Let's Keep up the Good Work, People! The standardization has

I think the theory is students can do better in school if they are taught in their first language.
    Theory ....ummm lets see conjecture, speculation, assumption. Keep up with the fantasy.

The majority of Jamaicans speak english ???

Hmmm..

wait deh.....in a scientific analysis...theory nuh have no place?

gamma, i agree with your point about progress... i cannot say it anymore... i have been an advocate for patois as a language from i was in college...

i think we are making progress, yes... are we to the point where we should instruct in patois at the expense of english, i dont think so... there are many reasons why we should not...

den call mi name to nuh? mi feel slighted by having to be included as "others"
            Sorry boss .... Gamma! Just didn't think I needed to continue naming all those in fantasy land. Nuh feel nuh way .. Lazie is a Equal Opportunity Realist.

provide data to suggest otherwise...

lol... lol... yuh have mi dedding wid laff...

You don't subscribe to this theory ???

we are en punto baddaz...no one i know is arguing for patois to replace english in the school curriculm.

papiamento and dutch exist side by side in addition to which most surinamese speak at least 3 languages some as much as 5 "widout even quinting"

apology accepted nuh dweet again ....... equal opportunity for sure...realist? the jury return a not guilty verdict!

You don't subscribe to this theory ???
                        Based on what? Following the crowd? No. How so many of us were able to learn in english? Why we should lower the bar? A wha duh dem yah kids yah? Dem nuh have no problem learning the latest hip hop and RNB tunes suh why dem cyaan learn inna english?

Sorry ... I don't buy it.

While we struggle along with two that are closely related. Are Jamaicans averse to learning another language?

Why we gonna waste time having them learn patwah or learning in patios then? English is their first language ... if dem waan learn a second language then there are many languages dem can learn.

what makes english their "first language"?

Guh outa street ... better yet ... M&M .. Mosiah and Maudib can guh outa street guh duh a survey. Ask the man/woman in the street what language dem speak.

Dat should put unuh myth as to which is our first language.