• Fight time! Portia: I will hand over the baton to younger

Portia: I will hand over the baton to the younger generation
    MARK CUMMINGS, Observer senior reporter cummingsm@jamaicaobserver
    Saturday, July 19, 2008

MONTEGO BAY, St James - In an apparent swipe at her challenger, Dr Peter Phillips, People's National Party (PNP) President Portia Simpson Miller says when she hands over the reins of the party, it will not be to anyone in her age group, but rather someone younger.

"I am in the process of renewal in the PNP and when I hand over the baton it will not be to my generation but to the next generation of young persons of the People's National Party," Simpson Miller told cheering comrades at the North West St James constituency conference at the Montego Bay High School on Thursday night.

Last Sunday, Dr Phillips, 58 - a vice-president of the almost 70-year-old party - announced his intention to make a second bid for the presidency of the organisation at a divisional conference in St Andrew.

Since then, several party stalwarts, including former Cabinet ministers Roger Clarke and Derrick Kellier, have made it clear the challenge was untimely.

Supporters of Dr Phillips have, in recent months, accused the leadership of the PNP of failing to unite the organisation in the wake of its defeat in last year's general elections and after a contentious presidential race in 2006.
    Thursday night the 62-year-old Simpson Miller said she was not to be blamed for the disunity in the party.

"If the party is not united, it is not my fault. I have done everything, even when I am disgraced than embraced," she said.

Phillips' challenge, she said, came at a time when the polls are reflecting that Jamaicans believe that the current Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) administration is grossly incapable of meeting their needs, or allowing them to realise their dreams.

Meanwhile, former PNP general secretary Donald Buchanan said Dr Phillips' challenge for the presidency could take the party on a "dangerous path", as he urged the vice-president to reconsider his decision.

"There is time yet for you to do the right thing, you come from good PNP stock; do the right thing and let the great traditions of this party continue," Buchanan urged.

Noting that the party secretariat is yet to receive an application regarding Dr Phillips' challenge, Buchanan said the "dark cloud hanging over the party can dissipate itself".

"An announcement has been made but no formal application has come forward," he stressed.

This will be good.

Phillips think seh him bad!

Portia might caan run a country or manage a Govt, but she sure as hell can crush any upstart in a ahnd to hand combat.

My money deh pon Portia and her squadron! Release the mechanized infantry Sis P. Dem thing you easy. Them misjudge yuh...no matter even if the "Don" deh pon the odda side...the Donette a guh diss dem!

..and don't draw har tongue

or