How can you steal a beach with discovery?

• How can you steal a beach with discovery?

This one beats the load of ganja that was placed on air jamaica that according to US customs could be smelt a 100m away.

Who would want to steal a beach?

Thursday, July 17, 2008

The theft of an estimated 500 truckloads of sand, an entire beach, as reported on our front page today, would shake even the most stout-hearted developer. It is almost unthinkable.
    Excuse us while we empathise with the group of local and overseas investors who were willing to put up US$109 million, or J$8 billion, to develop a property at Coral Spring, near Duncans in the northwestern parish of Trelawny.
    We too would want to know who would need this much sand - white sand which cannot be used for construction purposes. Unless someone can come up with a better suggestion, we are also inclined to think that some hotel developer is who would have an interest in that volume of sand.
    Whoever it is, one thing is certain: there was no thought for the people of Trelawny who stand to benefit from a development which, in phase one alone, promised 36 six-star, luxury villas with spa, restaurant, amphitheatre and marina. This is a dastardly deed.
    The developers have been forced to stop all plans surrounding phase one of the project because the prime asset of the development - the beach - has been destroyed.
    We are also told that the extensive high-level marketing and promotion plans for the international marketplace have also been put on hold with immediate effect.
    Prime Minister Bruce Golding's orders to get a thorough and immediate investigation going must be followed up with the greatest of dispatch. That quantity of sand cannot be easily hidden.
    It is also certain that no small developer can remove 500 truckloads of sand. That therefore eliminates nearly all commercial activities, except for the hotel sector. It is hard to believe that any Jamaican could be involved in such a rape of the environment.
    We suggest that the police begin immediately to examine all hotel projects and developers currently in operation in Jamaica and those who are planning future construction.
    While the Island Special Constabulary Force, which handles sand-mining problems in Jamaica is to be involved, the intelligence arm of the Jamaica Constabulary Force must also be mobilised to solve this one.
    The people of Trelawny are an invaluable source of information, and we suspect that there are many who saw the illegal sand-mining activities. This was no tiny fly-by-night operation. It is the people of Trelawny who will most be deprived of a potential livelihood that could come from such an extraordinary development.
    We also hope that the investigators will draw on the expertise of our environmentalists who have a fuller understanding of the crime against nature that has taken place and might be able to give valuable suggestions in tracking down the culprits.
    As difficult as it is, we further hope that this wicked and terrible act on the part of cynical persons would not bring an end to this dream that offered so much potential for good.

Felicitas Limited, the consortium developing the project, must not be allowed to die because of the avarice of a few whose motivation is greed, the lust for easy money and the wanton destruction of what is good about Jamaica.

In Jamaica at that ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

ANYWHERE.....an entire beach? whey dem duh move it one teaspoon at a time?

Dis Nightmare serious..

The Diaspora is only hiding a festering sore with their prop up efforts..

I understand this was a weekend operation...

Yuh tink wi easy ?

blood fire.. a man come talk bout driver license... where is lazie

500 Truckloads in one weekend? That mean it did not go very far!

or dem had 500 trucks on standby...btw memba when dem did dump di street people?

No crime committed.

The man dem get permit so what is the big deal?

More People would know

or dem had 500 trucks on standby...btw memba when dem did dump di street people?
                    Yep - I remember something to do with Mo Bay and Police

More drivers mean more people know about it.

Somebody must remember this excessive truck activity.

Permit from who?

who remember the "rumor" that the JLP dumped 12 years worth of zinc which we got as donation after Gilbert? Yuh tink we easy. A nuh only inna Africa self-serving parasites whey call themselves politicians deh.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

who remember the "rumor" that the JLP dumped 12 years worth of zinc which we got as donation after Gilbert? Yuh tink we easy. A nuh only inna Africa self-serving parasites whey call themselves politicians deh.
                          Was it true Jangle? OR as you stated, it was just a rumour?

Well, like most crime in Jamaica, it was never solved. It was said that the One Don was bitter after losing at the polls after Gilbert. He could not believe that he could lose after being so involved in the cleanup. Anyway it's just hearsay.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

them also accuse the other party of stealing the zincs as well.