just shameful... isn't this encouraging corruption... shame.

• just shameful... isn't this encouraging corruption... shame.

Reports of gangs getting government contracts not surprising - Transport Minister

Monday, 07 July 2008 Members of the Board of the Jamaica Urban Transit Company are on Monday expected to meet with Transport Minister Mike Henry.

The meeting comes after allegations were made in a newspaper article that questionable contracts were awarded under the watch of the former chairman Douglas Chambers.

The article claimed that millions of dollars in contracts were given to well-known politically connected gangs.

Mr. Henry has said he knows nothing of such contracts being handed out while Mr. Chambers was Chairman.

However, on Sunday, the Transport Minister conceded that given the climate of Spanish Town he would not be surprised if persons affiliated with both gangs were given contracts.

"I wouldn't know about about contracts but what I would know is that anybody who wrote that must be living in New York because in the reality of any area in which you place the bus depots, in the heart of one political position, then you must expect that the political people would be taking charge," he said.

Mr. Henry added that what would be of greater concern to him was if gangs are being paid without doing any work.

den yuh figget how much truck and tractor bulbie did have?

that i know... and that says it all... lol... what about the change we all were promised... cant be cherry picking...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
        that i know... and that says it all... lol... what about the change we all were promised... cant be cherry picking...
        Tings tek time Baddaz ... anyting too drastic may cause a shot ... no wait ... shock.

nuh dat mek dem shoot chambers? change..

Gangs OK but......

Reports of gangs getting government contracts not surprising - Transport Minister

Monday, 07 July 2008 Members of the Board of the Jamaica Urban Transit Company are on Monday expected to meet with Transport Minister Mike Henry.

The meeting comes after allegations were made in a newspaper article that questionable contracts were awarded under the watch of the former chairman Douglas Chambers.

The article claimed that millions of dollars in contracts were given to well-known politically connected gangs.

Mr. Henry has said he knows nothing of such contracts being handed out while Mr. Chambers was Chairman.

However, on Sunday, the Transport Minister conceded that given the climate of Spanish Town he would not be surprised if persons affiliated with both gangs were given contracts.

"I wouldn't know about about contracts but what I would know is that anybody who wrote that must be living in New York because in the reality of any area in which you place the bus depots, in the heart of one political position, then you must expect that the political people would be taking charge," he said.

Mr. Henry added that what would be of greater concern to him was if gangs are being paid without doing any work.
            ..... they must work!!! hilarious

Good one, Lazie. Could not have said it better myself!

this guy has his head in the sand... ridiculous... a gang that would actually work for pay... a which gang dat...

Baddaz - you hire the gang, the gang subcontracts the work to someone else, and then get a cut.

This has been going for decades, and both political parties support giving contracts to those Mafia organizations, aka gangs. All this chat about reducing crime, when the political leaders continue to finance and prop up criminal organizations is just pure b.u.l.l. s.h.i.t.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                      This has been going for decades, and both political parties support giving contracts to those Mafia organizations, aka gangs. All this chat about reducing crime, when the political leaders continue to finance and prop up criminal organizations is just pure b.u.l.l. s.h.i.t.

Suh yuh a seh Brucie chat pure b.u.l.l. s.h.i.t?

its the govts that have created the monsters... it has been going on for too long... at some point the change has to be made...

The justice system cannot convict these political gangsters. The only way to quickly get rid of these gangsters is to use another eradication squad and no body wants to go back to that system.

I wonder what is the govt exit strategy? At some point we have to stop paying these criminals.

Brethren, anyone involved in running a criminal enterprise should not receive government contracts, and we need to stop dancing around this issue. There is no doubt that John Gotti could never ever receive a contract from the City of New York. But in Jamaica, gangsters receive government contracts, and the Jamaican taxpayers continue to prop up criminal enterprises.

it simple...

anyone involved in running a criminal enterprise should not receive government contracts, and we need to stop dancing around this issue.
                              i would also add, convicted felons should also be ineligible... they forfeit their right to benefit from the govt coffers...