• The futility of job hunting in Jamaica

<DIV id=printReady>

The futility of job hunting in Jamaica
    published: Friday | October 20, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

The Editor, Sir:

I am a recent graduate of the University of the West Indies who completed a degree in <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">psychology</SPAN> with a minor in human resource development in July 2005. Not realising how difficult it would be to <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">get </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">a </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">job</SPAN> in psychology with just a first degree, I still continued to complete the programme since the courses were so interesting to me. So <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">in </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">the </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">end</SPAN>, I tried to focus on getting a job in <A class=kLink oncontextmenu="return false;" id=KonaLink3 &#111;nmouseover=adlinkMouseOver(event,this,3); style="POSITION: relative; TEXT-DECORATION: underline! important" &#111;nclick=adlinkMouseClick(event,this,3); &#111;nmouseout=adlinkMouseOut(event,this,3); href="http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20061020/letters/letters2.html#" target=_new><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">human </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-B

RE: The futility of job hunting in Jamaica

<DIV>Psychology and Human Resources - two fields one should stay away from in Jamaica. Why? Well, with only a first degree in psych. it's going to be difficult in any country, I think. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And human resources implies that we value our human resources. That we don't, leaving the masses undereducated and illiterate. And with such few jobs to begin with, then human resource depts are not exactly numerous.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I wish the writer luck!</DIV>

For some reason I get the feeling that the populace should

be kept undereducated. The general feeling is that high quality education is not for the common man. This is sad because eventually it will ruin the nation.There is this view that tourism and agriculture will carry us through (our niche and nothing else) Maybe as a collective the island has decided that it's not its place to be among first world, third world is just good enough. I see all those kids going to school in the morning (cornwall, Mt. alervina et al) and I said to my friend that they are going to school for nothing (THIS IS THE TRUTH). They are just spinning wheels. ah well must be the law of nature, I don't know but I won't fight it just leave the whole thing alone.

<DIV>I feel the same way, Jawge! And as for those students who do well - yuh have to ask, why?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Not going to agree with the last line. It might be Jamaica's system, but we can't accept it. We must do everything we can to break this vicious cycle of hopelessness within which we find ourselves.</DIV>

Nothing wrong with producing for every discipline...but, the reality of our market for highly...damn what am I saying?...for workers being the dot it is...we must produce with channels in place...for export!

The entire economy must be based on 'export or die' mantra!Care not what it is -Teachers, nurses, doctors, engineers, and whatever...carpenters, masons, tile-setters/layers, brick-layers, auto-mechanics, whatever... We satisfy our local demand and export the rest. Services? Yes! Food? Yes! Matters not what - 'export or die'!...or, put another way - export all excessgoods and services...to importthe other goodies needed to make us first world and more!

Even our tourism is exporting...putting in the world's marketplace a product, a'service'! Bring the dollars and consumer goods, technology, etc. 1st world standard of living home. Sell/supply every excess to the world!

It's a mind set and this is very hard to change. I think

Joshua Manley saw where JA would benefit from a highly educated society but could not realise this dream. You saw how bitter it was for Portia too become a leader. I stopped in Sam sharpe,square hanging around to hear some mention of Tappa (they had their function on heor's day there) The politicians on both sides only spoke of themselves and their agenda (sprinkled with the mention of the heroes). Mo the simple fact is that we don't believe in ourselves. These same people that is being looked down upon come to the states and make it in life. Now guess what? They are emerging to be wealthier than their counterparts in JA. Ja's middle class is based abroad.Mo you live out there you know it's next to impossible for the guy that drives the truck that pushes out the areroplane to become a pilot. We have this caste way of looking at things;if a student doesn't go to the traditional high school we cannot even see them as doing anything successful in life. Manley came very close to breaking this mentality but now I see where we are right back where we started.It's not that I give up but you must ask yourself: are we ready to be free?

I can only speak to one situation that I know of personally, this sistren of mine who specialises in HR.

Last year she applied for and got a job in one of the free-zone companies, she had asked for about US$60K and they had agreed verbally but when they started talking money, the offer dropped to US$50K and she said thanks but no thanks and walked.

I could not believe she waklked away from that amount of money when she was not working and had bils up to her eyeballs but she said it was a matter of principles and if they started breaking their word before she started working for them who knows what else they would do.

Lo and behold this year tey called her back and this time the ofer was "a lot more than we talked about last year".

The job had been advertised for months in both regional and national media but it appears they could not find anyone to fill the vacancy.

I know she did a lot of courses in HR and had some proficiency but not even sure she has a first degree in it, she might but I dont know. I know she has a first degree is in Theology.

So Karl let me get this straight, everything we produce must be aimed at the export market? If that is what you are infact saying, what will be left for us who live here? We would then have to import commodities for ourselves after we export everything?

This is so depressing to hear I hope the writer finds success. You know I understand that small developing countries must take one step at a time but some things are urgent such as developing and investing in youth, after all they areour future. In America large cooperations give money to develop young ones, in fact I am about to steer my company to invest time and effort to underprivilege children in our area by way of a head start program, I think the whole community has a responsibility to aid young ones to be successful. The more attention given to that particular problem, the more exposure it receives hopefully thequicker it will be addressed. Love to all my peopleback home.

JamBoy (10/21/2006)This is so depressing to hear I hope the writer finds success. You know I understand that small developing countries must take one step at a time but some things are urgent such as developing and investing in youth, after all they areour future. In America large cooperations give money to develop young ones, in fact I am about to steer my company to invest time and effort to underprivilege children in our area by way of a head start program, I think the whole community has a responsibility to aid young ones to be successful. The more attention given to that particular problem, the more exposure it receives hopefully thequicker it will be addressed. Love to all my peopleback home.
                    ...and, the larger the country the greater the number of opportuunities within that country forits citizens.