Derrick Smith falls to class prejudice??

• Derrick Smith falls to class prejudice??

Derrick Smith speaks
    Wednesday, 16 July 2008

The Minister of Mining and Telecommunications, Derrick Smith has broken his silence about the circumstances under which he was removed from his previous portfolio of National Security.

Mr. Smith, fresh from extensive medical treatment overseas sat down last week with RJR's Earl Moxam, where he revealed his pain and disappointment with his party's handling of his illness.

It was a leaner, but healthier Derrick Smith who sat down to talk about his controversial removal from the Security Portfolio.

He said he was caught off guard by the announcement in early June that he was being replaced by Colonel Trevor MacMillan.

Mr. Smith says he first learned of the proposal after being summoned by the Prime Minister one Saturday morning.

"He broke the news that he was under tremendous pressure- he didn't expand as to where the pressure was coming from- but he was under tremendous pressure and he would have to remove me as Minister of National Security," said Mr. Smith.

"We had further discussions, I asked him who he had in mind to replace me. He mentioned...I reinforce the point that individuals change...and I left with the understanding that the issue would be put before Cabinet on Monday morning but of course it was obviously leaked,"

He says he and his family were caught completely off-guard when newspaper headlines blared news of his replacement.

"I was very hurt. I came home, I discussed it with my family and they were very hurt because the buck stops with the Prime Minister and I am not questioning his right to make a decision and he has made a decision which I am forced to accept,"

The regret in his voice comes from the fact that Derrick Smith spent 14 years understudying the Security portfolio in Opposition, but only had 14 good weeks in the portfolio, before being booted.

He alludes to other factors at play such as class prejudice.

"I feel it [class prejudice], I feel it. I have been out there and I hear the comments and I get the calls...I wouldn't dispute it," he said quietly.

Despite this he insists he is not bitter, especially given the severity of his diabetes and the long road to recovery that still lies ahead.

"It's bittersweet really. Bitter in that I had been taken away, the sweet aspect of it is that it is a very high stressed job and in order to do you best you have to be on the ball. In my condition that is now exposed it might in the long run prove beneficial to me," he said.

Mr. Smith leaves the island again Thursday for follow treatments.

Him nuh know seh Black Man Time dun ???

Black represents a class?? This is JLP-think I suppose

Heh, heh.. look like yuh and him tink seh is a 'Class' issue..

Yuh tink is di PNP dis ?

Heh, heh.. look like yuh and him tink seh is a 'Class' issue..

That is only what we tell unnuh in public...
          I don't think anything re this Smith issue ... I just post the report of what the fellow stated.

You JLP types see black as synonymous with class?

as I've said... no wonder Jamaicans can't stomach these pretenders for too long.

We only use 'Class' as a euphemism..

Those 14 years ...should've counted for something, I hope bruce knows something I don't, otherwise holding a popularity contest as the mean for appointment..is anything but progress.
              Did anything come out of the TG fiasco,...any news on the audit of FINSAC?

Blessed

We only use 'Class' as a euphemism..
                oh I see... thanks for the insight.

Those 14 years ...should've counted for something, I hope bruce knows something I don't, otherwise holding a popularity contest as the mean for appointment..is anything but progress.
                  Did anything come out of the TG fiasco,...any news on the audit of FINSAC?

Blessed
                  according to recently gleaned info (see above) .... perhaps those 14 years are discounted because Smith is the wrong colour... or is that class?

unnu interested inna crime fighting or politics?

Derrick Smith was on his sick bed when the country needed him most and Bruce had no choice but to put a proven crime fighter in the position. It is not like Smith was doing a wonderful job as most here on the forum was calling for his head on day one.

It is always easy to say Blackman get fight gainst but even Smith himself have to agree that the stress was not good for him. The question is did the taxing security job made his illness worst?

Excellent Point, Assasin!!!

Excellent point, Assasin!

To add to the very sensible things you said, on the one hand we were screaming our heads off at the intolerably high levels of violent crime in Jamaica and the seeming inability (outright failure) of the Minister of National Security to address in any meaningful way whatsoever this problem. (Remember, he was shadow minister for almost two decades and should have had a better grasp of ways of addressing this vexing problem).

Now that the apparently sensible thing was done to remove a non-performing minister, and we cloud the central issue with crapping crap about “class” in Jamaica!

Sometimes I’m amazed at the pettiness and hijacking that passes off for serious discussion here!

Who brought up the class issue?

The question is who tried to make a big thing about the "class issue?"

As me say unnu intersted inna crime or politics?

Class and race a the first thing come a we mouth when we get drop, but we can all look at Smith performance and see he was over his head from day one. The question is should Bruce had kept a traditional labourite in a position who is no performing because he is black?

I don't see Ed Bartlett or Pearnel Charles been demoted. When Brown man Chuck was not given his desired position, it was given to Black Woman, was that about race and class too?

Regarding this case, or the overall JLP makeup?

I will forever make a big deal of the latter. Kill mi dead!