Send on.
PM Golding Says the Debate on Teaching Patois Signifies ....
Hmmm.. now yuh getting emotional...
I believe the pervasive nature of Patios is more an economic side effect than anything else.
If the per capita income of Jamaica was $20,000 USD per year, I don't think we would be having this discussion today..
sure economics is a factor but certainly is not the only factor. the point is it should not be on emotion alone, however the FACT is that this issue also has emotional undertones.
Originally posted by Maudib View PostHmmm.. now yuh getting emotional...
I believe the pervasive nature of Patios is more an economic side effect than anything else.
If the per capita income of Jamaica was $20,000 USD per year, I don't think we would be having this discussion today..
at what expense is it being added? dem ago stop teach english? i certainly would not agree to that. you wnat to make it an either or issue and i do not see it that way.
I just don't see the benefit in formalising patois as a language. To me it is a casual language, one to be used in informal settings a verbal form of communication. Formalise is and di pickney dem gonna be confused all over again as tense, grammar, context and all dem tings going to drop in.
Where else do they speak patwa but in Jamaica? Inward looking...plus its a major distraction to take on such a project at this time. Major.
By the way, have you looked at the details? The devil is in the detail.
How do you teach in a language that has no standard??
If you tell me orally, well that is done already! All teachers in Jamaica move fluidly between English and patwa either for emphasis orfor dramatic effect.
We cant manage the infrastructure we have now and with all we have to deal with you woul have us tear it up and start fresh???
Recipe for disaster!