Mosiah, This is how i see wind power

What is the Wigton facility delivering ?

Yeah! Like I'm going to spend my Saturday researching that for you.

Avg 7 MW..

It helps to do basic research before making comparative statements...

Just my 2 cents..

Do you know what the American facilities are delivering?

That is your job.. you are making the comparative....

Get tuh work !

I was making the comparison? All yuh do, try nuh mix up me and HL.

"Jamaica's total installed generating capacity is about 800mw and the Wigton wind facility is rated at about 22-24 mw or so at peak ... meaning that our wind production is at around 3%... ahead of the US % wise... plans are in place to double the capacity at Wigton."

You claimed wind production was 3% and that it is ahead of the US..

One would presume you have the production numbers...

But who knows, knowledge of the facts may not be part of the Banana Republic model..

I made that claim? Your school may not be as good as you think!

Oh.. one fool mek many..

Careful who yuh decide to quote when yuh bringing argument..

Is how much times yuh waan through Boy Wonder under di buss ?

LOL !! WHOEEE !

2-4 years ago the US had only 1% of generating capacity from Wind.

I have the catalog from the big Wind Energy Congress with those figures. In fact I had the email addy from a contact therein case anyone wanted it.

Denmark is the tech leader on wind turbine engineering. Spain is where most farms are being built.

HL wants to know where in the US is Denmark?

What is the avg cost per kilowatt hour in the USA ?

What is it in Jamaica ?

Dunno

It is about 3:1

I figure one ah dem have a biggah incentive and business case for alternatives...

Re: Hot air from a windbag...

Avg 7 MW..

It helps to do basic research before making comparative statements...

Just my 2 cents..
                                ... Ignorance allied with hubris is a hell of a thing.

7mw is just about the industry standard for a Wigton - sized plant.

this fellow will never learn

WIND ENERGY FAST FACTS
                                Wind energy generating capacity installed, U.S.: 16,818 MW (end of 2007)
                                Wind energy generating capacity, worldwide: 94,112 MW (end of 2007, Global Wind Energy
                                Council).
                                Electricity generated from wind, U.S: An estimated 48 billion kWh in 2008
                                2 (just over 1% of
                                U.S. electricity supply), enough to serve the equivalent of 4.5 million average U.S.
                                households.
                                Amount of carbon dioxide (CO
                                2) emitted if that amount of power were generated from the
                                average U.S. electricity fuel mix: 29 million tons, according to the U.S. Energy Information
                                Agency. Over 17,000 square miles of forest would be needed to absorb that much CO
                                Carbon dioxide is the leading gas associated with global warming.
                                U.S. wind energy potential: Estimated at 10,777 billion kWh annually—more than twice the
                                electricity generated in the U.S. today (Source: Pacific Northwest Laboratory).
                                Industry growth rate, U.S.: 29% average over last five years (year-end 2002 – 2007).
                                Average American homes served by one megawatt of wind capacity: 250-300.
                                "Double cropping" benefit for rural communities: A single, utility-scale wind turbine provides
                                $3,000/year per megawatt or more in income to a landowner leasing his wind rights.
                                Farmers continue to grow crops up to the base of the turbines located on their land.
                                Operating characteristics of a wind turbine: A wind turbine runs 60% to 80% of the time, and
                                operates at its full rated power output level 10% of the time. On an average day, it generates
                                30% to 35% of what it would generate if it ran at full power all the time.

Efficiency characteristics of a wind turbine: Wind has one of the highest energy payback
                                ratios of any power technology. Energy Payback Ratios (EPR) compare the amount of
                                energy produced by a power plant to the amount of energy it takes to build, run, and
                                eventually decommission that plant. The more efficient the technology, the higher the EPR.

Source for data is AWEA unless otherwise indicated.

Using an estimated capacity factor of 33%

Note: This characteristic is a function of economic design. It would be possible but inefficient and more costly to design wind
                                turbines with a very small generator and large blades resulting in a high "capacity factor" but feeble electricity production).

Fusion Technology Institute, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI.

Leading states in capacity installed, U.S.:
                                # 1 – Texas 4.356 MW
                                # 2 – California 2,439 MW
                                # 3 – Minnesota 1,299 MW
                                # 4 – Iowa 1,273 MW
                                # 5 – Washington 1,163 MW
                                (as of 12/31/2007)
                                Largest wind farms, operating, U.S.:
                                # 1 – Horse Hollow, Texas 736 MW
                                # 2 – Sweetwater. Texas 585 MW
                                # 3 – Peetz Table, Colorado 401 MW
                                # 4 – Capricorn Ridge, Texas 364 MW
                                # 5 – Buffalo Gap, Texas 351 MW
                                (as of 12/31/2007)