historian

Yes, that was Roland Burrell and his partner Dakin from Nelson Rd off Maxfield Avenue. I think though that Burrell was originally from Port Maria.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

What an awful chune dat was!

Yes, Fred Locks wrote and sang the original. I can't recall if any other artist covered that song.

Johnny Clarke had a some songs which kinda/somewhat sound like Black Starliner. Remember these: None Shall Escape The Judgment In This Time;
        Move Out Of Babylon Rastaman; & Them Never Love Poor Marcus?
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

yes Hugh Griffiths had one too, too different songs. Thanks.

OK thanks. I remember Roland Burrells "Johnny Dollar" but don't remember any of his other songs.

Back then in the 70's, when Glen was skinny bredrin with a Jackson-5 Afro, and singing out of the High Life Club in Spain Town, he did a song with these words:

We've come a long way
              battered and bruised every day yeah
              Shackled and chained
              only dignity remained but
              we gonna make it anyway

Glen now lives in Ft Lauderdale and does music more like a hobby than a career. Yes, back then he was also a competent drummer.

yeah...maybe that is why i'm mixing them up....

JC also went to JC by the way... always loved too sing.

pr

maybe das why mi did mix it up with hugh mundell......?

he still lives in ja?

Yep, I knew about his JC connection too. Back in his day I had a coz (a trackstar 100 & 200 that you guys likely called Bolton) who used to tell me that Clarke was a student there.