Jamaicans born to run fast? Oh-oh this one opens
My last post on this:
"Researchers can prove any point they want as they oftenly do but in the large scheme of things we are more equal than we think"
What exactly does that mean? How equal are you and I to Bolt in running a 100m race? I would suggest we are VERY unequal.
How equal are the Pigmys to people of Nordic descent in thier ability to touch the top of a basketball rim? Will some food and sunshine make them more equal?
I think your main problem is that you are equating genetics with race and that is what makes it so sensitive for you. Race is much more of a social-cultural concept (for example at times ethnic groups in Europe considered themselves to be of different races) , but genetics is a more scientific concept.
Anyway I think I have exhausted what I can contibute to the debate for now."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
You see I found a researcher to counter your point?
read above.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
So what you saying? Because we suffer from the same illnesses and have some likeness we may share the same sprinting genes?
Seems a far fetch conculsion to me.
"By the way, do you think the reason why Ghanaians don't do well in track is simply because of tradition and culture? Do young Ghanaians dream of being the next Usain Bolt, or the next Essien?"
Well tradition must play a greater part than genes if your point is true- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
You found which researcher to counter which point?
OK, lets get more specific, how much of a factor in percentage terms do you think genetics plays in athletic success? 20%? 50%?80%?
Do you think anybody who really wants to be the 100m Olympic champion can do it if they have access to the best training, nutrition, facilities, and have the best mental attitude, etc? Or to put it another way, is genetics a necessary condition for the person to realise this dream, or can anybody do it?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Assasin View PostExactly what?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
the fact is most of us just think genes is the most important thing without thinking of the other.
None of us can really say how much it plays in sport and everytime people try to put cement on that theory it happen to be false.
Same was said about Boxing, White couldn't box
Black couldn't play golf and all these researches to prove it but man and god nuh make that way.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
some have done pretty well.
GB, Germany, Russia to name a few.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.