• Respect to the Ras

'A St Mary Me Come From' furnace of giving
    published: Friday | July 18, 2008

Mel Cooke, Freelance Writer

Capleton (right) hugs Haile Selassie High School's Claney Barnett during Tuesday's launch of 'A St Mary Me Come From' show at the ]Jamaica Pegasus, New Kingston. - Anthony Minott/Freelance Photographer
    Deejay Capleton is known as the 'Fireman'. However, on Tuesday evening on Top of the World at the Jamaica Pegasus hotel, New Kingston, more attention was paid to his burning desire for charity work than his onstage pyrotechnics.
    The seventh staging of 'A St Mary Me Come From' is at the Gray's Inn [SportsComplex, Annotto Bay, on Tuesday, August 5.
    Artistes to perform
    Capleton will, of course, be performing, and Beenie Man, Cocoa Tea, Jah Cure, Anthony B, Ninja Man, Richie Spice, I Wayne, Gyptian, Fanton Mojah, Macka Diamond and Munga Honourable are among the many others slated to perform.
    But it was Capleton's charity work which took top billing on Tuesday evening.
    Capleton's manager said 'A St Mary Me Come From' "marks Capleton's contribution to the community", naming the Port Maria Hospital (a new X-ray machine), Islington High School (a computer lab) and the Annotto Bay Hospital ($500,000 to build a waiting area for patients) among past beneficiaries.
    "This year's beneficiaries won't be a long list," she said. They are the Port Maria Primary School, the Port Maria Hospital, the Annotto Bay Hospital, the St Mary [Police Youth Club netball and football teams and a proposed recording studio for the people of St Mary.
    "A lot of artistes have shows, but not everybody has the charitable nature," said Desmond Young, president of the Jamaica Federation of Musicians (JFM). He noted that the process of giving is transparent. And IRIE FM's important]manager Brian Schmidt said that the radio station's continued support of 'A St Mary Me Come From' "is not so much a support of a show for us as support of a good work".
    Claney Barnett of the Haile Selassie High School was enthusiastic in describing how the accessway to the school for the disabled, donated by Capleton, has made a difference. She encouraged other Rastafarian performers to contribute to the institution's welfare.
    Supporting many people
    And the launch's guest speaker, Miguel Lorne, told the gathering about Capleton's support of many persons who have matters before the courts. "'A St Mary Me Come From' has developed into a powerful message. It has developed into a powerful event. It is ]moving to become a philosophy," Lorne said. Currently, the concert is scheduled to end at 2 a.m., in keeping with the Noise Abatement Act, with top performers scheduled to hit the stage at 9:30 p.m., although there are ongoing efforts to get an extension.

How Capleton wrap up inna dem long sleeve khaki suit inna summertime?

That cant beat Beenie man atthe national stadium dressed in full military trench-coat, hat, glasses...the whole works.

I sat there thawing in the blazing sun..inawe of Benie man's winter attire in the very hot summer sun!!!