their problem. I notice you left out corruption and waste which at least they seemed to have tackled somewhat. Even Bearn Sterns have given them credit for it.

The major societal issues are crime, inflation and jobs... it's early but those indicators are negative... that's why the 2 parties are deadlocked in the polls even though the PNP is dysfunctional.

I don't care about Bear Stearns... especially now that they are bankrupt.

However that's not my main point... do you agree that the regime at a minimum needs to avoid alienating PNP supporters if there is to be a national effort to solve Jamaica's problems.... some kind of social contract that we can all agree on and work towards?

Well if oil never moved from 60-140 I think Bruce would be on his way economically.

It is good that with a worldwide crisis the dollar not tumbling and panic not setting in. The tax collection is up, tourism seeing big growth partly because of the effort of the minister, developement continue despite the cash plus etc. fall out, there is no panic. Education is free and so is Healthcare as a healthier nation is better prepared to work.

Some credit must be given. As you say it is early days yet but the indicators are mixed, as far as I am concerned.

As for Bear Stearns their ratings still weigh heavy.

Well if oil never moved from 60-140 I think Bruce would be on his way economically.

It is good that with a worldwide crisis the dollar not tumbling and panic not setting in. The tax collection is up, tourism seeing big growth partly because of the effort of the minister, developement continue despite the cash plus etc. fall out, there is no panic. Education is free and so is Healthcare as a healthier nation is better prepared to work.

Some credit must be given. As you say it is early days yet but the indicators are mixed, as far as I am concerned.

As for Bear Stearns their ratings still weigh heavy.
                            Bruce would be on his way economically but for increased oil prices?.. I totally disagree..... but I guess inflation would be lower for one thing.

What has saved Jamaica from the real effects of oil price increase is the previous regime's development of a strategic relationship with Venezuela (opposed vehemently at the time by Golding) which has meant energy security for the country... at least Golding has had sense enough to continue this policy.

No one in the markets takes Bear Stearns seriously now... they are never even mentioned....most of their top analysts have gone on to other firms.... including those who tracked Jamaica I believe.

Education and healthcare are NOT free... user fees have been reduced or eliminated... which of course is still a positive.... but let's not get too dreamy eyed about that.

Anyway- you did not answer my main point- I asked a direct question regarding a social contract.... Jamaica's only hope for real progress in my estimation..... not the JLP or PNP as entities.
                            Last edited by Don1; July 22, 2008, 11:56 AM.

No one in the markets takes Bear Stearns seriously now... they are never even mentioned....most of their top analysts have gone on to other firms.... including those who tracked Jamaica I believe.

No one in which markets?

While getting everybody on board is the right way, you have to realise not everybody buy into your vision at first and you are going to be opposed. What Bruce have to do is believe in himself and do what he feel is best. Bruce is in a unique position (in the middle) as many labourites are just buying into his leadership and he has to continue showing he is sincerly trying and achieving things and then he will be able to win over some of the many in the PNP. Also take into consideration that we are VERY "tribal" if that is word. When people lighting bus afire and killing chairman, I don't know how you win them over.