Outstanding Jamaicans!

• Outstanding Jamaicans!

As a proud, nationalistic Jamaican, I’ve long wanted to start this thread on “Outstanding Jamaicans.” I’m going to do so now with the hope that there will be enthusiastic additions to the list. It is an undisputed fact that Jamaica has produced a myriad of genuinely outstanding individuals. However, whether or not this fact is properly and comprehensively documented is a matter for debate.

I’m going to start by identifying several outstanding (in my opinion) Jamaicans, and hopefully posters will add more names and achievements as the day progresses.

1. Louise Bennett-Coverley (1919-2006). To say that she is probably my all-time favorite Jamaican may be the understatement of the year! Every child should be allowed to experience the positive things of childhood and growing up, and Louise “Miss Lou” Bennet certainly had a huge impact on me as a child and a young man growing up in rural Jamaica. Not only was Miss Lou a regular at our pantomimes and stage shows, but more than any other Jamaican, she travelled throughout the world with the deliberate objective of promoting Jamaican culture in its various forms. Thankfully, she also recorded many projects highlighting our rich culture.

2. Jody-Ann Maxwell. In May 1998, 12-year-old Jody-Ann Maxwell became the 71st winner of the Scripps Howard National Spelling Competition, held annually in Washington, D.C. Jody was the first and, to this date, the only winner from outside the USA (I think there had been a winner many years before from Puerto Rico, but Puerto Rico is a US dependency).

Jody’s winning word, now etched forever in the annals of Jamaican history, was “chiaroscurist” (a word meaning an artist who uses light and shade to produce the illusion of depth). The highly intelligent Jody stated afterwards that she was able to spell chiaroscurist because she knew its derivative, “chiaroscuros.”

3. Glen Archer. With his incredible achievements in producing countless champion spellers in Jamaica, Rev. Glen Archer of Ardenne High School must have had countless opportunities to migrate to “greener pastures.” Surely those opportunities would have increased dramatically following his success in guiding to victory Jody-Ann Maxwell, the first non-American winner of the Scripps Howard National Spelling Competition. But, Rev. Archer still lives and contributes in Jamaica.

4. Dr. Lloyd Dayes, world-renowned professor of neurosurgery. The world-famous Dr. Days, an alumnus of West Indies College in Mandeville (now Northern Caribbean University), served in the medical field for half a century, and is today a lecturer and professor of neurology at the Loma Linda University School of Medicine in California. At Loma Linda, he singlehandedly started the department of neurosurgery. Dr. Days, who comes from humble roots, was born in Woodford, St. Andrew, Jamaica.

5. The children in violence-prone communities, particularly in Kingston, who despite being compelled to endure countless nights of terror through the sounds of gunshots in their neighbourhood, nevertheless excelled in the 2008 national and regional exams (GSAT and CXC).

I was thinking about that too. I will put a few up.

Sly and Robbie

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search
      Sly and RobbieOriginJamaicaGenre(s)ReggaeYears active1970s - PresentLabel(s)TAXI RecordsWebsiteOfficialSlyAndRobbie.comMembersLowell Dunbar
      Robert ShakespeareSly and Robbie is one of reggae's most prolific and long lasting production teams. The rhythm section of drummer Lowell Dunbar (nicknamed Sly after Sly Stone, one of his favorite musicians) and bass guitarist Robert Shakespeare started working together in the mid 1970s, after having established themselves separately on the Jamaican music scene. They are humorously also sometimes referred to as Sly Drumbar and Robbie Basspeare. For example, the sleeve notes of Black Uhuru's Red album credit drums and syndrums to Sly Drumbar and bass guitar to Robert "Robbie" Basspeare.
      Sly and Robbie may well be the most prolific recording artists ever. One estimate is that they have played on or produced some 200,000 songs [1], considering that some of their riddims such as "Revolution" have been used on over 100 songs.
      Contents

