mi ask yuh a direck question...what makes it their "first language"?
Let's Keep up the Good Work, People! The standardization has
Originally posted by Gamma View Postmi ask yuh a direck question...what makes it their "first language"?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Maudib View PostIt is common knowledge that the most widely spoken language in Jamaica is NOT English.
If yuh need data fi dat den yuh not prepared for this discussion.
Taking a backward step of lower the bar to teach patios and teach in patios will simply not help."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Mosiah, Gamma, Maudib,
Again, you are conducting an interview to fill a vacancy in your organization. The applicant is very fluent in patios, but each time a you ask a question in English .. him mek a "huh!!" sound .. forcing you to translate in patios.
Would you hire him? Note, this is a job where he will be communicating with clients locally and overseas.
Please post response below ... will read when I reach home. and please be truthful."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Huh?
who said anything about REPLACING english with patois? yuh behaving like the half man half horse to rhatid!!!!
him believe seh if wi introduce casinos wi cannot develope IT.....
he would have to be fluent in english too.....no doubt
Originally posted by Gamma View PostHuh?
who said anything about REPLACING english with patois? yuh behaving like the half man half horse to rhatid!!!!
him believe seh if wi introduce casinos wi cannot develope IT.....
he would have to be fluent in english too.....no doubt
Okay ... when in school, we did spanish up to a certain level then after that .. it was optional. However, because English was our first lang. we did it all the way to 5th form.
Now, remove the pin. As y'all claim patios is our first language, what unuh gonna duh .. mek patios and english mandatory? Oh .. wait .. unuh never think bout dat? As yuh say him affi know english .. dem cyaan pass english already suh why waste time wid patios den?
Man .. this is like Zorro vs the 3 musketeers."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Spoke to a chinese friend of mine and them have the same problems with some of their languages too.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Seems like every 2 or so years, we become afflicted with
the argument to teach patois/patwa (or whatever name) in schools.
Kind of remind me of the French Canadians in Quebec, where every 10 years the argument gets HOT to secede from Canada - and then it goes COLD
How much scare $$$ resource is being funnelled into this“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”