Sweetheart deal for Sugar??

• Sweetheart deal for Sugar??

Saw the press-reported outline of this transaction and was dismayed. Terms to Infinity Bio-Energy seemed excessively generous as reported.

This entire issue needs ventilation for sure.

Explanation needed on Petrojam Ethanol
    published: Sunday | July 6, 2008

It seems, at last, that the Government is on the verge of extricating itself from one significant burden. But we keep our fingers crossed and await a far more detailed explanation of the divestment of the Sugar Company of Jamaica (SCJ), given some of the obvious questions about the terms of the deal and the recent history of such sales. The arrangement concerning Petrojam Ethanol Limited is of particular interest.

The circumspection over the announced deal regarding the SCJ is understandable. For over the past decade and a half, we have had similar build-ups, only to suffer bigger let-downs. We once thought, for instance, that major weight was lifted from the backs of taxpayers when Air Jamaica was ostensibly privatised. The Government retained a minority stake.

government control

But government control returned by accretion. Taxpayers assumed the bills and are now faced with the airline's accumulated losses of US$1.2 billion and debt of over US$500 million.Similarly, in the mid-1990s, majority ownership in SCJ was sold to a consortium of Jamaican and foreign companies. In short order, the SCJ was back in government hands, the private interests saying that they could not make a go of the business because of inimical government policies. In that regard, we believe that it is important that there is some assurance, if not water-tight guarantee, that in a couple of years, taxpayers will not again be asked to provide heavy subsidies for the SCJ.

Moreover, we feel that it is important that the administration outline the specifics of the transaction with Infinity Bio-Energy and its net effect on the national Treasury.

Jamaicans, of course, know that the SCJ is not in great shape and that anyone who bought the operation would have to pump a fair bit of cash into the rehabilitation of the business. Indeed, in its 2005-2006 financial year, the last period for which its unaudited financials were published, the company, on sales of $3.67 billion, lost an estimated $405 million. It lost $1 billion the previous year.

The company was essentially bankrupt, with its net worth being around minus $720 million. It kept going because the Government provided subsidies and guaranteed its loans, on the assumption that the business was important to the national economy.

It is clear, therefore, that any purchaser of the SCJ would have to pump a fair bit of cash into its operation to modernise plans and enhance efficiencies. A buyer would also be in a position to bargain hard - which, apparently, is what Infinity did.

accumulated losses

The Government, not unexpectedly, has had to assume the SCJ's accumulated losses of $18 billion and will meet the redundancy costs to workers of around $3 billion - a total of $21 billion, or approximately US$300 million. Based on the so-far-available information, Infinity will invest US$100 million in the reconstituted company, in which the Government will have 25 per cent. Apparently, the Government will get no cash - all of which appears reasonable.

Where there are questions, is in the transfer of the profitable Petrojam Ethanol to Infinity, as the Government reported is the case. In this financial year, Petrojam Ethanol is projected to have sales of nearly $5.8 billion and a profit of $770 million, an increase of 85 per cent.

The Government needs to explain that transfer and the method used for pricing the entity.

we lucky we get one cent fi sugar.

I guess we are unlucky... we didn't even get that.

a nuh what you get a what you save.

Taxpayers still have the burden of servicing $21b in debt and the treasury receives zero plus we give up control of a profitable and promising asset ie the ethanol refinery??
          That's salt not sugar.

If the PNP were in power and orchestrated this great deal, what would your opinion be?

regardless of what you may say... I know the answer!

Everybody know the Sugar Industry is dead. No two ways about this. It is better to give up 21 billon one time more than every year. Just Remember the government still have a stake in this and if the company is serious about ethonal the government will get more money from this deal than if they kept it and continue to poor money int bad infrasturture with mobster unions preying.

The Jamaican taxpayer is the one benefitting. If we were losing so much and now the EU and World trade taking away preferencial treatment, can you imagine how much will be lost?

Sugar is dead, we had two choices sell it for nothing or close the factories. We can't produce effeciently with the kind of machine, kind of workers, arsonists and man a eat cane.

plus it was put out to public tendor and only one company was really interested. It is not like it was just given to them.

Everybody know the Sugar Industry is dead. No two ways about this. It is better to give up 21 billon one time more than every year. Just Remember the government still have a stake in this and if the company is serious about ethonal the government will get more money from this deal than if they kept it and continue to poor money int bad infrasturture with mobster unions preying.

The Jamaican taxpayer is the one benefitting. If we were losing so much and now the EU and World trade taking away preferencial treatment, can you imagine how much will be lost?

Sugar is dead, we had two choices sell it for nothing or close the factories. We can't produce effeciently with the kind of machine, kind of workers, arsonists and man a eat cane.
                Some points:

It's not JA$21b/year but accumulated deficit/liability of JA$21b. The yearly debt servicing may be US$40m or so.

The sugar cane industry is NOT dead .. if it were this savvy private investor would not be buying our plants... it's not really about producing sugar... it's about producing ethanol and appropriating Jamaica's access to the US market through Jamaica's CBI preferential treatment.
                Brazil is denied such access by the US tariff system which makes Brazilian sourced ethanol uneconomic in the US.

You have not answered my original question... however I know the answer anyway.

this said it all

"The company was essentially bankrupt, with its net worth being around minus $720 million. It kept going because the Government provided subsidies and guaranteed its loans, on the assumption that the business was important to the national economy."

They investors are going to put up 100 Million US.

where did you get the 40 billion figure?

A wonderif the Brazillian them want Air Ja too.

I assume they are going to invest in petrojam bigtime.

this said it all

"The company was essentially bankrupt, with its net worth being around minus $720 million. It kept going because the Government provided subsidies and guaranteed its loans, on the assumption that the business was important to the national economy."

They investors are going to put up 100 Million US.

where did you get the 40 billion figure?

A wonderif the Brazillian them want Air Ja too.

I assume they are going to invest in petrojam bigtime.
                    I never mentioned $40 billion.. I said the debt servicing we are left with (For the accumulated JA$21b) would be around US$40m/annually.

Infinity essentially got the sugar plants for nothing... Their US$100m capitalizes a new debt free company that they control 3/4 of. That's like paying seventy five million to yourself.

You assume they will invest in PetroJam... why would they when they have their own company that needs capital?

Plus they already were gifted control of the PetroJam asset that most suits them... the ethanol plant.

one notices you still fail to answer my original question.. is it that difficult?

I mean't they will invest substancial amount in the Ethonal plant.

As I said the sugar company was of no value to the Jamaican people. If they can improve the capacity of the ethonal plant by 100 percent which I assume they the government will get more revenue and the Jamaican people will end up paying less for fuel.

sorry now is not the best time to engage in long discussion as my two small kids are all over me

I dont know the details of this deal, but Bullshyte deal is BS deal, no matter who cuts it.

PNP or JLP, I could care less. How Jam making out in this deal?

Excellent.. I hear the port is next !

Thank God, it looks like the great experiment is over... time to take the 'china' away from the 'kids'..dem tek it as toy...

If the deal was worthwhile to investors, nuff companies would have lined up to bid on this. Its great to unload this unproductive entity off the taxpayers rolls.

I mean't they will invest substancial amount in the Ethonal plant.

As I said the sugar company was of no value to the Jamaican people. If they can improve the capacity of the ethonal plant by 100 percent which I assume they the government will get more revenue and the Jamaican people will end up paying less for fuel.

sorry now is not the best time to engage in long discussion as my two small kids are all over me
                              enjoy!