• dis sounds like "one don"

Portia: I will hand over the baton to the younger generation
    MARK CUMMINGS, Observer senior reporter cummingsm@jamaicaobserver
    Saturday, July 19, 2008

MONTEGO BAY, St James - In an apparent swipe at her challenger, Dr Peter Phillips, People's National Party (PNP) President Portia Simpson Miller says when she hands over the reins of the party, it will not be to anyone in her age group, but rather someone younger.

"I am in the process of renewal in the PNP and when I hand over the baton it will not be to my generation but to the next generation of young persons of the People's National Party," Simpson Miller told cheering comrades at the North West St James constituency conference at the Montego Bay High School on Thursday night.
    Last Sunday, Dr Phillips, 58 - a vice-president of the almost 70-year-old party - announced his intention to make a second bid for the presidency of the organisation at a divisional conference in St Andrew.
    Since then, several party stalwarts, including former Cabinet ministers Roger Clarke and Derrick Kellier, have made it clear the challenge was untimely.
    Supporters of Dr Phillips have, in recent months, accused the leadership of the PNP of failing to unite the organisation in the wake of its defeat in last year's general elections and after a contentious presidential race in 2006.
    Thursday night the 62-year-old Simpson Miller said she was not to be blamed for the disunity in the party.
    "If the party is not united, it is not my fault. I have done everything, even when I am disgraced than embraced," she said.
    Phillips' challenge, she said, came at a time when the polls are reflecting that Jamaicans believe that the current Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) administration is grossly incapable of meeting their needs, or allowing them to realise their dreams.
    Meanwhile, former PNP general secretary Donald Buchanan said Dr Phillips' challenge for the presidency could take the party on a "dangerous path", as he urged the vice-president to reconsider his decision.
    "There is time yet for you to do the right thing, you come from good PNP stock; do the right thing and let the great traditions of this party continue," Buchanan urged.
    Noting that the party secretariat is yet to receive an application regarding Dr Phillips' challenge, Buchanan said the "dark cloud hanging over the party can dissipate itself".
    "An announcement has been made but no formal application has come forward," he stressed.

Since when is the PNP run like that? What if PJ had said he would hand it over to someone with a brain?!?

Portia needs to step now.

Wait and see what a go happen. There is going to be big divide. The split already happen.

Sad to say but Portia shoulda let some a di ole foot them once she took over, she didn't and now it a haunt her. One thing for sure unnu a go tiad if see sista P face and if she go she will not go quietly.

Bruce shut up Eddie now mek mi see how Phillips a go deal wit this on if him win and how 'poor man" a go tek it.

Portia needs to step now.
        Is what a gwaan yah so from a die-hard Portia supporter.

That's ok...As long as it's not don1

to be gender and politically correct that should be One Donette however.

Exactly! I thought she could have used her popularity to mobilise Jamaicans and better the country. I was wrong. She did not have a clue.

Ta-ta, Portia!

Die-hard?!? Too strong a term, but supporter nonetheless.

As soon as she won the PNP presidency, she should have called an election. There was so much euphoria regarding her rise to power, that the JLP would have been crushed mercilessly at the polls.

She has so much charm, and this charm never got focused into effective leadership.

But why would you want hope to be crushed mercilessly at the polls ?

It is a good thing that she allowed the euphoria to die down.. not good to make decisions while on drugs...

She wasn't even smart enuff for that! Her popularity blinded her and she thought she Jamaica would have continued loving her even as she sat and did nothing!

Remember har big "inauguration" speech bout fighting corruption?! Then why do we have a JUTC that is bleeding us dry?

Portia, PLEASE STEP!

is true after all ...how could i forget that "dis gyal......" is like jlp morph itself into what pnp used to be and vice versa...

Exactly! I thought she could have used her popularity to mobilise Jamaicans and better the country. I was wrong. She did not have a clue.

Ta-ta, Portia!

Die-hard?!? Too strong a term, but supporter nonetheless.
                      In 18 months you claim she had not a clue? Well it is not yet 18 months...it is 9 months and what has smooth talking Brucie done thus far?

Anyway...18 months soon cum?

Mi a mek OBG dem gwaan try a ting.

"If the party is not united, it is not my fault. I have done everything, even when I am disgraced than embraced," she said.
                          "Is not my fault..." - sigh