[hide]//
      [edit] Career

Before joining forces, Sly was drumming for the Skin Flesh and Bones band and Robbie was the bass player for the Aggrovators. They also used to play in clubs (Sly at Tit for Tat and Robbie at Evil People), and used to check each other out. They found out that they had the same ideas about music in general (both are huge fans of Motown, Philly Sound and Country & Western, in addition to Jamaican legendary labels Studio One and Treasure Isle), and Reggae production in particular. They first worked together with The Revolutionaries for the newly created Channel One studio and label, operated by the Hoo Kim brothers.
      They changed the face of reggae several times: in 1976, they introduced a harder beat called "Rockers", which quickly replaced the then prevalent "One drop" style, then introduced the "rub a dub" sound in the early 1980s. Sly and Robbie were important in developing the trend towards computer assisted music and programming in the mid 1980s.

Robbie Shakespeare (right) playing with Peter Tosh on the Bush Doctor tour, 1978

Also in the early 1990s they introduced a novel sound with the hits "Bam Bam" and "Murder She Wrote" by Chaka Demus & Pliers. Chaka Demus' rough DJ vocals were matched with Pliers' sweet, melodic, soul-influenced singing; this unusual vocal pairing was championed by Sly and Robbie. This formula has since been used with great success by the likes of Shaggy (who teamed up with singers Rayvon or Rik Rok), Shabba Ranks, Maxi Priest and others. This predates and may have influenced the recent trend in some rap music where a song's "hook" or chorus is sung by a guest, while the verses are rapped.
      In the "Bam Bam" style, Sly introduced Indian tabla sounds in his drum beats, while Robbie altogether stopped playing bass on this particular project.
      Sly & Robbie continued to innovate during the 1990s and early 2000s, fusing Dancehall and Latin music sounds (La Trenggae) or Dancehall and hip hop/R&B (their 2004 Big Up riddim). In 1999, their "Strip to the Bone" album paired them with electro producer Howie B, and together they explored new dub territories. Their 1999 single "Superthruster" from this album became a mainstream hit by being played on MTV frequently. Reason for this was undoubtly not only the pulsing beat but the high quality animated video in sinister Anime style. It showed Sly and Robbie in battlesuits chasing a Harlequin through a technological complex. As the video progresses, the harlequin turns out to be a marionette directed by the real villain. The early scene involving the Harlequin marionette bears at least a passing resemblance to Sven Väth's 1994 animated cult-video "Harlequin". "Superthruster" was released on vinyl and as a DVD single, its February 9, 1999 release date making it one of or even the first DVD single ever to go on sale.
      In 2003 they compiled and mixed a DJ mix album, Late Night Tales: Sly & Robbie, as part of the Late Night Tales series for Azuli Records.
      Far from restricting themselves to the Jamaican scene, (in which they have played for virtually every prominent Jamaican musical artist from Beenie Man to Sean Paul to Peter Tosh, Black Uhuru, Gregory Isaacs Dennis Brown and others), they have been one of pop music's most sought after rhythm sections, playing for and producing superstars such as Ben Harper, Bob Dylan, Mick Jagger, the Rolling Stones, Grace Jones, Joan Armatrading, Gilberto Gil, Joe Cocker, Serge Gainsbourg, Simply Red, Michael Franti, Sting, Khaled, Mey Vidal, Tricky, Doug E. Fresh, Carlos Santana, Sinéad O'Connor, and many more.
      They have produced No Doubt's hits "Hey Baby" and "Underneath it All". They also produced some tracks off Suggs first album The Lone Ranger including the hit version of Cecilia featuring Louchie Lou and Michie One which sold over 500,000 copies in the UK alone.
      After 30 years together, they still tour and record relentlessly. In early 2005, they toured with Tony Rebel and Half Pint. During the Summer of 2005, they toured Europe and the UK with Bunny Rugs, lead singer for Third World. During the Fall of 2005 they were on the road with Sinéad O'Connor in August 2006, they appeared with Don Carlos at the Reggae on the River Festival, and in August 2007 they performed on a tour of the Western United States and Canada along with TAXI label artist Cherine Anderson, including headlining Reggae Rising in Humboldt County and The Hollywood Bowl.
      They have produced several new Jamaican artists for their TAXI label, including Kibaki, Mynimoo and Zennlocc, as well as confirmed superstars such as Elephant Man and Buju Banton, for whom they re-used their 1982 instrumental mega-hit "Unmetered Taxi". In 2006, they recorded with their original group, the Revolutionaries, to produce Horace Andy's new album "Livin' it up" and produced several hits for Cherine Anderson. In the 2007, they cooperated with the Italian rapper Jovanotti in the album Safari, they also produced tracks for Beatles founder Paul McCartney and Britney Spears.
      They are now putting the finishing touch to "MOVIN' ON", the highly anticipated new album by Bitty Mclean.

