Mosiah, This is how i see wind power

if yuh seh suh boss...then it must be true! gwa'an wid yuh likkle "merrycan self" ...but still yuh muss purge yuhself of all the bittaness whey yuh have inside a yuh..... OUT evil spirit!!!

do a likkle bit of history before yuh spew next...just a little.

which itself is not to be confused with a windbag!

I promise to do a likkle history --if you try to contain yourself on topics that are serious...

Bruce contributed with an excellent piece on solar energy. There was absolutely no interest (from the forum) in the practical solutions the article presented.

I think it was Hortikal who jokingly ax Mosiah if the Munro wind project is self sustaining...

Mosiah with his 'short' fuse--immediately ignited...asking the man if he is a yank (or something to that effect).

Not good.

Oh? Is that what Hortikal (sic) said? I recall he made some yanklike joke about Munro's wind turbine being powerful enuff to run an iPod. Yes, he meant it as a joke, but it's the typical yank joke I have grown very tired of.

I ignited?!? A bun yuh waan bun mi out? Mi cool like a Kern Spencer bulb.

yeh...that was a low blow ... (the iPod joke).

But still, you mussen like beet-up everyone that run a likke joke.

Yuh bigger dan-dat.

Me?!? Yuh see me a beat up anybody?

If they had a Mr. Congeniality award for this Forum I would have to retire the trophy.

Hortical criss. Him just a likkle badmind.

Article - Exisiting Wind Farm In Wisconsin

Madison Gas & Electric

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin. Hold your left hand out in front of you. Kewaunee County is the middle knuckle on your thumb.

17 wind turbines, 660 kilowatts each (98% availability, 23% capacity)

23 million kilowatts per year, enough for 3,300 homes

Average wind speed : 13-14 mph
                Cut-In Speed: 9 mph
                Cut-Off Speed: 56 mph

Total Cost: USD $14.5 million

Article Source:
                Madison Gas & Electric http://www.mge.com/environment/wind

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
                  Hold your left hand out in front of you. Kewaunee County is the middle knuckle on your thumb.
                  Funny stuff!

Hold Your Left Hand Out: It's True

Funny stuff!
                    "Hold your left hand out": is a standing joke in Wisconsin. If you hold your left hand out and look at the back of your left hand, it resembles a map of Wisconsin.

Kewaunee County, site of the aforementioned wind turbine project, and Door County, to the northeast, make up the middle knuckle and tip of the thumb, respectively. Those two counties are the peninsula that juts out into Lake Michigan.

Green Bay, as in Packers, is where the thumb and index finger come together. Milwaukee is the outside part of the thumb, an inch above the wrist.

Chicago is your bummbboooclawwwtt.

Mi ago put mi fan pon mi house top.

A little research would serve you well

Boy don't be a bloody simpleton!!

Of course not on the scale as the US -- or even Texas for that matter.

While Jamaica can learn from the US in wind power... the USA is not particularly a world leader in this technology or its application. The US produces just over 1% of its generating capacity from wind.
                        Jamaica's total installed generating capacity is about 800mw and the Wigton wind facility is rated at about 22-24 mw or so at peak ... meaning that our wind production is at around 3%... ahead of the US % wise... plans are in place to double the capacity at Wigton.

Jamaica needs to look more closely at the experience of Scandanavian and other northern European countries... more than at the US experience... the US is a laggard in wind power and alternative energy implementation.

My point is: Jamaica needs to establish a long term energy policy. Wind power is one excellent alternative that could/should be maximized.

Jamaica has long term energy policy:
                        http://www.mct.gov.jm/Energy%20Green%20Paper.pdf

What is needed is greater political will to implement fundamental change.

The attempt at Munro is good (and a first step) but not good enough.
                        The Munro project is an exceptionally innovative local initiative ... but as discussed above is not the only attempt at addressing wind energy.

Jamaica's total installed generating capacity is about 800mw and the Wigton wind facility is rated at about 22-24 mw or so at peak ... meaning that our wind production is at around 3%... ahead of the US % wise... plans are in place to double the capacity at Wigton.

HL's calling is to highlight Jamaica's negatives. Meanwhile, he believes the USA is No. 1 in everything.

sigh

yuh have a nerve ... with a little bit of research you would not have been posting such nonsense......ah di bittaniss!!!!

as i said ... to subterannean levels!

Bruce, this is another example of what I am talking about.

You are a regular visitor to jamaica. You know well that two things jamaica has a lot of is sun and constant wind ('specially along the shore).

Half the homes should have solar panels....

This island should be among the leader in alternative energy.
                              Working on it!

Green Toilet Paper.. hmm, at least it sounds environmentally friendly..

A bigger joke is the OUR RFP for Renewable Energy...