Gamma, a dis mi a talk bout. The Mosiahs and Karls

• Gamma, a dis mi a talk bout. The Mosiahs and Karls

of this world side step reality and is afraid ... better yet .. nuh have the balls fi admit that Portia and her gang messed up. But dem expect di man dem fi turn water inna wine?

Previous gov’t blasted for bad deals

Minister of Finance Audley Shaw says his government is continually haunted by the bad fiscal decisions made by the Portia Simpson Miller led administration.

Speaking Tuesday at a luncheon held by the Jamaica Securities Dealers Association, Mr. Shaw blamed the previous administration for the recent hike in toll rates.

"When I see the Leader of the Opposition on national television speaking to an audience of unsuspecting souls telling them how wicked the JLP government is to increase the toll rates," said Mr. Shaw.

"The truth is the Portmore section was financed at almost 12% interest rate and all of the money that is being earned go straight into the hands of the French operators. We have to be paying money to the French to help keep their guaranteed levels of profit that were guaranteed by the previous government,"

He said this was not the only remnant of a bad deal that the present government has inherited.

"Among those bad deals are to enter into an agreement with a company to sell alumina at rates that are now below the cost of production running into hundreds of millions of US dollars of losses and we won't be able to get out of it until 2012," he said.

Meanwhile, the Finance Minister says his ministry has collected 37% more revenue in taxes since June 30 this year.
    According to Mr. Shaw last month, revenue collection agencies raked in $12 billion more when a comparison is made with the same period last year.

He added that the government also netted more revenue from tax collection in the first quarter of this financial year.
    "We have collected 24% more or close to $7 billion more than the first quarter of the previous fiscal year. The collection of arrears in taxes has increased by 71%," he said.

He added that the government's long term goal is to spread the tax burden by bringing more people into the tax net.
    This he says will result in the lowering of rates of taxation.

is not like mi nuh understand...but the average voter nuh interested in the analysis.....jlp raise di toll.....

after di man dem say dem gwine roll it back and after dem a cuss di pnp fi duh di same.

is not like mi nuh understand...but the average voter nuh interested in the analysis.....jlp raise di toll.....
        Suh, that should prevent thinking people from being honest? If thats the case, we must also blame the gov't for the high oil prices as well? Yes, Karl and Mosiah are average voters ... but those who know better must do better.
        Last edited by Lazie; July 9, 2008, 10:02 AM.

after di man dem say dem gwine roll it back and after dem a cuss di pnp fi duh di same.
          Average voter ... what did the JLP say? Now yuh mek Gamma looking like a genius.

Mr. Archiver, you find what the JLP said for yourself.

You're the one who seemed to be misinformed at this point. Time yuh put yuh pettiness aside and get up to date.

I am not misinformed. And I don't have to prove it. Is you asking what the JLP said. Yuh eedah look it up yuh damn self, or stay deh aks!

Suh you know not that you're misinformed? Now you've proven you're a damn fool. Continue in your ignorance ... then again .. thats not new.

as if.......

You are the determinant of whether I'm misinformed or not? Puppa geezas!

Yuh nuh affi call me Jesus (geezas) ... Lazie will do. Too many of you love hang on to unuh ignorance ..... No wonder we're where we are!