• Don1...here's some yesterday's news

Texas approves major new wind power project

SLIDESHOW
    Previous Next

In this Jan. 9, 2007 file photo, wind turbines are seen at the Horse Hollow Wind Energy Project in rural Taylor County north of Wingate, Texas. Texas is moving forward on the nation's largest wind-power project, a plan to build billions of dollars worth of new transmission lines to bring wind energy from gusty West Texas to urban areas, it was announced Thursday, July 17, 2008. (AP Photo/LM Otero, file) (Lm Otero - AP)

By JIM VERTUNO
    The Associated Press
    Thursday, July 17, 2008; 5:05 PM

AUSTIN, Texas -- Texas, headquarters of America's oil industry, is about to stake a fortune on wind power.
    In what experts say is the biggest investment in the clean and renewable energy in U.S. history, utility officials in the Lone Star State gave preliminary approval Thursday to a $4.9 billion plan to build new transmission lines to carry wind-generated electricity from gusty West Texas to urban areas like Dallas.

"People think about oil wells and football in Texas, but in 10 years they'll look back and say this was a brilliant thing to do," said Patrick Woodson, vice president of E.On Climate & Renewables North America, which has about 1,200 megawatts of wind projects already in use or on the drawing board in Texas.

Texas is already the national leader in wind power, generating about 5,000 megawatts. But wind-energy advocates say the lack of transmission lines has kept a lot of that power from being put to use and has hindered the building of more turbines.

Supporters say Thursday's 2-1 vote by the Texas Public Utility Commission is critical to getting that energy to more people.
    "We will add more wind than the 14 states following Texas combined," said PUC Commissioner Paul Hudson. "I think that's a very extraordinary achievement. Some think we haven't gone far enough, some think we've pushed too far."

Most of Texas' wind-energy production is in petroleum-producing West Texas, where nearly 4,000 wind turbines tower over oil pump jacks and capture the breeze that blows across the flat and largely barren landscape. The new plan would not directly build a slew of new turbines, but would add transmission lines capable of moving about 18,000 megawatts. One expert said that is enough to power more than 4 million Texas homes.

Supporters predict the plan will spur new wind power projects, create jobs, reduce pollution and lower energy costs. Texans pay some of the highest electric rates in the country, in part because of congested transmission lines.

Texas electric customers will bear the cost of construction over the next several years, paying about $3 or $4 more per month on their bills, according to Tom Smith, state director of the consumer group Public Citizen. But he predicted that increase would easily be offset by lower energy prices.

Smith called Texas' current transmission lines a "two-lane dirt road" compared to the "renewable energy superhighway" the plan would build.
    "We have all these wind plants up and operating. What we're asking for is the superhighway to get the energy to the cities," Smith said. "This will send signals to manufacturers all across the world Texas is ready to be a world-class player in renewable energy."

The plan still needs to receive final approval later this year from the PUC. The transmission lines would not be up and running for three to five years. Who would build them and other details have yet to be worked out.

The wind energy industry has benefited from the support of billionaire oilman T. Boone Pickens, who is planning to build the world's largest wind farm on about 200,000 acres in the Texas Panhandle. When completed, Pickens' 2,700 turbines will be capable of producing enough electricity to power 1.3 million homes.

CONTINUED 1 document.write('2')22 document.write('Next') NextNext >
    Last edited by HL; July 19, 2008, 03:31 PM.

Texas approves major new wind power project

SLIDESHOW
    Previous Next

In this Jan. 9, 2007 file photo, wind turbines are seen at the Horse Hollow Wind Energy Project in rural Taylor County north of Wingate, Texas. Texas is moving forward on the nation's largest wind-power project, a plan to build billions of dollars worth of new transmission lines to bring wind energy from gusty West Texas to urban areas, it was announced Thursday, July 17, 2008. (AP Photo/LM Otero, file) (Lm Otero - AP)

By JIM VERTUNO
    The Associated Press
    Thursday, July 17, 2008; 5:05 PM

AUSTIN, Texas -- Texas, headquarters of America's oil industry, is about to stake a fortune on wind power.
    In what experts say is the biggest investment in the clean and renewable energy in U.S. history, utility officials in the Lone Star State gave preliminary approval Thursday to a $4.9 billion plan to build new transmission lines to carry wind-generated electricity from gusty West Texas to urban areas like Dallas.

"People think about oil wells and football in Texas, but in 10 years they'll look back and say this was a brilliant thing to do," said Patrick Woodson, vice president of E.On Climate & Renewables North America, which has about 1,200 megawatts of wind projects already in use or on the drawing board in Texas.

