Is an official funeral really warranted for late JUTC Chair?

• Is an official funeral really warranted for late JUTC Chair?

Eyebrows have been raised in some quarters over the government's decision to accord an official funeral to slain Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) Chairman Douglas Chambers.

Minister of Transport Mike Henry on Thursday announced that a date for the funeral would be announced shortly.
    This followed news that Mr. Chambers could also be awarded the country's fourth highest national honour the Order of Jamaica.
    However, there are questions whether the Government followed protocol in according Mr. Chambers an official funeral.

Chairman of the People's National Party Robert Pickersgill is among those asking whether the Government gave due consideration to the matter.
    "There are criteria set down as to how one qualifies for an official funeral. I don't remember if the Prime Minister spoke about official funeral ... I'm pretty sure he said in terms of national honours, the whole thing should be looked at and a committee set up so they are the best ones to know if this gentleman fits the criteria," said Mr. Pickersgill.

‘Hasty' in awarding distinction
    Political commentator Helene Davis-White said it appears that the Government acted hastily.

Speaking with RJR News Thursday, Mrs. Davies White expressed concern that the decision could set a bad precedent.
    "What would happen if at the end of the day the investigation reveals that the killing had absolutely nothing to do with what is claimed in terms of corruption? I think one need to be very cautious and if in fact Mr. Chambers death was linked to his attempt to clear up corruption then I think he would be among several groups of public sector workers who have done the same thing. When they died, they were not accorded official funerals," she said.

Order of Distinction
    Another source who spoke on condition of anonymity said based on the fact that Mr. Chambers had served as JUTC Chairman for only eight months the highest award that should be conferred is the Order of Distinction.
    The award is given to Jamaicans who gave outstanding and important service to the country.

Last October Prime Minister Bruce Golding appointed a Committee to review the system of national honours and awards.
    The committee is headed by Vice Chancellor Emeritus of the University of the West Indies Professor Rex Nettleford.

If it was up to me he would be getting the honour of National Hero!

Same for Ogilvie!

them people yah nuh easy. The man took 1 dollar a year and he died on the property of the JUTC and them a talk crap?

Bwoy them nuh easy at all. Every honor the man get him deserve it. When them have Don a rent out National Arena etc. fi funeral where were these people?

emotional response

them people yah nuh easy. The man took 1 dollar a year and he died on the property of the JUTC and them a talk crap?

Bwoy them nuh easy at all. Every honor the man get him deserve it. When them have Don a rent out National Arena etc. fi funeral where were these people?
          That he was working at doing good is not the issue. The issue is does he qualify for a state funeral?

I think he does!
          Considering the times - "Corruption rampant" - This honour sends a message to society and sends a message by our society that "wi a lick hout gainst corruption...an nutten nah stap wi from defeating di curse".

Wouldn't have a problem with it. But I can think of a few more messages that need to be sent. The garrisons need messages. The gunmen and the importers of guns need messages. Those would be much louder than the state funeral message.

Those messages should also be sent!

the pnp dem fi guway... the man is accorded at least that.

emotional response
                  Tell that to his widow and child!

Ah somebody mi know and mi also know that he neglected his business to do this job for $1.

National hero? Hell no! Don't talk nonsense. Yuh gwine mek it look like he was not appreciated.

Offer the Job to the detractors and mek wi si what di p u s s y dem seh..

National hero? Hell no! Don't talk nonsense. Yuh gwine mek it look like he was not appreciated.

LoL

It seems like Patwa getting more appreciation!

What does one have to do to be given the National Hero status? Start a political party? Create an uprising against the Govt of the day?

Since we can have patwah monster argument, lets start one for National Hero status.

I have no problem engaging you on some discussion regarding National Hero status, but if it is based on this, then I shant.

heheheheeeee

cant agree with that willi... i know his untimely passing hurts... especially the circumstances surrounding his passing... however, consideration for national hero is a bit far stretched...