Air Jamaica still racking up high losses

• Air Jamaica still racking up high losses

Finance Minister Audley Shaw told Parliament on Tuesday that the national airline, Air Jamaica, suffered an US$84.5 million loss between January and May this year.

Air Jamaica recorded a $29 million loss during the October to December quarter and $55 million over the following five months.

Responding to questions tabled by Opposition Spokesman on Finance Dr. Omar Davies, Mr. Shaw admitted that $9.6 million of the total losses was incurred from the lease of two A340 aircraft.

Mr. Shaw says the first quarter losses were covered by proceeds from a Bear Stearns bond and US$20 million from PetroCaribe.

Some of the money from the bond as well as tax credits from suppliers were used to cover Air Jamaica's losses between January and May.

Dem cyaan get rid a dis soon enough fi me. If dem nuh divest it by MArch ... just lock it down. 5HIT!!!!

I better go pay mi taxes so I can help prop up dis crap.

taxes?

jamaican pay taxes?

No only wealthy returning residence do.

I dunno. Ask Leona Hemsley. Ooops, you can't. Ask Wesley Snipes.

Don't ramp with the IRS...

them owe Jamaican taxes? Audley know this?

Wherever Caesar exists, pay him!

Yuh tek it outa mi mout Maudib.

Don't sheggg wid the IRS...

Example you ask Mosiah?

How about Wesley Snipes and Miss Helmsley who used to own empire state building.............

No Taxation without representation....

Lost me! Reading is overrated, you say.

...not difficult to lose you nor what's his name from over suh.

If find both of you visceral and impulsive in your thought process.

reading is indeed overrated.

chussss mi
                          Last edited by HL; July 16, 2008, 05:35 PM.