Is an official funeral really warranted for late JUTC Chair?

willi... an order of distinction i could agree with as that would seem appropriate... national hero, is a whole different matter...

Did they bury him in Heroes Park?

That he was working at doing good is not the issue. The issue is does he qualify for a state funeral?

I think he does!
      Considering the times - "Corruption rampant" - This honour sends a message to society and sends a message by our society that "wi a lick hout gainst corruption...an nutten nah stap wi from defeating di curse".

... Not only should they give him the OJ and the state funeral, I hope hope that they buried him in heroes park. He needs to be in the face of the cowards who ordered him killed.

Originally posted by Time View Post
        He needs to be in the face of the cowards who ordered him killed.
        Then bury him in Klansman country.

Let's not get carried away.

Mark Wignall wants him in a dem face too

Then bury him in Klansman country.

Let's not get carried away.

Here is a qoute from Mark Wignall column (today)

For the present I would like to echo the suggestion of a Jamaican reader living in the USA that the Half Way Tree transportation centre be renamed the Douglas Chambers Transport Centre.
          For each day that the murdering cowards walk past it they must be reminded that the reverberations of decency and forthrightness do exist even in as troubled a country as ours. As they look up at his name, a symbol of their inability to delete his name and mission must haunt them.

.... Mosiah, We really need to put him in the face off "the triggermen, the don and the people above the Don" everyday.

I don't have a problem with the naming of the transport centre after him. Actually a very good idea and I hope they do it. But some of this talk about national hero and such...please!

I have no problem engaging you on some discussion regarding National Hero status, but if it is based on this, then I shant.
              Oh, think twice
              Its just another day for you and me in paradise!

Lets see,
              They kill the street vendor witness as he is suspected of cooperating with police re the Chambers hit. The police arrest the top Klansman don for bail skipping and Lime Tree Oval and other "communities" protest his arrest!

Arguing over National Honours could be a quite soothing distraction in these circumstances.

Do we confer the national hero status on the street vendor witness as well?

Well ... dem nuh want people fi come forwud when dem witness a crime? It just might be a master stoke. National hero vs snitch.

Yuh might have a point!

I don't have a problem with the naming of the transport centre after him. Actually a very good idea and I hope they do it. But some of this talk about national hero and such...please!
                      I never said make him a national hero. I suggested burying him in heroes park. The victims of the evening tide hime fire are there to remind us of our worst times. Kapoe is also there.

Chambers need to be nominated for some UN award and a special civil service award to work who show honest and intergity must be given in his name.

History should not see him as just another Jamaican died but a man who choose to work for 1 dollar a year because of the love of his country and tried to clear up corruption. I want my Kids and yours to hear about the deed of Mr. Chambers as he died doing what none of us on this forum would have done and it nuh matter if ou live a Ja or foriegn. People in other countries must hear about the work and intergity of Mr. Douglas Chambers.

If it was up to me he would be getting the honour of National Hero!

Same for Ogilvie!
                          How about Maudib for JUTC chairman?? After all he has excellent credentials as a Silicon Valley economist and impeccable bona fides as a paragon in the fight against PNP- inspired corruption.

As a bonus he could become the forum's first National Hero!!!! If Willi's suggestion takes root.

That would be way kool.
                          Last edited by Don1; July 6, 2008, 02:55 PM.

Disagree with the Heroes Park burial too.

Why not, better than a bullet!

emotion