• Opposition dismisses JUTC corruption allegations

Wednesday, 16 July 2008

Opposition spokesman on Transport Robert Pickersgill says some allegations of corruption at the Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) made by the Golding administration are baseless.
    Speaking at his Post Sectorial debate Press conference on Wednesday morning, Mr. Pickersgill said although when he left office there were some problems at the JUTC, they were not as grave as depicted by Transport Minister, Mike Henry.

The Opposition spokesman said no evidence has been presented to prove that the bus company was riddled with corruption as claimed by the Jamaica Labour Party administration.
    He said although the JUTC had some problems steps were taken under his watch to have these solved.
    He added that one of the problems that existed was that of shoddy collection practises and as a result monitors were employed to aid with this problem.

However, Mr. Pickersgill said as soon as the JLP took control of the ministry these persons were dismissed.
    He added that the promises made to transform the JUTC have not yet come to reality.
    "This man makes up his facts by his imagination. As I said yesterday he is an enigma wrapped up in a puzzle. He has brought in nothing and he has come with nothing new, not one thing new and I defy him and everybody to tell me what new thing he has brought there. He has inherited a great legacy, unlike Air Jamaica, the JUTC did not get the subsidies it so much deserved so who is worse off now," he said.

Mr. Pickersgill continued, questioning why police were not brought in to probe these allegations of corruption at the bus company.
    "Is one of the biggest companies in Jamaica and yes some of the fleet is down and yes you have to trim it down. All of that is agreed, it is just a matter of how. Don't give the country the impression that all of them are thieves and vagabonds and corruption, corruption. Where is the evidence," he said.
    He also criticised the JLP administration for its redundancy process saying that under his watch the exercise was being done on a phased basis, but under the JLP several employees were sent home in one go.

"He has inherited a great legacy"

Wait .. Wrong Jungle and Don1 a get hypnotized by the same con man?

"He has inherited a great legacy"

Wait .. Wrong Jungle and Don1 a get hypnotized by the same con man?
      you are such an immature child.

Pickersgill makes a couple salient points... if the agency was rife with fraud and corruption... why not bring in the Fraud Squad? Haven't they had enough time to gather the evidence and charge the perpetrators?

Could this be another JLP storm in a teacup?

Instead of this incessant prattle about misdeeds ... the nation deserves the corrupt to be charged, tried and if found guilty... the requisite punishment applied.

Why can't this regime deliver that?
      Last edited by Don1; July 17, 2008, 12:37 AM.

How could there possibly be fraud at the JUTC ??

LOL !! WHOEE !!

How could there possibly be fraud at the JUTC ??

LOL !! WHOEE !!
          Very possibly there is... as in most aspects of Jamaican business... question is .... why can't you blowhards find the corrupt and prosecute them.

Remember... you guys are in power now... not in opposition. Stop talking and act for a change.

Heh, heh.. that is like killing roaches by slow strangulation..

Get real... Bobby 'P' have yuh like eediat...

JUTC, the great legacy...

LOL !!!

you are such an immature child.

Pickersgill makes a couple salient points... if the agency was rife with fraud and corruption... why not bring in the Fraud Squad? Haven't they had enough time to gather the evidence and charge the perpetrators?

Could this be another JLP storm in a teacup?

Instead of this incessant prattle about misdeeds ... the nation deserves the corrupt to be charged, tried and if found guilty... the requisite punishment applied.

Why can't this regime deliver that?
              you guys are in power now... not in opposition. Stop talking and act for a change
              Don1, you've once again proven that with you people ... one fool lead many.

Wrong Jungle is simply trying to look good ... but with groupies like you .. him nuh affi try too hard.

Time yuh start paying attention to the news instead of being Wrong Jungle's flag man. JUTC losses were cut by how much prior to Chambers' death? Suh because the police wasn't called in, there was no corruption? What dem teach unuh at the PNP recruitment?
              1. Statistically, conductors at the Portmore, Spanish Town and Rockfort depots did not report for work for 5,704 hours between January and April 2008. During the same period they reported sick for 16,298 hours or a total of 22,000 hours.
                Drivers at these facilities either did not report for duty or called in sick for a total of 32,656 hours over the corresponding period. The result of this level of absenteeism was that the company between April and October 2007 paid $140,721,222 for overtime salaries. Average monthly cost was running at over $20 million. Chambers, with his mandate reduced that to $37,940,647 between November 2007 and March 2008. Monthly costs plummeted to just over $7 million. That was good for the books but it triggered bitterness and hatred among some workers. (Guess its not just the workers add Pickgersill and him flag man Don1 to the list.)
              2. The old system was open to abuse as $15 tickets were sold as $50 tickets and since passengers on most occasions, don’t ask for tickets, this assisted in compromising the system.
              3. "I recently discovered a special arrangement whereby three UAWU delegates who were contracted as bus conductors and drivers never worked in that capacity for at least two years, yet were receiving over three times their salaries," Douglas told the Sunday Observer in an exclusive interview last week.

"I immediately took measures to cut this off but was emphatically told by the UAWU that I could not do so ..."

The second employee, an articulated bus driver, whose annual gross salary is $562,000, picked up $1.724 million between January and November this year by claiming overtime for 23.5 hours in a working day which, in effect, meant that he slept, rested and conducted the affairs of his life in the remaining half-hour of a 24-hour day.
              Gwaan wave yuh flag Don1.

Can you call in fraud squad pon the conductors who a steal money on a daily basis? This is widespread.

Can you call in fraud squad from people taking too much sick leave? and as a group taking advantage.

Can you calling fraud squad to all the politcal people on the payroll?

The fact is there to be seen and Pickersgill had no problem with the JUTC losing millions while he was in power.

Where were his solution to the problems he encounter and how long was it going to take to fix it?

i guess there is the possibility that there is no fraud at JUTC.....

Such a shining legacy should not be carelessly denigrated !!

The Great Bobby P would NEVER allow such activities to occur unchecked under his watch.. and if you don't believe me ask Don1 !

Don1..should be renamed the BLIND1..to **************** !!

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                        Don1..should be renamed the BLIND1..to **************** !!
                        It too close to being called Blinds. Don't want nuh one to harm themself.