Whe you a go?
Whe you deh go?
Whe you bende go?
When the man a forward?
Whe the I a reach?
just some and I know others can add
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
you notice all of them have "Where are you"
a just the last word or few words change
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
But what knowledge can we impart to youths in patois? after kindergarten ok Grade 3 and we start to enter higher learning, the tools, information, resources, etc etc are not available NOR WILL IT EVER BE in Patois.
Ok so we teach yutes to count ..one, two, tree etc... what kind of learning are we talking about? Patois has a place in cultural, historical, civics and even language learning, but as a medium for real in depth learning I am yet to be convinced.
The American (an memba seh merica big) system as well as the canadian education system make many accommodations for ESL students. So to discount what Americans (and Canadians) do for immigrants is not fair. there is a school I know of in Toronto where there is an overwhelming population of East African (mainly Somalis) students. It so happens that the school board has hired many Somali teachers to work in that school because of the many challenges those students represent.
My point is that NA systems are way ahead of what we do in JA to educate our kids. The first thing is to have qualified teachers who know the difference between A and Z. We blaming language when the system as it stands has so many faults, if it was a ship it wouda sink long time.
Introducing patois is going to do very little in advancing the cause of education beyond basic learning.
heh heh... is there a right or wrong way to write patois... better yet, is there a right way to speak patios... i can just imagine all the permutations in this ambitious attempt to formalize patios in the jamaican society... lawd, i can hear it now, uptown proper patois and downtown ghetto patois fighting to be the standard...