[edit] Individual details

[edit] Partial discography

Artist Title Year Label Barry ReynoldsI Scare Myself1982IslandBeenie ManMaestro1996Shocking VibesBlack UhuruPositive1987GreensleevesBlack UhuruBrutal1986GreensleevesBlack UhuruAnthem1984IslandBlack UhuruThe Dub Factor1983IslandBlack UhuruChill Out1982IslandBlack UhuruTear It Up1982IslandBlack UhuruRed1981IslandBlack UhuruSinsemilla1980IslandBlack UhuruShowcase1979VirginBob DylanInfidels1983CBSBrent DoweMy EverythingunknCirculation Music/RecordsBritney SpearsPiece of Me (Sly & Robbie Remix) (featuring Cherine Anderson)2006Jive RecordsBunny WailerFood/Serious Things1986SolomonicBunny WailerDubdisco1980SolomonicBunny WailerMarketplace1984SolomonicBunny Wailersings The Wailers1980Solomonic IslandBunny WailerRoots Radics Rockers Reggae1983ShanachieChaka Demus & PliersTease Me1993MangoChaka Demus & PliersFor every kinda people1996IslandCharlie ChaplinQue Dem1986PowerhouseCornell CampbellFollow Instructions1982MobilerCultureTwo sevens Clash1978Lightning RecordsCultureHarder than the Rest1978VirginCutty RanksCan I Touch U Baby1999Circulation Music/RecordsDennis BrownBrown Sugar1988RASFoundationHeart feel it1989IslandFrankie PaulStrictly ReggaeMusic1983LondiscFugeesFu Gee La Remix1996ColumbiaGrace JonesLiving my Life1982IslandGrace JonesNightclubbing1981IslandGrace JonesWarm Leatherette1980IslandGregory IsaacsShowcase1980TaxiGregory IsaacsCool Ruler1978VirginGregory IsaacsSoon Forward1979VirginGwen GuthrieGwen Guthrie1982IslandHalf PintIn fine Style1982SunsetHalf PintVictory1988RASHalf PintGreetings1987Jet StarHalf Pintshowcase w. Michael Palmer1986GreensleevesHalf Pint/Junior DelgadoI want your love1987PowerhouseHerbie HancockRockit 12 inch maxi1983CBSHome T4Sly & Robbie present1984TaxiIan DuryLord Upminister1981PolydorIni KamozePirate1986IslandIni KamozeStatement1985IslandIni KamozeIni Kamoze1984IslandJacob MillerJacob Killer Miller1980IslandJimmy CliffFollow My Mind1975WarnerJimmy RileyRhythm Driven1981IslandJoe CockerSheffield Steel1982IslandKazumi WatanabeMobo 21983Gramavision RecordsKazumi WatanabeMobo 11982GramavisionKy-Mani MarleyLike Father Like Son1996Warner/RhinoLinval ThompsonStarlight1988MangoLinval ThompsonLinvall1977Vista SoundsLinval ThompsonRockers From Channel One1979TrojanMad CobraHard to wet, Easy to dry1992ColumbiaMarianne FaithfullLola R. For Ever (From the tribute album Monsieur Gainsbourg Revisited)2006BarclayMaterialThe Third Power1991AxiomMaterialSeven Souls1989IslandMatisyahuJerusalem (Out Of The Darkness Comes Light)2006JDubMaxi PriestMaxi1987VirginMichael Franti and SpearheadYell Fire!2006AntiMichael Palmershowcase w. Half Pint1986GreensleevesMichael RoseX-uhuru1998Tabou 1 / TaxiMick JaggerShe's the Boss1985CBSMighty DiamondsUnruly Pickney1982MRMighty DiamondsTell Me What Wrong1980JILMighty DiamondsVital Selection1981VirginMighty DiamondsMoney Love1982PowerhouseMighty DiamondsBackstage1982Music WorksMighty DiamondsDubwise1982Music WorksMonty Alexandermeets Sly and Robbie2000TelarcPeter ToshWanted Dread and Alive1980EMIPeter ToshLive at Montreux1979Peter ToshMystic Man1979EMIPeter