Has anyone heard the proposals being put

I would very much like to put you to work mosiah!

Yuh cyaan pay mi! Mi a millionaire whey me deh!

Gwey!

On the contrary...it's more like: do you have the skill and discipline to do the work.....

Have you heard of Wigton Wind Farm? Do you know they want to expand it?

Did you know that Munro College used to sell electricity to JPS when it set up its wind turbine about 10 years ago?

And Jamaica is doing all of this without invading sovereign countries!
          I used to hear that Munro soldiers would invade neighboring territory (with conquest in mind) with some regularity... was it the Republic of Hampton?? or another??

not true?

T Boon must recommend it. Him building the world's biggest wind farm and also hoping for a govt subsidy. The man also own the whole of the water rights round his town.

When questioned about the high cost associated with the other energy forms, he said the costs are not crazy like the current oil costs and the money stays in the U.S. as opposed to feeding the Middle East.

that war is still ongoing. no exit strategy!

The supply goin come from Trinidad. The USA's largest supplier of imported gas is Trinidad. What the article doesn't point out is that oil and gas go hand in hand... the gas comes from the same well as the oil. So if no new oil is being found, neither will any new gas. Gas is really a temporary fix.

Any geologists out there to back up my statement?

pr

Well, we know plenty wind emanate from Munro so it can't be for lack of that... the turbine mussi break down.

BTW wasn't there a post here saying govt was trying to pass some law to allow the sale of current to JPS by individuals?

I believe that if I solarise my house and produce more than I can use, the excess is passed out to the grid, reversing the counter on my meter and thus providing me with a credit. Apparently nothing is in place to deal with that?

pr

The holdup apparanlty is JPS prefers net billling (which is currently is approved by the OUR) as opposed to net metering.

Net Metering is preferred by Ministry of Energy and Alternative Energy private sector advocates.

"The question raised would be WHY OUR is pushing net billing....The OUR is of the opinion that while the system of net metering is utilized in some countries, in Jamaica there is a probable breach of the provisions of the Licence currently granted to JPS if such a system was mandated. In any event, this issue is best addressed through government policy, particularly via the Green Paper on Energy which is currently at the stage of public consultation."

Another brilliant move by Don1's heroes.

PR how is T&T doing in this commodity boom? Is it limited to those sectors r or has the broad economy benefitted noticably?

All I know is nuff young Trini professionals I know heading back home.

I would think that the system would be treated like GCT? i.e. I net my refundables against my payables and either the govt. owes me, or I remit, or is that what is meant by net billing ?

pr

Under Net Billing JPS buys power from you and at a different rate than what they retail.

It involves 2 meters, one for power coming in and one for power going out. You pay the retail rate for power coming in and JPS buys at a different rate on the other meter.

Net metering the meter simply reverses when there is excess power and you simply pay as normal based on your meter reading.

On the surface; number of cars, tall buildings, restaurants opening up, etc etc you would say things looking nice, but inflation is on the rise, affordable housing non-existent, traffic jams all day, drainage problems, etc etc. In other words govt has the resources to alleviate and rectify some of these problems, but they are myopic and one-track minded. they can only see building hi-rises as defining development. They cannot even maintain some of the existing infrastructure and they've created even more high maintenance structures all in Port of Spain (no decentralisation to alleviate traffic and stress woes). It's like they cannot perceive a post-oil and gas economy.

And sooner or later both of those commodities will run out. At that point, dawg nyam we suppa, unless they begin to gear up, mobilise, re-train, create industries, and so on for the inevitable bust.

pr

that war is still ongoing. no exit strategy!
                                No exit strategy?

i guess that's appropriate when OIL is involved.