LOL !! WHOEE !!

Classic..

Jamaica's total installed generating capacity is about 800mw and the Wigton wind facility is rated at about 22-24 mw or so at peak ... meaning that our wind production is at around 3%

Capacity and Actual production are two different concepts.. if yuh need help with english usage I can point you in the right direction..

Jamaica wind production is NOT 3%..

Nice try though.

LOL !! WHOEE !!

Classic..

Jamaica's total installed generating capacity is about 800mw and the Wigton wind facility is rated at about 22-24 mw or so at peak ... meaning that our wind production is at around 3%

Capacity and Actual production are two different concepts.. if yuh need help with english usage I can point you in the right direction..

Jamaica wind production is NOT 3%..

Nice try though.
      Thanks for pointing out my error in wording.... Jamaica's wind CAPACITY represents about 3% of its total generating capacity... happy now??

This attempt of yours to obfuscate your misguided and uninformed critique of the Wigton facility will only amuse the uninitiated and your fellow sycophants however.

The fact remains... using the info you regurgitated from whatever source you consulted... you have confirmed (with my assistance) that Wigton is operating at normal industry levels in terms of production.

Thanks... on behalf of fellow rational forumites!!

You just don't know when to stop Maudib!!! .

I saw the fuzzy math days ago by the 'research' --and figured that i have made my point...

My post was 'hi-jacked' at the onset...

You just don't know when to stop Maudib!!! .

I saw the fuzzy math days ago by the 'research' --and figured that i have made my point...

My post was 'hi-jacked' at the onset...
          As I suspected.. either the uninitiated or resident sycophants will be entertained by this fellow's silly red herrings.
          i wonder which category you fall in.
          BTW I am more than happy to hijack posts with appropriate factual info.

If you wish to quibble about the inconsequential.... that's your right.... knock your self out.

FACT: The US is not a world leader in wind power technology, implementation or policy.... so it's not THE most appropriate place to go to for this technology.

FACT: Jamaica's wind power capacity and production is at a comparable or superior % level when compared with the US.

FACT: Jamaica's wind energy production efficiency is in line with industry standards

FACT: Jamaica has developed a long term energy plan one of whose features is alternative energy... let's see what the current regime does to advance this important issue.

FACT: The US is undecided, imbivalent or unsure about the proper place for alternative energy in it's energy mix.... certain European countries are much further advanced than the US in this area.

As you seemed unaware of any of these facts... further study on the issues would be in order for you.

Was their a question regarding whether or not Wigton was operating at 'normal' industry levels in terms of production ??

Bye the way.. that 1% figure you are quoting.. is that 1% of produced power or 1% of Installed Capacity ?

Actually it is not a fact that Jamaica's wind energy production efficiency is in line with industry standards.

I think one would have to measure the COST of maintaining that 30-35% output....

That is when it gets interesting..

The Jamaican long term 'energy plan' needs serious work before it meets standards required to stimulate serious investment especially in the area of Renewables.. hopefully with the input of Diaspora Intelligentsia or the appropriate 'Farin White Man' it will eventually get there...

By the way the USA is a large country.. what do you think about Califonria Alternative Energy Policy ?

Actually it is not a fact that Jamaica's wind energy production efficiency is in line with industry standards.

I think one would have to measure the COST of maintaining that 30-35% output....

That is when it gets interesting..

The Jamaican long term 'energy plan' needs serious work before it meets standards required to stimulate serious investment especially in the area of Renewables.. hopefully with the input of Diaspora Intelligentsia or the appropriate 'Farin White Man' it will eventually get there...

By the way the USA is a large country.. what do you think about Califonria Alternative Energy Policy ?
                That energy policy is more than 2 years old and has been public info at least since since then.... the JLP energy people have had a long time to make an necessary revisions... and have done nothing... what gives???

Haven't you people been studying this issue for years?? One would have expected positive changes by this point... not vacuous excuses about prior policies and prior shortcomings.

What JLP energy people are you referring tuh ?

'The Diaspora' has given its recommendations.

Let us see what the 'Technocrats' think... or if they can still think after 18 years of termite damage.. or if JPS will even let them think...

Do you think California is undecided, imbivalent or unsure about the proper place for Alternative Energy ??

"The US..."

LOL !

What JLP energy people are you referring tuh ?

'The Diaspora' has given its recommendations.

Let us see what the 'Technocrats' think... or if they can still think after 18 years of termite damage.. or if JPS will even let them think...
                      so the regime is depending on the diaspora to set energy policy?? wow!! ... not good at all.... in fact it's somewhat ludicrous.

surely the JLP in opposition had a team shadowing energy policy and would have had their own prescriptions for the sector... no?

If not this would be a dereliction of duty.
                      Last edited by Don1; July 22, 2008, 12:26 AM.

Do you think California is undecided, imbivalent or unsure about the proper place for Alternative Energy ??

"The US..."

LOL !

when last I checked the US had all of 50 states... California is just one. the US is a laggard in alternative energy... that's widely known.

Who is going to advise the JLP ?

Yuh want them to depend on a local team ???!

LOL !! Comedy Central.

I think the term 'Broad Brush' is applicable right about now...

Should one visit California based on its efforts in Altenative energy or should one evaluate the 'US' as a whole to make that determination ?

Think about that carefully... if you can..

Here is some edumacation for you in the meanwhile:

Natural gas-fired power plants typically account for more than one-half of State electricity generation. California is one of the largest hydroelectric power producers in the United States, and with adequate rainfall, hydroelectric power typically accounts for close to one-fifth of State electricity generation. California’s two nuclear power plants account for almost one-fifth of total generation. Due to strict emission laws, only a few small coal-fired power plants operate in California.

California leads the Nation in electricity generation from nonhydroelectric renewable energy sources. California generates electricity using wind, geothermal, solar, fuel wood, and municipal solid waste/landfill gas resources. A facility known as “The Geysers,” located in the Mayacamas Mountains north of San Francisco, is the largest complex of geothermal power plants in the world, with more than 750 megawatts of installed capacity. California has numerous wind farms in five major wind resource areas, and several new projects are currently under construction. The world’s largest solar power facility operates in California’s Mojave Desert. Two southern California utilities are planning to build new solar farms, a 500-megawatt facility in the Mojave Desert and a 300-megawatt plant in the Imperial Valley. These proposed plants would dwarf existing U.S. solar generation capacity. To further boost renewable energy use, California’s Energy Action Plan includes incentives that encourage Californians to install solar power systems on their rooftops.
                            Last edited by Muadib; July 22, 2008, 01:35 AM.

Who is going to advise the JLP ?

Yuh want them to depend on a local team ???!

LOL !! Comedy Central.

It is comedy central if you are depending on the diaspora for critical advice on alternative energy... no wonder nothing new has been done!

There was just a diaspora conference in Kingston... did the GOJ get any great ideas or tips there??

Disapora and diaspora boondoggle, umm I mean conference are 2 different things!

The tea and biscuit fete is not the same as approching external Jakans with CRITICAL knowledge and world class experience and contacts.

For one thing, I have contacts one step removed that extend waaaaayyy up into the top echelons of UK politics. I also had contacts that were in the forfront of certain aspects of bio-technology. And this is just likkle old me.