Part of the weakness of Jamaica is the Labor Union

• Part of the weakness of Jamaica is the Labor Union

The jamaican labor unions pretend to represent the working people.

They stand in the way of productivity. They are disruptive and extremely corrupt........................................... ...................................

true...

The jamaican labor unions pretend to represent the working people.

They stand in the way of productivity. They are disruptive and extremely corrupt........................................... ...................................

We have unions?

you mean the political mobsters? They also are very political devise and stand in the way of any progress.

btw same has been said of the teamsters with the alleged mob connections...

only that the teamsters have been weakened and don't hold the influence they once hold.

In a lot cases they have to work with companies instead of striking. In Ja Union strike cause boss nuh tell worker good morning.

nuh get mi wrong.....that above was an unequivocal true.....my subsequent point was that the nature of unions breed a certain kind of behaviour and attract a certain kind of people.....

Yes I know but ask Ronnie Reagan and Thatcher how fi deal wid that.

The modern union in the US realise that they better work with the companies or else the plant them gone a China, Ireland or South America, or nuff job loss.

I remember clearly Reagan firing all the air traffic controllers in the 80's.

Their union was unwilling to settle...so the government stepped in a tossed all the workers out. Don't remenber what became of the union.

That's resolute leadership and management!!