• Time to go long on watermelon..

... watermelon futures that is.

Watermelon – natural substitute for Viagra

Watermelons could soon force Viagra out of the market. Scientists from Texas A&M University claim the juicy fruit contains ingredients that can relax blood vessels and even increase libido, copying the effects of the famous drug which is used to treat erectile disfunction.
    "The more we study watermelons, the more we realize just how amazing a fruit it is in providing natural enhancers to the human body. We've always known that watermelon is good for you, but the list of its very important healthful benefits grows longer with each study," Dr. Bhimu Patil, director of Texas A&M's Fruit and Vegetable Improvement Center, said.

The main reason behind watermelon’s positive effect on the human body is a naturally occurring bioactive compound, named citrulline, known for its ability to relax blood vessels.

And when watermelon is consumed, citrulline converts into to arginine. This amino acid works on the heart and helps maintain the immune system.

“Watermelon may not be as organ specific as Viagra. But it’s a great way to relax blood vessels without any drug side-effects,” Dr. Bhimu Patil said.

The only hitch is that the largest amount of arginine is contained in the white part of the watermelon rind, which nobody eats.

According to Dr. Bhimu Patil the next step is the artificial selection of a new type of watermelon, which will have more arginine in their red and juicy flesh.

Excellent article!!!

Add cucumber, cantaloupe, honey due melon and any of the edible succulent types of the gourd family. They lower blood pressure. They all have diareutic(sp) properties.

Stands to reason though--anything that normalizes and relaxes blood vessels...will have positive effects on libido.
    Last edited by HL; July 18, 2008, 03:23 PM.

Maybe white Americans will stop making fun of black people loving watermelon now!

HL, yuh tink fried chicken have any Viagra-like effects?

You know, i was just thinking the same.

Eating watermelon (and the fry-chickin')...

I always knew the nutritive value of watermelon--so i looked at the whites as being ignorant.

Water melon helped save black people during slavery.....

As to the finger-lickin'...i am sure there are more plusses dan minuses.

I’m deliberately taking this very important (in my opinion) post by Don1 to the top again. When I first saw the subject line, I didn’t pay the post any attention. Judging by the number of people who read Don1’s excellent post, I was obviously not alone.

While most of us here most likely have no need whatsoever for Viagra, the “silent killer” hypertension is a totally different matter! High blood pressure is not something to be taken lightly by any man or woman, and so information on anything that can help the affected person has to be very important!

HL’s welcome addition of cucumber’s, etc. is also welcome information for those people who might be suffering from high blood pressure.

If you are interested in lowering blood pressure and increasing circulation (blood speed), then you simply MUST consume good quality essentially fatty acids daily. I mean PARENT (non derivative) Omega 3 and Omega 6 in a ratio of 1:2 to 1:1. Ideally organic, cold pressed, virgin seed oils stored in dark glass bottles and kept in the dark (fridge) after opening.

A teaspoon a day will do wonders for you. Old time people knew what they were doing.

I suggest Sunflower or Safflower oil for the Omega 6 and ONLY Linseed (flaxseed) oil for the Omega 3. Other "side" benefits are the staving off of diabetes, cancer and cardio-vascular complications, as well as boosting the immune system and other vital bodily processes.

Check out a book entitled : "The Hidden Story of Cancer" by Brian Peskin.

Don't leave out di good ole GARLIC! Just walk wid yuh moutwash!

what about ginger? there was also something about the combination of honey and cinnamon?

All those are good, but without the special qualities that an EFA sufficient diet brings, you swimming against the tide.