• in defense of mosiah...

Magnitude 3.9 quake jolts island

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

THE Earthquake Unit at the University of the West Indies says that Sunday's quake, which was felt at approximately 8:07 pm, measured 3.9 magnitude on the European Macroseismic Scale.
    The quake, which was felt in and around St Andrew and as far as Clarendon, Linstead and Riversdale in St Catherine, occurred near the north-east boundary of the city of Kingston and had a focal depth of 13 kilometres and intensities of between three and four.
    "Indications are that the areas located directly above the shallow focus event could have experienced intensities as high as five," the Earthquake Unit said in a release.

So what's the difference between "European Seismic Scale" and "the Richter scale"?, the latter being the one I ususally hear referred to with respect to earthquakes. Are they the same? Is it like Fahrenheit and Centigrade?

pr

one measure magnitude (Richter)
      the other intensity in a specific geographical region (EMS)

Thanks. I'll look it up. You never too old to learn.

pr

btw magnitude is the amount of changing energy in the course of the earthquake
          and intensity is the effect at a specific place

Thanks again bredrin. It would appear then for a man in Kingston as opposed to MoBay the intensity scale is more meaningful (as long as we have the facility to provide separate readings of course).
            Last edited by Peter R; July 16, 2008, 11:51 AM.

My point was simply the untimely way an official report of the earthquake was made.

The most official announcement of the incident ( I have seen) is the report above.

Normally for earthquakes and other natural phenomenon--the "approprite agency" would make a formal announcement.

Das why i figure the Seismic machine in Jamaica mus-be not werkin'

ok .. so when was the official report made pray tell? it seems that YOUR ability to see it seems to be the test of whether it was timely or not!

yuh devolving 'pon RAPID now!

yeah...i am in the bizniz of time.....

Information is important (to some folks).

ok good.....so when was the OFFICIAL report done.

I aslo understand that the Rickety Scale is sort of old stuff now and there are newer measuring systems around. True?

Not sure if I understand the difference as you have described. Does that mean we should now get two readings?

..reading is overated...

nuff said.....like I said a steady downward spiral.......

Dat scale sound shaky.