❏ Beenie, Mavado and Ninja banned before Sumfest
The three have been blacklisted by several of the upscale hotels, THE STAR has learnt.
"The indiscipline displayed by some of these artistes is the reason we don't want them on our property," one hotelier told THE STAR. "They show up with more people than we have reservations for and, in many cases, refuse to provide any form of identification for their entourage."
Security risks
One manager went as far as to say that some of the dancehall acts have become security risks.
"In one case, an artiste showed up here with a busload of 30 people last year, some of them cutting up weed in the middle of our lobby."
The source said that artistes Morgan Heritage, Anthony B, Beres Hammond, Etana, Tarrus Riley and Wayne Marshall are welcome to his property because they are respectful of other guests and the facility that houses them.
It is not the first time that resorts in the tourism capital have taken these drastic measures. Years ago, Ninja Man was banned from the El Greco resort and the Jamaica Pegasus. Other artistes such as US rapper Da Brat have also been blacklisted in the past.
Alarmed by the decision, Ninja Man's booking agent, Isaiah Laing of Supreme Promotions, said he didn't feel it was necessary for such a decision at this time. "Had it been two years ago, I could understand, but the Ninja I know is a changed man. He has reformed considerably since the introduction of his common-law wife Wendy into his life.
"He is much more responsible and conducts himself professionally, so it would be good if they could reconsider."
When THE STAR spoke to Ninja Man, he said he had never stayed in the hotel that had blacklisted him so he couldn't understand why that decision was taken. "Mi nuh stay a dem deh kinda hotel, mi is a memba a di Riu family and only up to date hotel mi stay inna. If Sumfest wah me fi perform, dem must put mi up inna place wah mi accustom to."
Embarrassed
Beenie Man, who returned to the island from a show in Barbados on Sunday, was shocked by the news. "I am very disappointed, slightly embarrassed by it. It is not like we ever left the hotel with any unsettled bills," said Rohan Smith, Beenie Man's manager.
According to Smith, he needed to get to the bottom of the situation, because he wasn't aware of what was driving the stance taken by the resort.
At press time, Mavado was reportedly delayed in Nassau, Bahamas, where he performed last weekend, and efforts to get a comment from Summerfest Productions, organisers of the annual reggae festival, proved futile.
'If Sumfest wah me fi perform, dem must put mi up inna place wah mi accustom to.'
The three have been blacklisted by several of the upscale hotels, THE STAR has learnt.
"The indiscipline displayed by some of these artistes is the reason we don't want them on our property," one hotelier told THE STAR. "They show up with more people than we have reservations for and, in many cases, refuse to provide any form of identification for their entourage."
Security risks
One manager went as far as to say that some of the dancehall acts have become security risks.
"In one case, an artiste showed up here with a busload of 30 people last year, some of them cutting up weed in the middle of our lobby."
The source said that artistes Morgan Heritage, Anthony B, Beres Hammond, Etana, Tarrus Riley and Wayne Marshall are welcome to his property because they are respectful of other guests and the facility that houses them.
It is not the first time that resorts in the tourism capital have taken these drastic measures. Years ago, Ninja Man was banned from the El Greco resort and the Jamaica Pegasus. Other artistes such as US rapper Da Brat have also been blacklisted in the past.
Alarmed by the decision, Ninja Man's booking agent, Isaiah Laing of Supreme Promotions, said he didn't feel it was necessary for such a decision at this time. "Had it been two years ago, I could understand, but the Ninja I know is a changed man. He has reformed considerably since the introduction of his common-law wife Wendy into his life.
"He is much more responsible and conducts himself professionally, so it would be good if they could reconsider."
When THE STAR spoke to Ninja Man, he said he had never stayed in the hotel that had blacklisted him so he couldn't understand why that decision was taken. "Mi nuh stay a dem deh kinda hotel, mi is a memba a di Riu family and only up to date hotel mi stay inna. If Sumfest wah me fi perform, dem must put mi up inna place wah mi accustom to."
Embarrassed
Beenie Man, who returned to the island from a show in Barbados on Sunday, was shocked by the news. "I am very disappointed, slightly embarrassed by it. It is not like we ever left the hotel with any unsettled bills," said Rohan Smith, Beenie Man's manager.
According to Smith, he needed to get to the bottom of the situation, because he wasn't aware of what was driving the stance taken by the resort.
At press time, Mavado was reportedly delayed in Nassau, Bahamas, where he performed last weekend, and efforts to get a comment from Summerfest Productions, organisers of the annual reggae festival, proved futile.
'If Sumfest wah me fi perform, dem must put mi up inna place wah mi accustom to.'