• Jamaican Patois Bible Project

From USA Today

KINGSTON, Jamaica (AP) — Plans to translate the Bible into patois — Jamaica's unofficial language — have ignited a fiery debate that stretches beyond the shores of this island nation.
    Some Jamaicans object to the project because they say patois is an obscure dialect that dilutes the sanctity of Scripture. Others view the translation as an empowering statement that affirms their heritage.
    The debate continues as a Caribbean-based religious group searches for translators to help with the $1 million project.
    Religious leaders say the audio translation would make the Bible accessible to average churchgoers and to those who might not read it otherwise.
    It will take about 12 years to translate, said Rev. Courtney Stewart, who is overseeing the project as general secretary of the Bible Society of the West Indies.
    He is lobbying other international Bible societies to help pay for the project and expects translators to start work by early July.
    "Whenever the Scriptures are translated into the country's language, it has a profound effect," he said.
    Patois is how many Jamaicans refer to the creole that emerged when Britain seized the island in 1655 and brought slaves from Western Africa. It historically has been viewed as broken English and was considered a "low-status" language long after Jamaica gained independence in 1962, said Hubert Devonish, a linguistics professor at the Kingston campus of the University of the West Indies.
    Almost all Jamaicans know patois, but only recently have the middle and upper classes been speaking it in public, Devonish said.
    "Jamaicans have become more and more comfortable with their national identity," he said. "There's been a general acceptance of the language bit by bit. It's a process, and the Bible translation is another step."
    Ronald Dixon, a 47-year-old Seventh Day Adventist, said he's open to the idea.
    "We have to give it a try," he said. "God doesn't discriminate."
    The translation debate has spilled over the island's borders and seeped into Jamaican communities in the U.S.
    Much of the support for a patois Bible comes from Jamaicans living abroad because they have become more nationalistic, said Clive Forrester, a linguistics lecturer at the University of the West Indies.
    "One of the ways they remain connected is through their creole, because it is a powerful tool of communication," he said.
    It's the language that Anton Wilson, 28, plans on teaching his children. He left Jamaica at age 7 and still feels he expresses himself best when speaking patois.
    Wilson supports the project, but doesn't talk about it with relatives to avoid confrontation. His family lives in Jamaica and is considered upper class.
    "It's very hard to change ingrained opinions," said Wilson, who lives in Lawrenceville, Georgia. "We still hate ourselves for speaking our mother language."
    Other Jamaicans, like 30-year-old Kevin Sangster, say patois is an obscure dialect that doesn't deserve to be the focus of such an expensive project. It could dilute the Bible's meaning because it's not an established language, he said.
    "Errors could be made, and essentially what is translated is not necessarily reflecting the true meaning of the Scriptures," said Sangster, who left Jamaica in 1994 and lives in New Jersey.
    Karl Johnson, president of the Jamaica Council of Churches, said anything that helps people understand the word of God is good. There is nothing wrong with translating the Bible into someone's native tongue, he said.
    "Sacredness is not in how the Bible is written," he said. "It's what it stands for."
    The Bible has been translated into other dialects, including Haitian Creole and Gullah, which is largely spoken by African-Americans in isolated coastal areas of South Carolina and Georgia. It also has been translated into hundreds of languages, including Tagalog, spoken in the Philippines; Ga, spoken in Ghana; and Mi'kmaq, spoken mostly by Indians in eastern Canada.
    Just because the Bible is now being translated into Jamaican creole doesn't indicate a patois renaissance, Devonish said.
    "I would say naissance," he said. "It's birth, rather than rebirth."

Dem betta nuh use taxpayrer money fi translate nuh fairy tale inna patois.

This is my first input to this whole discussion. I think if any translation is to be done, they have to first establish some standard. One body cannot do a translation without having some benchmark to guide the translation.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So the whole country haffi go back a school?

You certainly should.

I will put my University Of Richmond education against your Pittsburgh Community College education any day

Campion Alumni nuh guh dem school deh.. wrenk.

Eiddah way yuh still need fi guh back. Mi tink dem probably offer Patois 101.

I think learning patois formally is going to be a bitch for Jamaican students. For one thing, the standard patois, whenever they come up with it is not going to be the same thing each and every one speak everyday. For exampe, if we consider Karl's and MyYouth's patois they write on this site, they may not make the cut in the standard form.

They will need to establish the standard, then teach the standard to the nation. Most of us who think we know patois will find out that we do not know it well to fit the standard version. Students in school may find the going even more difficult and confusing than studying in standard english.

I remember in my days in high school, we had teachers from many different countries teaching different subjects. I had physics teacher from Pakistan, spanish from Spain, chemistry from India, engineering science from Germany, mathematics from Canada etc, etc. I am wondering, if we say teaching should be done in patois, it would appear to me that we would be excluding teachers from these countries. Or would we expect them to learn patois too to teach in our schools?

Next thing, are we preparing our students for only the confines of the 4500 square miles of Jamaica or do we expect their education to allow them to fit in internationally? The english language is one of the main languages used for conducting buisness in this global economy. Our students need to be competent in in this language to be successful in things they will do further in their careers.

For the people who will have the authority to make the decision as to where we go from here, I hope they will not make a decision which will put our Jamaican students at a disadvantage.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Next thing, are we preparing our students for only the confines of the 4500 square miles of Jamaica or do we expect their education to allow them to fit in internationally?
                  We are preparing them to sell STAR on Waterloo Road

I hear UofR has an excellent Dancehall Department! A true?

Heh, heh... Ah wondah if yuh know how much school in Jamaica..

Pakistan, Spain, Germany.. LOL !!!

Yuh tink dem responding to requests from Roses Valley Primary School ?

As usual, you missed the point. Oh well, . . .

Suppose the idea is not so much to teach the classes in patois (practically impossible anyway with the text books being in English) but an effort to better prepare the students to learn in English by making the assumption that patois is thier natural method of communication? By that I mean maybe actually having lessons in "conversational English" or whatever it would be called.

"I remember in my days in high school, we had teachers from many different countries teaching different subjects. I had physics teacher from Pakistan, spanish from Spain, chemistry from India, engineering science from Germany, mathematics from Canada etc, etc. I am wondering, if we say teaching should be done in patois, it would appear to me that we would be excluding teachers from these countries. Or would we expect them to learn patois too to teach in our schools?"

Mi soon get to all yuh 'points'. Mi a shoot dem down one by one.. patience.. meanwhile yuh have a response tuh my dismankling one of your 'points' ?

By the way.. there is a subtle 'point' being made.. you are clearly working based on certain assumptions that may not be valid.

One question, do you accept that the predominant language of communication in Jamaica is NOT English ?

Why all the guessing and spelling ?

http://www.mona.uwi.edu/dllp/jlu/about/index.htm