I agree! Just on this point, however!

The spelling looks more like something Scandinavian... the writer is trying way too hard...e.g. "Jamiekan" which I would pronounce " Jah-mee-can" which is not the way we say it... the author should just follow standard phonetics as you point out and maybe write "Jah-mi.yea-cyan" or even " joo-may-kan" or even "jum-ay-kan". All those double and triple "eyes" are a bit too much.

WHat a can of worms... by the way what ever happened to ebonics? or esperanto? the latter which I actually tried to learn in the 70s.

pr

Who is arguing that Patois should not be the language for global business interaction ??

The question is are you going to utilize the local language to communicate knowledge and concepts or are you going to continue to force down their throats a Foreign language that the bulk of patois speakers are not familiar with ?

Who is arguing that Patois should not be the language for global business interaction ??

The question is are you going to utilize the local language to communicate knowledge and concepts or are you going to continue to force down their throats a Foreign language that the bulk of patois speakers are not familiar with ?
          And when they have to deal with this "Foreign Language" in the global market what then? An interpreter?

yuh missing it by a mile.......WHO is saying it must be one or the other?

Nobody but how will teaching patois (still don't understand why we teaching something they already know) solve the problem of communicating with English speakers?

Please indicate where the stress is on teaching patois ?

The key issue is communicating information and concepts in the most effective way possible given the existing situation.

I suspect however before one can properly teach in Patois you must first arrive at a standard and propogate such standard.. oral and written..

And how will that help patois speakers better communicate with English speakers? Yuh gonna teach English in patois?

?!!!!

dem teach english in schools in england? spanish in spain? french in france?

?!!!!

dem teach english in schools in england? spanish in spain? french in france?
                      Not following you. The answer is yes but do they teach it in a different language?

we need to teach patois as a language...that is what i am saying.

Yuh evah tek a foreign language ?

Eidda yuh accept that Jamaica is not an english speaking country or not..

After yuh decide the rest should be obvious..

we need to teach patois as a language...that is what i am saying.
                            Gamma doesn't every Jamaican or person who has lived in Jamaica for at least 6 months already know how to speak and read patois?

Do they teach English in English speaking countries ???

This is getting surreal.

Do they teach English in English speaking countries ???
                                Do you have a point? What percentage of the world speaks Jamaican patois? Does any nation other than Jamaica speak our patois?