ToshBush Doctor1978Rolling StonesPeter ToshEqual Rights1977ColumbiaPrince Far ICry Tuff Dub encounter II1979Virgin's Front LinePrince JammyKamikaze Dub1996TrojanPrince JammyA Dub Extravaganza1992CharleyRevolutionairesGoldmine Dub1979GreensleevesRevolutionariesOutlaw Dub1979TrojanRevolutionariesDutch Man Dub1978Burning VibrationsRicoMan from Wareika1977IslandRonnie DavisCrucial1978Big Mac Soul PowerSerge GainsbourgNegusa Nagast1981PolygramSerge GainsbourgMauvaises nouvelles des etoiles1981PhillipsSerge Gainsbourgau Palace1980PhillipsSerge GainsbourgAux Armes1979PhillipsShabba RanksA Mi Shabba1995EpicSly and RobbieCrucial Reggae1981Island MangoSly and RobbiePresent Taxi1981IslandSly and RobbieRebel Soldier [Soljie]1982TaxiSly and RobbieKings of Reggae1983KeystoneSly and RobbieSounds of Taxi1984TaxiSly and RobbieSly & Robbie "Language Barrier"1985IslandSly and RobbieA Dub Experience1985IslandSly and RobbieThe Sting1986Moving TargetSly and RobbieElectro Reggae1986IslandSly and RobbieTaxi Fare1987HeartbeatSly and Robbiepresents Sound of Taxi 31987TaxiSly and RobbieRhythm Killers1987IslandSly and RobbieTaxi Connection Live in London1987IslandSly and RobbieThe Summit1988GreensleevesSly and Robbiepresent Gregory Isaacs1988RASSly and RobbieTwo Rhythms Clash1989RASSly and RobbieSilent Assassin with KRS-ONE and BDP1989IslandSly and RobbieHits 1978-19901990Sonic SoundsSly and RobbieDJ Riot1990IslandSly and RobbieDubs for Tubs1990RohitSly and RobbieSixties Seventies and Eighties1991MangoSly and RobbieDub Rockers Delight1991Magnum Music GroupSly and RobbieSound of Sound1991Pow WowSly and RobbieRemember Precious Times1992RAS TaxiSly and RobbieRagga Pon Top1993Pow WowSly and RobbieMany Moods of1994Sonic SoundsSly and Robbiepresent Mykall Rose1995TaxiSly and RobbieFunkcronomicon1995AxiomSly and RobbieHail up the Taxi1996IslandSly and RobbieMysteries of Creation1996AxiomSly and Robbiemeet King Tubby1996House of ReggaeSly and RobbieThe Punishers1996IslandSly and RobbieMambo Taxi1997IslandSly and RobbieHail up Taxi 21998Tabou1 / TaxiSly and Robbiepresent Taxi Christmas1998RASSly and RobbieFriends1998IslandSly and RobbieDrum and Bass Strip to the Bone by Howie B1999Palm PicturesSly and RobbieMassive1999nyc musicSly and RobbieSly & Robbie1999RhinoSly and RobbieVersion Born (produced by Bill Laswell)2004Palm PicturesSly and the RevolutionariesBlack Ash Dub1978TrojanSly DunbarSimply Slyman1978Virgin FrontlineSly DunbarSly Wicked and Slick1979VirginSly DunbarSly-Go-Ville1982IslandSugar MinottA True1984ArrivalSugar MinottBuy Off The Bar1983PowerhouseSugar MinottSugar & Spice1990RASSuggsThe Lone Ranger1995WEAThe ItalsBrutal out Deh1981NighthawkToots HibbertToots in Memphis1988Island MangoVanessa da MataSim2001Sony BMGVariousMusic Works Showcase1982Music WorksVariousRaiders of the Lost Dub1981MangoVariousDown in Jamaica1990InvitationVariousLa Trenga1997VPWailing SoulsLive On1994IslandYami BoloFreedom and Liberation1998Tabou 1 / TaxiYellowmanYellow like Cheese1987RASTiken Jah FakolyCoup de gueule2004BarclayMichael Franti & SpearheadYellfire!2006Boo Boo Wax
      [edit] External links

