• Sandals: Sun, Sand and... Sewage??

Sandals under sewage discharge probe in St Ann
    published: Tuesday | July 15, 2008

Gareth Manning, Staff Reporter
    THERE COULD be more trouble brewing for another Sandals resort.
    Officials at the National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA) have said investigations are under way over allegations of a discharge from the Sandals Dunn's River hotel in Mammee Bay, St Ann, into the marine environment.
    The Gleaner was informed recently that in late April, what was believed to be sewage was observed on a beach close to another major all-inclusive hotel. A NEPA officer was called in and subsequently confirmed that the beach had, in fact, been contaminated.
    Sandals' director of commu-nications Rachel McLarty told The Gleaner that while the resort chain has been aware of ongoing issues about water quality in Mammee Bay for years, she did not know of an investigation involving Sandals.
    She said a recent independent review of its sewage system has, so far, not shown any malfunction.
    Issue with squatters
    "What we have, so far, is that there may be an issue with the the (squatter) settlement which is across from the property and there might also be a problem with the Government sewage plant at Steer Town, which is to the east of Sandals Dunn's River," she said.
    Sandals is already in an imbroglio with NEPA after the agency discovered that Sandals Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay had gone ahead with plans to construct a block of 18 rooms without acquiring an environmental permit.
    Sandals claimed it did nothing wrong because it was given permission by the St James Parish Council to commence construction in December last year. It said it was never told by NEPA that it needed an environmental permit until five months after it started construction.
    However, Mayor of Montego Bay Charles Sinclair said the parish council had only granted an outline planning approval to the hotel. Such an application, he explained, is given only when a basic outline of the project is submitted by the developer. Outline applications do not attract the full planning application fee, and approval for those applications is usually granted on condition that a detailed application is made subsequently. "All the drawings are in the (parish) council I know, and they are awaiting some NEPA considerations," Sinclair told The Gleaner.

Nuhbody nah hear whe mi a say. How long now mi talk bout dis? Where is the investigative journalism that the Newsletter is rated so highly rated?

I guess you dont have to be spanish to violate local laws and enviornmental policies ...

Nuhbody nah hear whe mi a say. How long now mi talk bout dis? Where is the investigative journalism that the Newsletter is rated so highly rated?
        Stop being stupid.....no wait sorry, how are you going to accomplish that......try to stop being stupid......no wait....damn it......in your manifest and inglorious stupidity please try to understand that sandals does not dispose of sewage illegally.
        Some of the Spanish hotels do though. That is manifestly clear. It would be wise for you to spend your time talking about that instead of foolishly pursuing your petty and inconsequential haranguing of Butch the man and his company. It is .....well....stupid.

Well, somebody is doing it and "somebody" should be exposed and made to pay, whoever somebody is. That is the issue. RIU, Sandals, the squatters, the sewage plant... all potential sources should be investigated and the dumping fixed. End of story

pr

Yuh know someting called Riverton Dump ??

Comment... I would tell you to go ph.u.ck yourself, but I won't!

Just follow the developments in the newspapers other than the Newsletter. I guess yuh going to tell me that the problem with NEPA is a myth too, huh?

how di hell dat come een?

And it might not be intentional but it doesn't matter. Fix it and stop trying to cover up stuff and expose it only when it happens to a competitor.

Who would think is only the Spanish can create an environmental hazard ????

We are a Banana Republic.. so by definition...

Who should fix what ???

Who is making the allegation ?

NEPA ???

Reading is overrated....

Di same people who allegated against Riu.

It shall all be revealed.

I hope so for your sake.

LOL !