• Olympics: Dog Meat off the menu

Beijing takes dog off the menu for Olympics

Fri Jul 11, 12:40 AM ET

Beijing has asked hotels and restaurants in the city to take dog meat off the menu for the duration of next month's Olympics and September's Paralympics.
    Dog is eaten not only by the large Korean community in China's capital but is also popular in Yunnan and Guizhou restaurants.
    A directive from the Beijing Food Safety Office issued last month ordered Olympic contractor hotels not to provide any dishes made with dog meat and said any canine material used in traditional medicated diets must be clearly labeled.
    Concerned that canine dishes might offend animal rights groups and Western visitors, Beijing said restaurants expected to be popular among foreign visitors must stop serving dog meat "to respect the dining customs of different countries."
    The directive "advocated" that all restaurants serving dog suspend it during the Olympics but made no mention of the many popular establishments with donkey on the menu.
    Criticism from Westerners caused the dog meat-loving South Koreans to ban canine dishes for a period of time during the 1988 Seoul Olympics.
    (Reporting by Liu Zhen; Editing by Nick Mulvenney and Jeremy Laurence)
    (For more stories visit our multimedia website "Road to Beijing" at http://www.reuters.com/news/sports/2008olympics; and see our blog at http://blogs.reuters.com/china)

I was going to raise the topic about our favourite meats, but I'll just post it under your heading.

I was listening to FAME FM Friday Morning Madhouse, and Volier Johnson for weeks now has been advocating about pork patties. Very funny and entertaining. What do you think? What meat is the sweetest (in the Jamaican sense of the word) meat? For me, I just love goat meat.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

in one of his plays volier johnson said "all di muddy water backa di hog tail mi woulda tek an' mek soup".....

between him and Oliver Samuels, they are the greatest comedians Jamaica has ever produced. Just to hear them talk, and I start laughing.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Tried to get the pictures but won't paste; but here are some goodies to look forward to...MdMex et aal.

The place to go!
          Try Star Fish
          fried in shark oil
          Baby Sharks,
          Deep Fried Star Fish
          & Sea Urchins

Turkey Vulture
          Schnitzels
          Sea
          Snakes
          Silk
          Worms
          Snake about to be
          grilled
          Dog Liver with Vegetables
          Goat Lungs with Red Peppers
          Corn with Ginger sauce
          Mixed Cow &
          Horse Stew
          Black
          Silk Worms Scorpions
          Cicadas
          Dung Beetles
          Scorpion
          Brochettes
          Lizard Legs
          Dog Brain Soup
          Oysters, Squids and
          Iguana Tails
          Assorted Scorpions & Beetles
          Scorpions, Crickets and Beetles
          Seahorses
          Grilled Snake and Silk Worms
          Bon Appetite!
          Enjoy the Olympics!

inna combination dem wickid fi true....

Jerk pork patties would be excellent! Maybe if Ja hosted a large international sporting event, we would have to take goat head soup off the menu.

Peter R - thanks I got the e-mail a while back

and I watched that man on the Food Channel - him stomach really strong; he was eating the donkey stew; then one night he went to the Penis Restaurant and nyam all kind of penis - dog, donkey, yuh name it.

Mi walking wid me Xlcr wata crackers, Ritz crackers, mi bully beef; mipacks of cornmeal porridge (just need to add wata) etc.

wha' bout cow cod soup?

pr

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                    and I watched that man on the Food Channel - him stomach really strong; he was eating the donkey stew; then one night he went to the Penis Restaurant and nyam all kind of penis - dog, donkey, yuh name it.

Mi walking wid me Xlcr wata crackers, Ritz crackers, mi bully beef; mipacks of cornmeal porridge (just need to add wata) etc.
                    I hope you are taking a laptop and your camera, because I am personally looking forward to your DAILY reports. It's always good to see a foreign land through the eyes of the casual visitor. And make sure that you are wearing your "Jamaican" eyes. We are getting very tight with the Chinese of late.

MdmeX, mind dem nuh allow yuh pon di plane wid di XLCR crackers. Remember dem have a new ting wid liquids pon di plane!

mi will put it eena the checked luggage, but mi haffi tek it.

Jangle,

I'm definitely taking my laptop. I'll have a camera, but knowing me when I get caught up in the excitement, sometime mi nuh memba fi use the camera.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                            Jangle,

I'm definitely taking my laptop. I'll have a camera, but knowing me when I get caught up in the excitement, sometime mi nuh memba fi use the camera.
                            I hope it's a digital; remember fe carry de cawd fe upload de pitcha dem. Speaking bout dat, Mr. moderata can you please tell me how fe upload and post me pitcha dem pon de forum? Me have two or so pitchas of some forum membas from Penn Relays and de US vs Argentina match fe post.

What is wrong with dog meat ???

We muss tek beef of di menu when certain Indian roll through ??