Texas is already the national leader in wind power, generating about 5,000 megawatts. But wind-energy advocates say the lack of transmission lines has kept a lot of that power from being put to use and has hindered the building of more turbines.

Supporters say Thursday's 2-1 vote by the Texas Public Utility Commission is critical to getting that energy to more people.
    "We will add more wind than the 14 states following Texas combined," said PUC Commissioner Paul Hudson. "I think that's a very extraordinary achievement. Some think we haven't gone far enough, some think we've pushed too far."

Most of Texas' wind-energy production is in petroleum-producing West Texas, where nearly 4,000 wind turbines tower over oil pump jacks and capture the breeze that blows across the flat and largely barren landscape. The new plan would not directly build a slew of new turbines, but would add transmission lines capable of moving about 18,000 megawatts. One expert said that is enough to power more than 4 million Texas homes.

Supporters predict the plan will spur new wind power projects, create jobs, reduce pollution and lower energy costs. Texans pay some of the highest electric rates in the country, in part because of congested transmission lines.

Texas electric customers will bear the cost of construction over the next several years, paying about $3 or $4 more per month on their bills, according to Tom Smith, state director of the consumer group Public Citizen. But he predicted that increase would easily be offset by lower energy prices.

Smith called Texas' current transmission lines a "two-lane dirt road" compared to the "renewable energy superhighway" the plan would build.
    "We have all these wind plants up and operating. What we're asking for is the superhighway to get the energy to the cities," Smith said. "This will send signals to manufacturers all across the world Texas is ready to be a world-class player in renewable energy."

The plan still needs to receive final approval later this year from the PUC. The transmission lines would not be up and running for three to five years. Who would build them and other details have yet to be worked out.

The wind energy industry has benefited from the support of billionaire oilman T. Boone Pickens, who is planning to build the world's largest wind farm on about 200,000 acres in the Texas Panhandle. When completed, Pickens' 2,700 turbines will be capable of producing enough electricity to power 1.3 million homes.

CONTINUED 1 document.write('2')22 document.write('Next') NextNext >
    impressive!

One issue in the US however is sustaining a commitment to renewables. If oil prices tank (unlikely I know) these projects will disappear.

Good to know that Texas has such big plans... thanks.

I guess it is better for Jamaica to 'look more closely at the expertise of scandanavian and other nothern european countries'...for assistance in this technology.

Me? I think it would be cheaper to fly a few jamaican engineers for training in Amarica....

But that wont be necessary since jamaica is well on it's way with it's energy policy (on paper).

I guess it is better for Jamaica to 'look more closely at the expertise of scandanavian and other nothern european countries'...for assistance in this technology.

Me? I think it would be cheaper to fly a few jamaican engineers for training in Amarica....

But that wont be necessary since jamaica is well on it's way with it's energy policy (on paper).
        yes..cheaper to go to the US but more cost effective to go to countries on the cutting edge.

"cutting edge" that is the key.....good observation don uno.....who know more about windmills than the dutch?

Heh, heh..

A caveman trying to decide between a Blackberry and an I-Pod..

Comedy Central..

silly analogy. not even sure where to start disecting that drivel.

as I said.. Caveman...

Jamaica problem is not what the best technology is... wi not even close to dat problem...

Our Energy Policy is a joke and the people that were in charge of guiding the country are a bigger joke.

Cavemen running a Banana Republic.

If you don't believe me examine the timing and content of the OUR RFP for Renewable Supply.

You poor people don't even realize just how deep the problem runs..

But we have changed course. Mullings has given us a great energy policy!

Yay!

LOL !!

Stop exposing your ignorance.

Who is responsible for putting together the Energy Policy ?

How old is the document ?

Poor JLP.. dem juss ah realize what effery dem inherit...

I submit we have the most ignorant and arrogant set of Technocrats on the planet.. their ignorance is only exceeded by their arrogance..

If wi nuh clean house dawg will continue tuh nyam si suppah.. if wi nuh truss di Diaspora den wi need to bring in some farin white man...

Maudib...i strongly suggest you stop.

Every time the answer is given---they change the question.

America ongle good for car parts

Hopeless set!

Every time the answer is given---they change the question.
                        That's exactly what Maudib does, but yuh not smart enuff to recognize it, even though you left our shores so long ago.

"cutting edge" that is the key.....good observation don uno.....who know more about windmills than the dutch?
                          The Danish!

even better answer....

Yeah... those northern Europeans are the leaders now in wind technology AND also policy... the US-centric approach of some here is understandable but misinformed and misguided.

Maybe they'll be less argumentative if this truth is esposued by Willi... I seem to be quite a polarizing force here.