Let's Keep up the Good Work, People! The standardization has
gamma, i agree with your point about progress... i cannot say it anymore... i have been an advocate for patois as a language from i was in college...
i think we are making progress, yes... are we to the point where we should instruct in patois at the expense of english, i dont think so... there are many reasons why we should not...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Originally posted by Gamma View Postden call mi name to nuh? mi feel slighted by having to be included as "others""Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
we are en punto baddaz...no one i know is arguing for patois to replace english in the school curriculm.
papiamento and dutch exist side by side in addition to which most surinamese speak at least 3 languages some as much as 5 "widout even quinting"
Originally posted by Maudib View PostYou don't subscribe to this theory ???
Sorry ... I don't buy it."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWhile we struggle along with two that are closely related. Are Jamaicans averse to learning another language?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Gamma View Postwhat makes english their "first language"?
Dat should put unuh myth as to which is our first language."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)