Reggaeboyzsc forumites! Special mention to the late Courtney Livingstone.

pr

Father Ho Lung's inspiring story of turning away from his life of comfort and position as a Jesuit priest and academic, and dedicating himself to sharing God’s love with the poorest people in Third World countries around the world.

This is one man doing what all of us talk about but never do and instead we are all chasing the other end of the spectrum.

Good one!

pr

Hey man you still in TNT holding down the Jakan fort.

Add to that list Marcus Garvey. A man who in my mind was waaaayyy ahead of his time. A man from very humble beginings who saw things as they were and chose to challange them. A man who saw his people in a state of accepting that they were less than. "Up you mighty race, accomplish what you will" was his call.

Marcus implored the Black man the world over to stand up and be proud. One of my favorite quotes from the man which still continues to inspire me to this day is "Without confidence in self, you are twice defeated in the race of life. With confidence, you have won, even before you have started".

There is so much more I could say, but let me leave it here. That was a great Jamaican in my mind.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Robert E. Rumble..is not a name that is on everyone's lips but he is a great jamaican and was very instrumental in the movement to secure peasant (as it was called at the time) land reform. He was the founder and leader of the Poor Man's Improvement Land Settlement & Labour Association, in Clarendon.

I knew Mr.Rumble when I was growing in Clarendon and had heard of his activism but at the time it did not mean much to me. Later on I was fortunate enough to have Richard Small provide me with an extract of a scholarly work that himself and Robert A. Hill did which was copyrighted in 1974.

Welcome back, Historian. Don't know where to begin with your other post on patwa, our mother tongue. Suffice it to say, it is fraught with fallacies. My outstanding Jamaican is Leonard Howell.

Leonard Howell

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Wikisource has original text related to this article: The Promised Key

James Peregrine Howell (June 16, 18981981) was a Jamaican religious figure. He founded the Rastafari movement and is known as "The First Rasta."
                    Born in May Crawle River, Jamaica, Howell left the country as a youth and returned in 1932. He began preaching in 1933 about what he considered the symbolic portent for the African diaspora—the crowning of Ras Tafari Makonnen as Emperor Haile Selassie I of Ethiopia. His preaching asserted that Haile Selassie was the "Messiah returned to earth." Although this resulted in him being arrested, tried for sedition and imprisoned for two years, the Rastafari movement grew. [1]
                    Over the following years, Howell came into conflict with all the establishment authorities in Jamaica: the planters, the trade unions, established churches, police and colonial authorities. Nevertheless, this movement prospered, and today the Rastafari faith exists worldwide.
                    Leonard Howell died in Kingston, Jamaica.

[edit] Howell's six foundations of Rastafari
                    • Opposition to the wickedness
                    • The dignity of the Black race
                    • God's revenge on the wicked for their wickedness
                    • The negation, persecution and humiliation of the government and legal bodies of wicked world
                    • Preparation to return to Africa
                    • Acknowledgment of Emperor Haile Selassie I as the Supreme Being and the only ruler of the Black people.

Still here... after 12 yrs., but considering a move back to the great white north. Would love to go back to yard but I didn't take "samfie" in University.

pr

What is that supposed to mean, PR?

Jamaica wouda eat mi alive; sorry, I don't mean anything other than just likkle joke.

pr

yeaaaaaaaaah....rrrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiiiiighhhhhh hhht...

How unuh fi leff off MdmeX

Darn, I may not be FAMOUS, but I am a fabulously outstanding citizen!!