Toll up

• Toll up

Scores of motorists travelling on toll roads across the island will have to fork out more to pass through the booths.
    The new rates which took effect on Saturday will remain for one year.
    The adjustments will affect all segments of Highway 2000.

It means motorists traveling the Spanish Town and Portmore legs of the highway will see an increase of $10 and $40 respectively, taking the previous rate from $60 to $70 and $100 for class one vehicles.
    Rates for class two vehicles moved from $80 for the Spanish Town route to $90, while motorists using the Portmore leg are now paying $140 up from $100.

Class three vehicles are now paying $180.
    Meanwhile, for the Vineyards, class one will now pay $230, class two, $310, and class three, $580.

Then what was that billboard during the campaign...mek mi lef dis alone!

fodder for the next election....."mi toll yuh too"

Then what was that billboard during the campaign...mek mi lef dis alone!
        Are you going to be honest with yuhself on this ... or tek the usual poppyshow stance. What yuh must duh is contact those that signed the contract, find out the terms ... Then talk.

fodder for the next election....."mi toll yuh too"
          Was it? After taking office di man dem find out that an agreement was reached between the toll operators and previous gov't for 2 toll increases per year. What the previous admin was doing was granting the increase and subsidizing it.

People give little boy big man job .. now dem realize is not all mistakes can be corrected with white out.

Where is my darn calculator?

I have to do the conversion to make sense of these numbers...

I did the same for the JFF financial statement posted recently.

Jamaica should rename it's currency from $dollar$ to something else... They just give the $ a bad name.

Example: Ja $100 would be ~ dallah fifty US. (US$1.50)

yuh think the general populace gwine to care? it was short smart and innovative....but it will bite them in the rump.

Well, your first line does point out the problem with Jamaicans. Now word is people are saying all the high prices are punishment by the gov't for being left in the wilderness for so long.

God must love Jamaicans bwoy ... comical set.

After taking office di man dem find out that an agreement was reached between the toll operators and previous gov't for 2 toll increases per year.
                  Really!?

You are...typical yankee. Monopoly money and all that silly chat.

sigh

but the larger picture is dat dem promise to roll back the toll and instead.....ask a man if dat is not a broken promise? why promise what yuh cy'an deliver?

das why mi a lef it alone.

mine yuh get yuhself in trouble, gamma. point out where they ever said such a ting! das what some will demand of you!

Are you a millionaire?

Millionaire: one whose wealth is estimated at a million or more (as of dollars or pounds)

Source: Webster's New Collegiate Dictionary.

Thanks in advance.
                            Last edited by HL; July 7, 2008, 03:16 PM.

but the larger picture is dat dem promise to roll back the toll and instead.....ask a man if dat is not a broken promise? why promise what yuh cy'an deliver?
                              Oh sorry ... I missed that. I'm aware that they said they wanted to sit with the toll operators to renegotiate the terms of the deal.